We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is right in the town, staff very friendly breakfast plentiful, rooms spotless and comfortable. We did not eat at the hotel it was a little expensive but that didn't matter as we all have a choice but if I did have the money would have ate there because the hotel is fab. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The pool area was like heaven, only thing is at weekends it gets very busy. Overall lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 114 view was on to a road but the room itself was lovely so we were not bothered abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bren085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    321
    83
    32
    21
See reviews for
234
568
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed a night here on the way to the Ring of Kerry drive. Walked in without a booking and was able to negotiate a rate at the front desk. Huge grand lobby with open fireplace. Free underground hotel parking is included and this is very helpful if you have a rent car, as parking is very limited in Killarney. In addition, with some very cold nights and thick morning frost, you are spared icing up of your windscreen.
Rooms are very spacious, breakfast buffet is good and wifi internet is free throughout the hotel.
The hotel is right on Main St so a very short walk to all the main pubs and restaurants.
A great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquawkerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Everything you would want from a 4-star hotel, with many nice touches. On a November day, a lit fireplace in the lobby made a wonderful welcome. Interesting tile work on the grand staircase. Hallways, with thick carpeting and censored lighting, were quiet even when rooms were full. Room was well appointed, with heavy crown moulding, solid milled doors, and large closet. 2 baggage benches and good-sized safe. Bathroom had marble throughout and the mirror was fog-free, plus a hinged magnifying mirror on the wall. Bathroom amenities were quality. Besides the usual stuff, there was a vanity kit (Q-tips, etc), hygiene bags, thick terrycloth robes, slippers, and --gasp!-- washcloths in a European hotel. Breakfast buffet had lots to choose from-- hot dishes, cereals, fruit, cheeses, and 4 types of bread. Good acoustics in the dining room, so you could carry a conversation even when the place was full. The pub two doors down had good entertainment. Free in-room wi-fi. Doesn't have the classic elegance of the Malton, but is more modern and more centrally located.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Callejera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel, rooms and service was wonderful! Would LOVE to stay there again! Hotel is accessible to Ross Castle, and all of the quaint shops and pubs in Killarney! I also suggest a jaunting car ride (across the street), through the beautiful park as well!! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizjr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed in a suite, room very nice, spacious, clean, had previously stayed in executive room in Plaza a few years ago, which is one down from the suite but better than standard rooms, this was very nice too, but suite is a lot nicer again.
Very clean, not dusty like hotels all across the stars often are, a lot better suite than I have stayed in a 5 star in Killarney to be fair, only thing there wasn't was a fridge if I really had to pick at something with the room.
Comfy, well kept, sofas and chairs very soft , nice fireplace, 2 tvs, and so on, bathroom was well stocked up with toiletries, in unnamed 5 star in Killarney suite got 1 shower gel and 1 shampoo (the minis) between us, but that's the worst we ever saw!!! There was loads and loads of it, and we were only staying a night. Toiletries were quite nice too.
Bathroom had lovely big shower with the jets on the walls as well as the shower head and a jacuzzi bath and was big, nicely decorated, 2 sinks and so on and cleaned properly all over.
The suite is worthy of a 5 star hotel and is a lot better than some of the 5 star's suites out there.
Staff were generally very good & polite throughout the stay, had no problems.
One lady, that seemed to be just coming in to work from the car park as we were just going down the steps to it, asked if we wanted a hand with the bags - that is having good staff, she was barely in the door herself and we were most of the way there. (we had already been asked if we wanted help with the bags at the desk checking out as well).
Had evening meal in the bar bistro part and my meal was good all round, but my husbands was hit and miss, chips were excellent - proper fresh cut ones - really rare to get them anywhere so well cooked, and the steak (well done) was to be fair very tough and he couldn't even finish it, and that's not like him! :-) it was a thick cut and I know it's hard when someone asks for it well done but some places do manage to keep it soft and I can manage it at home so really it should have been soft.
I will say the previous time we stayed we ate in the actual restaurant (which was closed this time) and it was excellent all round, both our meals, all 3 courses, so I would just eat there if I stayed there again and I would recommend it if it is the same chef etc from a few years ago.
Breakfast was mostly good enough, I remember it being a bit better the last time we stayed but we did arrive down just before it finished so a lot of stuff had been sitting there but most was good enough for a hotel buffet breakfast, good enough selection, especially for mid week in November and it was quiet. The sausages etc were fine it was just things like the waffles etc gone rock hard from sitting on the buffet heater but as I say we were in right at the last end of it and it did taste as if it would have been fine when it was soft. As far as breakfast goes in hotels it is one of the better places.
The hotel is well kept all over, properly decorated with a lot of nice little touches all over it, everywhere you go if you look around, which you actually don't see a lot in hotels, there is a lot of pleasant surroundings to sit around and look at in there it is a very comfortable, and very clean place to stay, with loads of places all over you can sit around in, it would be good if you were staying there for a longer break. Is very nice from outside, and generally hasn't been left get scruffy and unmaintained like other places have gone with the bad economy.
Location is right in town with car park, ideal spot in Killarney, didn't find it noisy or any sounds from the road below was on 4th floor.
All round I recommend.

Room Tip: Get the executive or even better suite : well worth the extra. Have peeked into standard rooms being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank membertrip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roslea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

down for business meeting and loved my stay in KPH here. very town centre location in middle of killarney. good bedrooms, firm beds, free wi-fi, proper brekfast and generally well run hotel. the u/g carpark was very useful for parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markandcarolines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed for two nights 12/13th November 2013. Took the two nights mid week package which includes two nights b&b and one evening meal (main course) for €138 pps. Very good value I thought. You can upgrade to a superior room on arrival for €10 pp per night. Well worth it. Lovely interior to the hotel with lashings of red marble and brass. Car park is beneath the hotel and can be reached by entering a public car park, at the back of the hotel and taking an underground entrance that is well sign posted with directions to go to reception. It's on a first come first served basis. Parking could be limited, in house, at busy times.

Staff were young and friendly and very willing to oblige their guests. Rooms are smart and clean with modern furnishings. Very comfortable indeed.

One small thing ....... the evening meal ........ was a disappointment due to the fact it was tepid and served on cold plates. I had the lamb shank, which was enormous and served with mash potato, carrots and parsnips. Food should be served at 75 degrees celsius at the very least. What a pity! My partner had the Seafood tagliatelle but unfortunately it was tepid and the pasta was soggy and overcooked. I was strongly of the opinion that neither of our two dishes were freshly cooked. I didn't complain but I shouldn't have the need to.

Overall it's a great hotel in a great town in the Kingdom of Kerry. Irish music is played live in pubs around the centre of town most nights.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benedict_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,146 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
899 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa

Property: Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#23 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Killarney Plaza Hotel reigns over Killarney Town with grace and glamour. It is located adjacent to Killarney National Park and the gateway to the Ring of Kerry. The hotel offers stylish bedrooms, superb restaurants, bars, conference and banquet facilities and an exclusive and luxurious Sundari Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Plaza Hotel Killarney
Plaza Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing