We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend. A truly amazing experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sika Lodge B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sika Lodge B & B
Ranked #13 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Highly recommend. A truly amazing experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I couldn't recommend Sikka lodge more highly. Serena was a Wonderful hostess for an audrey hepburn themed Fancy Pants Tea Party She arranged For our friends birthday. The food was divine and the setting was beautiful. We also stayed at Sikka lodge and it was the best guest house experience we have had. We will most definitely be returning there again next year as Serenas personal touches at the tea party made it a very memorable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKelleher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
99
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here in July 2013 as part of our Ireland and Italy trip. We stayed here for just one night and loved it. We came in a little late and did not realize, unlike the states pubs close pretty early in Ireland(around 8ish). We were pretty hungry so Serena directed us to a Chinese restaurant aournd the corner and it ended being a very nice dinner. Anyways, Serena was an excellent host and I woul definitely recommend staying here. It was also neat to know she was in a cooking compettion similar to Master Chef in the states.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ploudermilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sika Lodge in October. Unfortunately it was only for one day and night, but it was great. Serena is an excellent host and she gave great suggestions on where to go in the area. The room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was great! We keep saying how we wished we could have spent more time there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I take small groups to Ireland once or twice a year and have had a heretofore favorite B&B in Killarney that I've used for years. Due to some health issues, I was late booking accommodations for my 2013 group and my favorite Killarney B&B was not available when I started planning this year's trip.

After much reading, research, hand-wringing, and a tiny amount of trepidation, I booked 4 rooms at Sika Lodge for a 3-night stay in mid-August. Serena and her husband, Alan, had recently purchased the property and rennovated it, and they had also welcomed the birth of their first child, Aoife Kate, in April, so I worried that running a B&B might be a bit daunting. But early reviews by Trip Advisor contributors were very complimentary and reassuring.

Oh, my gosh! Not only did I have NOTHING to worry about, I couldn't believe my good luck in finding this wonderful property. Serena is an amazing cook and a perfect hostess, as well as being a wonderful mother! She looks so young, but her capabilities and talents in running a B&B are those of someone twice her age!

The property is very easy to find and the location is ideal for anyone planning to travel to the Dingle Peninsula or the Ring of Kerry.

The en suite bedrooms are bright and fresh and nicely furnished with coffee/tea making facilities, hair dryers, power shower, complimentary wi-fi, quality bedding and very comfortable beds.

Our days started off with really wonderful breakfast options -- juices, fresh fruits, home-baked breads/cakes, delicious full Irish breakfast, Serena's special porridge (with Irish Whiskey if desired), and super pancakes. Choosing what to have was challenging because everything looked and tasted so good.

On our second day there, we were caught in a downpour and got soaked to the skin. We headed back to Sika Lodge for dry clothes, hoping to then find a laundromat to dry our wet garments. I asked Serena if there was such a business in Killarney, and she told me to gather up the jeans and slacks and shirts and bring them down and she would dry them for us! We were so appreciative!! She was happy to do this, she said, and we had to force her to accept some Euros for going "above and beyond." She is an extraordinary person, and there's no doubt in my mind she can accomplish anything she sets her mind to. We're just so happy we were able to stay at this very special B&B -- and I definitely will be returning to my new favorite Killarney B&B, Sika Lodge, with another group of travelers next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suetvlnut2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed here and loved it. Best breakfasts and Serena's happy "Good Morning" is enough to wake anyone up and put them in great spirits. Serena and Alan were very welcoming and both had great ideas for things to do in Killarney and places to eat. The Lodge is an easy 10-15 minute walk from the centre of the beautiful town of Killarney. If you are going to drive the Ring of Kerry, drive out or the lodge and turn left and you are on the Ring of Kerry drive! It couldn't be closer. There are lovely walks just from the front door. We spent 2 days in Killarney, this was too short. So we will have to go back darn it!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueintuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I was just at Sika Lodge for 3 nights and everyday I enjoyed being there more. I felt as if I was visiting a friend. Serena is so nice and helpful. On my last day there, I decided to just walk around town, and after speaking with Serena briefly she directed me to the perfect restaurants & shops that she knew I would enjoy! I was in a single room, and even if it was small it had a very comfortable double bed. Those extra special touches that have been mentioned before..i.e. being able to make tea in the room, having a bit of Irish Whiskey as a nightcap (or anytime) and the various videos available were also appreciated. Yummy breakfasts as well. Thank you Serena for making Killarney special for me!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyfortraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Sika Lodge on Sept. 12 & 13, 2013. The rooms are spotless and very nice. The bathroom is large and we were excited to see a full tub/shower as most of them have very small showers. The owners, Serena & Alan, couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. Serena gave us a map of Killarney and showed us all the great places to go. She is also an excellent chef. The best breakfasts we had in Ireland, hands down! Would definitely recommend this B & B. Hopefully, we'll be back to stay with them again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
2.1 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.4 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sika Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sika Lodge B & B

Property: Sika Lodge B & B
Address: Ballydowney, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sika Lodge is a friendly family run B&B situated on the doorstep of the Killarney National Park. The house is a fantastic base for both golfers & walkers as we are near to Killarney Golf & Fishing Club & National Park walkways. The new Host, Serena Delaney is a passionate home cook, and is committed to ensuring that breakfast is a culinary delight for all her guests, providing a delicious breakfast menu. The house has just under gone extensive refurbishment where guests' comforts are of utmost importance. New features of Sika Lodge are a comfortable reading room/library with books & DVDs for loan, rooms have flat screen TV/DVDs. Hosts Serena & Alan look forward to welcoming you in their home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sika Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing