We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Sika Lodge B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sika Lodge B & B
Ranked #12 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Charming bed and breakfast on the outskirts of Killarney. Received a very warm welcome with a introduction to Killarney and a personalized map outlining restaurants and bars in the area. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Bath gel, shampoo, etc were included (not always available in a B&B).

The dining area was nicely decorated and the breakfast was delicious. Serena and her husband were excellent hosts and we would gladly stay again if we have a chance to visit the area again the future.

Of note, WIFI was excellent with mutliple access points around the house to ensure a strong connection. The sitting area had an impressive DVD collection from which to borrow and there was whiskey available for a nightcap.

Highly recommended without any complaints!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank nbp600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Handy to the road into Killarney from Limerick and the Ring of Kerry. Plenty of guest parking. Guest library with bottle of Irish whiskey if you fancy a nightcap. Good wifi in the bedroom. Imaginative breakfast menu, beautifully cooked. Good suggestions for sightseeing in the area. Two minor disappointments - had to go out to find an ATM for a cash payment, the duvet was winter-weight and much too warm for summer.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our first stay at a B&B was at Sika Lodge. It was a great place to start our journey in Western Ireland. Serena was a great host and was well prepared with a map of the area and her suggestions of where to start our touring of the area. The rooms were spacious and beds were comfortable. Her breakfasts were delicious and she offered many choices. The location of the house was great for walking in to the park's north areas and driving in to the town parking areas was very close. The only problem with our time in Killarney was that we arrived during the week of Killarney's celebration of our Independence Day. Driving in to town took much longer than it should have, we were only a few miles from the parking area, but it took twice as long due to traffic congestion. I would suggest for anybody interested in visiting Killarney, do not arrive during the week of July 4th, or if you do plan on arriving at that time, do what Serena suggested and drive to the Gap of Dunloe in the early morning, take a pony & trap ride there, then drive back to Killarney shortly thereafter to visit the east side of the park.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The house is probably the most beautiful in which we stayed during our stay in Ireland. This is fitting, as its surroundings are some of the most beautiful in the country. Tying everything together, the proprietors, Serena and Alan, are two wonderful people that help to make your stay truly memorable. Serena is an excellent chef! After days of the traditional Irish breakfast, her chocolate-chip French toast with raspberry compote was one of the most delicious breakfasts we've had on either side of the Atlantic. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

In June 2014 we had the privilege of staying at Sika Lodge B&B. Our 3 nights there couldn't have been more wonderful! ask us about the comfortable bed...heaven! Serena, the owner/chef made us feel welcome from the start. she suggested the perfect places for dinner for us, made fantastic breakfasts and was genuinely the nicest host. The comfortable living room held a DVD library (since each room had a DVD player) and a big bottle of Irish Whiskey to sample each night! we felt very pampered! we will definitely be coming back to Sika Lodge on our next trip to Ireland!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife & I stayed at Sika Lodge B&B in Killarney, Ireland, from 22 May 2014 to 25 May 2014. The accommodations were terrific, the morning breakfast was wonderful and, most of all, the proprietors, Serena & Alan Delaney was fabulous people. In particular, Serena (who is on the premises most all the time) gave us suggestions on where to go and what to see. Since we did not arrive with a set itinerary we were most appreciative of her suggestions. Serena suggested we hike the Gap of Dunloe, a 10k walk through a mountain gap in the forest of Killarney that ended with a boat ride through the lakes (3) of Killarney. It turned out to be the highlight of our holiday. I couldn't more highly recommend staying at Sika Lodge...you'll love it! Bill & Glenn, New York, USA

Room Tip: We peered around the 2nd floor at the bedrooms and all appeared lovely and well appointed. This lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Sika Lodge for one night and loved it. The bed was heavenly-- the most comfortable bed of our entire tour of Ireland! Breakfast was also fantastic with a bit of an upscale twist to our eggs and bacon. Very good! Both Serena and her husband were helpful. Great place to stay! The walk into the town center is a bit long (20 minutes) but doable. We walked into town and took a taxi home for 6€. Very easy. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Snylund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#20 of 38 in Killarney
1,527 reviews
2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#6 of 143 in Killarney
471 reviews
1.4 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 143 in Killarney
268 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#14 of 143 in Killarney
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sika Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sika Lodge B & B

Address: Ballydowney, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £57 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sika Lodge is a friendly family run B&B situated on the doorstep of the Killarney National Park. The house is a fantastic base for both golfers & walkers as we are near to Killarney Golf & Fishing Club & National Park walkways. The new Host, Serena Delaney is a passionate home cook, and is committed to ensuring that breakfast is a culinary delight for all her guests, providing a delicious breakfast menu. The house has just under gone extensive refurbishment where guests' comforts are of utmost importance. New features of Sika Lodge are a comfortable reading room/library with books & DVDs for loan, rooms have flat screen TV/DVDs. Hosts Serena & Alan look forward to welcoming you in their home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sika Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing