We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best experiences in Killarney”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Killarney Falconry

Killarney Falconry
Ranked #10 of 105 things to do in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The traditional application of falconry has been to take a Bird of Prey, train it and then attempt to catch wild quarry with it. Although our guided walks with hawks experience, is not a hunting expedition, it is a leisurely stroll through the majestic settings of Killarney with falconer and hawk/or team of hawks and shows the ability of trained birds and their relationship with their human partners.The participants will have hands on experience with the hawks,you will be able to handle and fly the hawk yourselves under instruction from killarney falconry's falconers. We finish up with an owl encounter where you can handle & hold an owl. Private Hawk Walk Duration 1hr approx One Participant 70euro Two Participants 100euro Three Participants 130euro Family Package (2adults/2kidsU14)120euro Extra Participants/Spectators €30each, Times between 10am to 3.30pm Daily Weather permitting activity. Pre-booking avoids disappointment Locations for Hawk Walks may change due to conditions but normally 5/10mins drive from Killarney town centre Kind Regards Killarney Falconry Geoffrey 0872401551 / 00353872401551
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences in Killarney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We discovered this activity shortly after arriving in Killarney and we contacted the falconry to ask whether there was still some spots available for us. They kindly replied very quickly and found an extra hour (during their lunchtime!) to allow us to walk with the birds and discovery the work they do with these animals.

The price might seem a bit "high" at first (100eur for 2 persons), but it is completely justified by the fact these guys really want their customers to spend as much time as possible with the birds and to have first hand contact. We were only 2 to be taken on the tour and thus we had the opportunity to fly the birds and to have a real contact with them. They are also passionate and this will be one of your best experiences, definitely.

I would recommand this trip, especially if you're traveling with children, they will love meeting the hawks and the owls.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    3
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth your time...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

If you are in Killarney, one activity you should invest in is a hawk walk with Killarney Falconry. Geoffrey is knowledgeable and it is a pleasure walking and talking with him. What fun it is to have the hawk, Hunter the Harris hawk for our trip, alight on your gloved hand - or perhaps onto your head - if he likes you that is! :) Wonderful time and would highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaJK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just plain wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was the most amazing thing we did in Ireland. How often does one get the opportunity to walk, hold, and fly falcons. Geoffrey our guide, and owner of Killarney Falconry, was incredibly knowledgeable and inspires a love of these magnificent creatures. Before the trip, he was very quick to answer our emails and made sure to confirm a few days before the walk.

We were surprised to learn that we were the only two on our falconry walk. It turns out that Geoffrey's priority is to ensure that every person has an opportunity to really connect with the bird and him. As he told us by keeping the group to a self selected one he can better ensure that everyone has the experience they want. In our case, Geoffrey enthusiastically answered all of our six thousand questions.

Of course we were nervous at first, but Geoffrey handed each of us a falconers heavy leather glove and off we went. By the end of the hour we felt so comfortable my wife carried the bird back. It was so good we even immediately recommended Killarney Falconry to our hotel concierge. It is expensive but worth every penny; you are getting the best.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaANDIsaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a great time! it was fun, interactive & educational. This is our #1 recommendation for things to do in Killarney. Geoffrey was patient, funny and was more than happy to answer any and all of or novice questions. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank maureen4120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ridiculous”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

didn't respond to emails for many, many days. didn't answer phone or return calls. inflexible with simple requests regarding experience. cancelled day before, apparently for no reason. good luck having a wonderful experience here. geez.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobeHopscotcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Killarney Falconry also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Killarney Falconry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing