We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt cramped and dirty.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Killarney Lakeland Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It felt cramped and dirty.”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The upstairs bathroom was so small, it was impossible to get out of the shower without rubbing against the toilet.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    15
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

3 female friends from the US enjoyed the Killeen cottage so much. September was quiet and we loved the location. Had rental car, so walked and drove all over SW Ireland. Lovely to drop into Tesco to get food for dinner and enjoyed it in front of the fire as Brian provided us with plenty of logs. It wasn't cold but it looked so nice. Every appliance was up to date, beds comfortable, bathrooms just great. So quiet and peaceful. Saw wonderful star-lit sky at night as no lights from town. Felt it was a very convenient location with Killarney Natl. park across the street and on the N71. We were out all day every day, no matter weather. Perhaps kids might get bored (they probably would get bored at a lot of venues these days if they didn't have internet!) The cottages are probably best as place to come back to after being out all day with plenty of places for kids to see: waterfalls, bays, cliffs, riding the jaunting carts and generally walking. Park right outside the door. Would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: The cottages are well-spaced apart so no noise from neighbors. Lots of room for kids to run and exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We were in the cottage for 5 nights with 4 adults and two grandsons, ages 4 and 18 months. Great setting for family. Large play area, country setting yet very close to town. Convenient to National Park, Muckross and Killarney. This is very much a cottage. Not fancy but comfortable and well equipped.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank perrydise4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed at Torc Cottage. 5 mins drive from city centre. The grounds are beautiful ideal for young kids very private really well kept.. I was very disappointed with the interior of the cottage. . It was really dull and old inside and it had a musty smell. The inside of the cottage looks a lot nicer on the website. Dont forget you have to pay for any electricity or heating that you use upon departure.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bridie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Just back from a weeks stay, although the cottages inside could do with a bit of updating they are fantastic and have everything you need, its as simple as that. The setting is beautiful and so peaceful and well laid out. We had a 3 year old and an 18 month baby with us and they were able to play care free outside or watch dvd's inside. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils, the dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer all worked perfectly and the beds were comfortable. Just fabulous and the dry weather certainly helped make it a brilliant family holiday. We will most definately be returning.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank james009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We spent five nights in a Dinis cottage in July - unfortunately, it rained unrelentingly from Thursday to Sunday. The cottages are in a lovely setting with plenty of open space around each cottage and if the weather had been fine, it would have been great to spend time outside. Inside, they are well equipped, although the downstairs bedroom smelled rather damp. The kitchen is big with everything you need, but the controls on the washing machine were very temperamental, which was difficult as we had a young baby in our group, and twice managed to turn on the washer again when we wanted to use the dryer. The phone didn't work (that didn't matter as we all had mobile phones, perhaps the phone isn't necessary). Television and internet reception were terrible. Some light bulbs were missing. One night, the washbasin in one of the bedrooms simply collapsed into it's surrounding framework, revealing that a patchup job had obviously been done on it on a previous occasion and a proper repair never done.

Having said all this, we did enjoy our stay and thought the cottages were good value for five adults and a baby, in a very nice setting close to Muckross and easy driving distance to other places. However, I would suggest that a "snag" list be drawn up for each cottage so that repairs and upkeep can be done regularly. I would also suggest a list in each cottage explaining how the washing machine and hot water system work, we managed to muddle through, but people from other countries who are used to different systems may not find it very easy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2010

In fact I have stayed at Killarney Lakeland Cottages numerous times, first staying when my children were very young. It is the perfect spot for a family to unwind while staying in Ireland. It is close to Killarney and Kenmare for evening visits to the restaurants and pubs, cabs are readily available to drive back and forth if you do not wish to take your car into town. ( I would recommend Killarney Taxi) The National Park is accessible directly across the street making it easy to bike, hike or just walk the park.
I stay in the Killeen Cottage and prefer the extra space the cottages afford to the local hotels when traveling in a group. Brian O'Shea is a wonderful host and has always been helpful with bike rentals, pub and restaurant recommendations, given the choice I would go back again next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KillarneyinJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
577 reviews
3.1 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
0.3 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
732 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Lakeland Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Lakeland Cottages

Property: Killarney Lakeland Cottages
Address: 18 Muckross Drive, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming complex of holiday cottages, near the Killarney National Park. Open all year. Ideal for families, Couples and Groups. Special rates for Couples. Weekly and short stay rentals. Start any day of the week.Ideal base for touring in South West Ireland, using day trips to Ring of Kerry, Dingle, Cliffs of Moher, and Blarney and West Cork. Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Killarney Lakeland Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Lakeland Cottages Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing