We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Italian food & great service”
Review of Amalfi Coast Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Amalfi Coast Italian Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Italian food & great service”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Only visited by accident as Killarney was packed after the Munster final with Cork. Never even knew it was there but certainly will be back.

Food was grand, the chef was there to make some recommendations. Best part was the great service from the waitress who took great care of us & even served us some cheesecake (for free) that she said she had just made herself!

Nice to find somewhere in Killarney that isn't just designed to cater for tour buses.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank opus29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bagenalstown, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Lovely staff and really good pizza. It's not your typical Italian joint but it's refreshingly honest and affordable.

What to expect: banter with the staff. What not to expect: haute cuisine. Bring a healthy appetite but leave your ego at the door.

i'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VGC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great italian food”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Perfect place for tasty italian food - if you like pasta then Vesuvio is a must have food. The pizza is great as well, the Diavola could be a it more spicey. The staff was nice and attentive but sometimes a bit confused. We have bedn sitting in the corner, separately - what we welcomed, so we could have more privacy. This place could have more potential if more authentic Italian decorations, maps were used on the walls, italian music played in the background.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rickbenett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
“Great pizza!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Restaurant is a little hidden, but worth looking for! My husband and I shared a pizza that was excellent. Staff were very friendly and accommodating! After several days of a tour and lots of heavy meals, this was a very welcome change.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antigua
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Myself and a friend decided to try out the “Amalfi Coast” (wed 15 May) after being impressed with the Trip Advisor reviews. Things got off to a bad start when I noticed a sign pointing out that due to a fault with their card machine, cash was been accepted only. So after a quick dash to the ATM we were seated in a rather snug table for two in the corner.

One of us was having a Bruschetta starter and both of us having main courses of pizza. We had to call the waitress back as she left the table without taking the order for the second main course. The bruschetta turned out to be ok only and a bit skimpy with the toppings. Next the waitress arrived with a pizza and placed it in front of the wrong person and walked away without saying anything. After about five minutes the next pizza still hadn’t arrived and I figured something else had gone wrong and mentioned it to the other waiter. It turned out the order hadn’t been received so after about fifteen minutes it finally arrived just in time for my friend to finish theirs.

At no point during the meal were we asked if everything was ok and when I finally finished we weren’t asked if we would like desert etc. I asked for the bill and when paying, the other waiter apologised again and to my amazement said that instead of paying the full amount of 25.50 we could pay 25! We just couldn’t believe it and felt it would be better to just take the full amount than to insult us with a 50cent reduction for the farce we had to endure.

The restaurant itself is very small, dark and stuck in the middle of a shopping arcade – it just didn’t have a professional feel about it and probably would do better sticking to pizza takeaway than trying to be a restaurant.

Very disappointing experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antiguabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amalfi Coast Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing