We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best caravan trips ever !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fossa Caravan & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the caravan park with our own caravan on the Easter bank holiday weekend . I rang to book a place before we travelled all the way from Portlaoise to Killarney . A very helpful and nice Derry took our booking. On arrival he checked us in and personally gave us a tour of the park to help us choose a suitable spot to accommodate our German Shepard dog. We found the park to be well maintained and clean.Staff members were also very nice and offered their help on several occasions .The facilities including showers , toilets and chemical waste toilet were well maintained and clean. The only thing I would suggest changing about showers is their outside doors need to be full length as the gap at the bottom is a bit too revealing. My little daughter enjoyed the playground and tennis courts. My only worry about the playground is it is located close to the road and the wall/ fence that separates the play area from the road needs to be more secure and higher. The tennis court is an added bonus it just needs the thorn bushes at the back to be cut back. Our ball kept going under them and my daughter could not get the ball out without getting poked. We will definitely be returning its a good base for touring Kerry and Killarney town is just 5mins away by car. Price was very reasonable too. We made friends with a family staying in one of the mobile homes we got a peek inside and we were very impressed by how clean and up to date the home was , we will be telling our friends about these. The park felt very safe with a nice clientele but we were surprised it didn't have a barrier for extra security. Thanks Derry for a lovely weekend .

Room Tip: For anybody with a caravan choose one of the cemented areas on the flat level for your caravan as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chaobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fossacaravanpark, Manager at Fossa Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi Chaobella
Thank you for taking the time to give our park such a lovely review and i am delighted that you found our standards to be well mantained as we strive to keep our facilities clean at all times.The shower doors have gaps to allow for ventillation.The hedging at the back of the tennis court is being cut this week so hopeifully on your return next time this won't be in the way.Being a little out of town we have not felt the need for a barrier but that may change in the future.I have passed on your thoughts to our mantaince and cleaning staff and they were delighted to hear that you went to the trouble of the review as they all take great pride in their work.I am delighted you found our price good value as we don't charge for either awnings or electric which can amount to 9 euros extra on some parks a night.Again thank you for your custom over the weekend ,it was very much appreciated and i personally look forward to welcoming ye both and your daughter back to fossa both as guests and friends.
Regards Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We spent the week in Killarney to attend the Worlds Irish dancing Championships with our daughter and after pricing hotels, holiday cottages etc this was by far the most affordable option. Our stay here exceeded our expectations. Mobile home was immaculate, spacious & very modern! The site itself was peaceful and very well maintained with clever layout to accommodate tents, campervans etc. Facilities on site excellant with drying room available which was perfect for when we returned from our swimming activities!!! The playground & tennis court kept our 3 children occupied & were both located in a very safe area away from entrance of park which was important to us. The manager Gerry was extremely friendly and helpful with any queries we had. This is definately one of the nicest parks we've visited to date & my husband and I have already recommended this site to many of our friends and family since returning and we ourselves will be returning again in the very near future!!!
Michelle & Oliver from Offaly.

Room Tip: We opted for the higher end priced mobile home (only €20-€40 in difference to standard), heating in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fossacaravanpark, Manager at Fossa Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hi Michelle and Oliver from a very sunny Killarney.I am personally delighted that ye all enjoyed your week here at Fossa for the week of the world irish dancing championships.Everybody finds that mobile homes exceed expectations and kids have space to play on the park and make life long friends.It was a total pleasure to look after ye all and help ye with queries ye had on the area and i really look forward to having your family back again both as my guests and friends.
Kindest regards Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this clean and quiet campsite. The manager Derry is very friendly and welcoming. We hired a mobile home and it was clean, comfortable and spacious. My daughter loved the playground area. Its a great location near the Lake and to tour the Ring of Kerry. We will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doranb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fossacaravanpark, Manager at Fossa Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hi Doranbri,i am delighted you enjoyed your holiday at Fossa and found it to be such a central location for touring Killarney and the ring of kerry.Your daughter i hope has still great memories of her stay in one of our mobile homes which i am delighted you found to be very suitable.I hope we see ye all back this summer.
Kindest regards Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Myself, partner and kids stayed at this site recently for the first time in one of the rented mobiles onsite and we were very pleased with our stay. The accommodation was lovely and very clean, the owner Derry was very nice and friendly. We loved the location and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natasha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fossacaravanpark, Manager at Fossa Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hi Natasha, thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review about our park.I am absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay on our park as first time visitors.Mobile home accomadation is very suitable for a family orienated holiday and i am delighted it was perfect for your family.Fossa is the perfect base for touring Killarney,Ring of Kerry,Dingle and even into West Cork if you are here for a week.I am looking forward to welcoming ye all back to Fossa again.
Kindest regards Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
111derryb, Owner at Fossa Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marie-Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Julien J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.0 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fossa Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fossa Caravan & Camping Park

Address: Fossa | Kerry, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This well established site run by the Brosnan Family is favoured with couples and families. Chosen at the Camping and Caravanning Club Site in the Southwest. Fossa Holiday Park is ideally located for touring the "Kingdom of Kerry", set in a beautiful wooded area, in the village of Fossa, overlooking the famous MacGillycuddy Reeks and 5 minutes walk to Lough Leane. This Holiday Park is well laid out with spacious hard-core slots, ample electric hook-up and separate area for tents. Excellent modern sanitation blocks. On-site Drying room facility. Day tours arranged, taxi service, Pub 1/2 mile. On bus route from Killarney (upto 6 buses per day). Only campsite in Killarney with public bus stop outside its entrance. Hostel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and PitchUp so you can book your Fossa Caravan & Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing