We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Unless you have continuously stayed in 5 star hotels or the 7 star in Dubai you will NOT be dissapointed with the Brehon. This is a proper 4 Star + hotel, lovely bar area with sandwiches etc beyond the bog standard with a gourmet twist. Got a free upgrade to a suite and you just don't want to leave it! Modern TV's with plenty of films - didn't try the spa but it looked amazing. Dinner was great and the restaurant is both elegant and intimate. Staff are highly professional and friendly... I will be back. Well done the management of the Brehon, when you book this place don't be worried about what you'll find!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,580
    379
    95
    28
    19
See reviews for
381
1,112
32
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here during a recent stay in Killarney, and the hotel was comfortable. We were a group of 3 and the hotel, had 3 seperate beds available for us. Everyone in our party slept well, and we had a nice window with a view, of what I believe was Killarney National Park, we were also a quick 10 minute walking distance to downtown, as we would walk to Downtown Killarney while there in the evening no problem. The food in the restuarant was very good, and we enjoyed having a celebrity sighting. Billy Ocean was in town doing a concert and he ate at the hotel restuarant that night. Kinda Cool. No problems with room temperature, beds were comfortable, free bottled water in room, and no issues with bathroom, lots of space for luggage/clothes. Room included ironing board, and the ever important blow dryer. Unfortunatley, I did not make it down to the spa, as the brochures looked nice. The front desk was also very curteous. Very nice stay, no complaints or concerns.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimmicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed in the Brehon recently on a business trip and it was a perfect choice. Midweek, it was quiet so I wasn't disturbed, I had access to free wifi, the room was very comfortable and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidjpmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Enjoyed 3 lovely nights in the Brehon. Hotel located 10-15 minute walk from Killarney Town. Hotel is spacious, warm and beautifully decorated.
Rooms very spacious with large bathroom. Bed could have been a bit more comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and bar and both really good.
Breakfast was delicious with vast selection. Ample car park spaces. Spa area fab. Have full use of the swimming pool in the sister hotel next door.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmeath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed in the brehon for the bank holiday weekend ( may ) . from the minute we walked in we were warmly welcomed by the porter and reception staff . They were very friendly and helpful. Our room was really lovely and spacious . The bathroom was also lovely . The bed was huge and with a tall husband in tow , beds are important !! we slept really well both nights . The pool is also really lovely and there are lots of facilites for guests . Hotel buffet breakfasts can often be very hit and miss ,often cold and inedible . The breakfast here was absolutley gorgeous , there was a great variety of fruit , pastries , cheeses etc and the hot buffet was regularly replenished ,hot and tasty. Staff were again very helpful at breakfast . We had bar food and this too was really nice . The only draw back of our whole stay was the parking ,Itw as often difficult to get parking in the hotel but i guess it was a busy weekend with the car rally taking place next door at the INEC and could not be helped . There was alot of noise again from all the cars at night and in the morning but again this was not the fault of the hotel . Overall had a wonderful weekend , the staff should be highly praised by their bosses , they do a wonderful job !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_pumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

While we have stayed many times in Killarney this was our first trip to The Brehon but D V will not be our last. It is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in April and were incredibly happy with our stay.

We loved the thermal suite and spent the majority of our time in there without seeing any other guests – it was like having our own private spa! Our room was large, modern and comfortable, and the bathroom was lovely and new. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was amazing.

The only downside to our whole stay was the food in the bar. We were tired after a whole day of travelling and decided to eat dinner at the hotel rather than go into town. We ordered the fish and chips and the satay chicken. The fish was dry and overcooked, the chips were more like crumbs (obviously we got the bits from the bottom of the bag) and were also overcooked. The sauce for the satay chicken tasted like crushed peanuts in skim milk – no spices or flavour of any kind. It was a disappointing low-light in an otherwise enjoyable stay.

We were asked about our meals when we checked out, and we mentioned that we were disappointed with them, but didn’t want to speak to the manager. We thought it wasn’t worth complaining about since we were happy with everything else. I received an email from the office manager shortly after we returned home, and she was genuinely concerned and grateful for our feedback.

Overall we would most definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful and relaxing stay in Killarney. Just don’t order food from the bar!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SSandCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
0.8 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing