We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed here over the past two nights and found the hotel to be as good as ever before - good location, superb rooms and friendly staff throughout - food in Bistro was very nice and I will return again next year........

Also free shuttle to train station was a nice surprise so thank you......

Room Tip: Ask for a 4th floor room - lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaihr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,980 - 1,986 of 2,311 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

We really enjoyed our one night stay at the Brehon - we were going to a concert at the INEC next door. Had sandwiches in the bar which were good. No problem having a sandwich made with gluten free bread. Room was very comfortable though a large pillar in front of the window cut off a lot of the natural light. The breakfast was extensive and again no problem getting gluten free toast and cereal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Check in staff were exceptional. We arrived at 9.00am and they found us a room and let us check in straight away, without us even asking. Thats what I call first class service.
Room was spacious, fab views of mountains, massive bed, very comfortable and nice seating area. Bathroom great, big walk in shower and large bath and nice toiletries.
It's about a 20 minute stroll into town but there is also a minibus service runs every hour if you don't want to walk.Town very busy and geared up for the tourists but has some good restaurants. Dinner at the hotel was incredible, good choice, good service, good wine list and not outragously expensive.
The spa area was everything the brochure described, massage well worth the money. They have special offers that can be booked on arrival.
The service in the bar was kind of hit and miss, the staff seemed to be lacking direction and the food took forever to arrive. Eat in the bar twice but have to say you take a chance on whether the food is going to be worth the wait. We had two steaks, one good , one not good, if we had the time we would have sent it back. We had fish, again one good and one piece wouldn't have fed a sparrow but again waited so long, to hungary to send it back. This is the only part that lets the hotel down.
Breakfast, again good choice and good service. Would stay again but not use the bar.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have great views of mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at The Brehon in August for a friend's wedding. The location about 15 mins walk from town was very convenient and quiet. Our room was huge, as was the bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfy and even though it wasn't warm outside the room was lovely and warm. We ate bar food one night and the wedding breakfast the next and both times the service was amazing. Despite there being a huge number of guests the steak was cooked to order and actually arrived as we'd asked for it and to the right person - the type of service you only get in very good restarants. The breakfast was good, the coffee was delivered quickly and was hot, and there was a reasonable amount of choice. If we decide to go to Killarney again we'll certainly stay at The Brehon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bino33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights our hotel room 315 was basic, rather drab with cracked tiles in the bathroom only 1 bathrobe etc basic toiletries and a very old fashioned tv!! ! The room service was excellent enjoyed the steak but the main dining room poor. Breakfast was good but the Spa was faultless excellent massage etc. I would def pay extra for better rooms not a 4 star hotel though ! the free wifi was an added bonus

Room Tip: upgrade as our room was of a poor standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leedsFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We ended up at this hotel for a friend's wedding, and it was a wonderful choice. Quite a romantic atmosphere for such a large hotel! The marble lobby is lovely. The lit fireplaces and candles scattered about made for a cosy feel.

The wedding supper menu had some lovely and uncommon choices. The steak was about 2 inches thick, cooked to perfection, and we cut it with a butter knife.

Before arriving, I had a few concerns over the food - I cannot eat gluten. However, the waitstaff was knowledgeable about the allergens in every dish, advised me as needed, and made slight changes to the dessert for a gluten free option. At other meals, I was offered gluten free bread with breakfast and gluten free biscuits with coffee. While others were eating their bread and biscuits, so was I. And it made me feel very well cared for indeed!

We were very nicely welcomed by Ciaran McCarthy, who in addition to giving us useful information pointed us to the vitality suite. I did avail of it and was glad - it was clean, relaxing, and quite a treat. It was very difficult to choose between that and my much anticipated walk in Killarney National Park.

The hotel is located along the Kerry Way, and you can rack up a couple of kilometres in style. The trail from the hotel to Torc Waterfall does not feel overly strenuous. You could go early in the day and have tea at the cafe at Muckross House.

The downsides:
- there weren't quite enough tea/coffee making facilities, so our room didn't have one when we got there. It may seem a small feature, but the benefit of having it is huge. We called and were given one once it was available.
- the water pressure in our shower felt weak. However, the pressure in the bath's sprayer was good, so I could wash my hair there.

Room Tip: The management provides tea and coffee making facilities. If you don't see one in your room, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Brehon was a very nice hotel with well appointed, clean rooms. We had comfortable beds and pillows and modern bathroom. Entertainment in the Pub was a great end our day. Easy parking but a few minutes from town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSpofford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,285 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £93 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing