We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal”

The Porterhouse Gastropub
Ranked #10 of 183 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$29
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Bar, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family run business, with live local musicians 7 nights a week. We opened "The Porterhouse Gastropub" in December 2011, Our mantra is locally produced good food at a good price.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We dined in this restaurant in the last week the standard and range of food provided was excellent. The restaurant was quite busy (a good sign) but the service was very good. The staff are very friendly and made time ti interact and still provide good service. all in all a very pleasent visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank griff888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    190
    59
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere , Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I went here new years eve, it was very busy however the service did not slip. The staff were very friendly and the food was amazing! I got chicken fajitas and the portion was extremely generous. it cost about 14Euro. we also got the chocolate brownie for dessert and a glass of wine and a pint of Heineken! the whole lot together cost around 50Euro including tip. i would definitely recommend this place!! The atmosphere is fantastic and both my friend and I were happy the entire night.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marieemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Covina, Ca
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Look for the "Specials"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Porterhouse, is on a side street, we found by mistake. We looked in and the place was hopping so we sat down for dinner.
My husband had the special for 25.00 Euros this included an choice of appetizer, main course, dessert and a glass of wine. The portions are large so go hungry. The food was great. Like most places they have night time entertainment. Their hours are 12:30 pm - Till late... seven days a week.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBlue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big food, Big Flavours and Big Smiles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Another cracking restaurant/pub in Kerry! I thought portions might just be big to please weary travellers but it was actually really tasty, so much so that a starter and a main had my reaching to open my belt! No pud! Unheard of!
What we did have was lovely though and the service was flawless, courteous and very welcoming, will hopefully return in the not to distant future!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thenotsoquietman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our dinner at the port house. It was recommended at our b&b. we did the 3 course dinner. I had chicken fajitas and nachos and my wife had the 6oz steak and mushroom soup. Food and atmosphere were very good. Live music started at 8:30 but we were a little early.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SandbergPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Porterhouse Gastropub also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Porterhouse Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing