We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantasic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantasic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

I have just returned from a two night stay at the Brehon and we really enjoyed it. It is a really lovely hotel, spacious rooms, beautiful lobby, and lovely food.
We got a fantastic surpise when we were upgraded on arrival. Thank you!
The bar is also really nice, we had our meals there and they were very good.
The only area I think the hotel could improve on is breakfast. It was nice but I don't think a buffet breakfast can ever be that great.
I think what really made our stay was how friendly all the staff were. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they were all brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kudzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,579
    379
    95
    27
    19
See reviews for
380
1,111
32
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere over the Rainbow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed at The Brehon for three nights as part of one of there christmas offers. 3nights bnb and 2 evening meals for € 275 which was very good considering the hotel is normally expensive to stay in.
The reception area of the hotel is stunning with plenty of couches and lovely fireplaces. We ate in the bar prior to check in was lovely and the staff were excellent.
The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The evening meals were also gorgeous and once again staff were very good. Breakfast was also excellent with a wide variety of choices available.
The only little downside was we did not recieve the bottle of wine on arrival or the spa voucher included in the package, I actuallly forgot about it being included until I was home. All in all will be returning to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishGuy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurles, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed in November 2012, only one night but a memorable experience, Lovely hotel and excellent facilities. Breakfast was an experience with the largest selection of food I have seen in any hotel.Room was spacious and comfortable. Excellent venue if attending concerts in the nearby INEC. Impressive foyer with open fires

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnOL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear John,
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here as a present for my 50th in September.We had an executive suite but were upgraded to one of the bridal suites. WOW everyone has to stay here once.We didn't want to leave.We had booked spa treatments for the Sun and Mon, both day's were excellent we floated out.We had dinner in the restaurant, top class. Loved the lobby area and the hotel in general, can't wait to return, well done Brehon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Bille Dee,
Thank you for the taking the time to write your wonderful review. It really is great to hear such positive feedback. We do hope to see you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Fabulous hotel, lovely relaxing lobby, great staff, standard room was a bit cramped, movies on demand were average, would go back again but would look for bigger room. Pool and spa fantastic. Lovely food in bar, average size portions lovely bar staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We normally get very positive feed back in relation to all our rooms but next time you are visiting us please let us know and we will ensure you are allocated a more spacious room. We look forward to seeing your soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We attended the Brehon for a wedding on the 19th october 2012,and enjoyed every minute of our stay.The room was spacious with great views,and the staff were very friendly and couldnt do enough for us on arrival.The wedding itself was breath taking from start to finish.would highly reccommend the Brehon and look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley04Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Shirley,
Thank you for such a wonderful description! To be referred to as a 'Top Class Hotel' is fantastic and I will ensure all our staff are aware of your review. It really makes all the hard work worthwhile.
We do hope to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Beautiful setting and perfect base for touring areas, Dingle Peninsula, Ring of Kerry, Gap of Dunloe . We were very impressed with the staff, the breakfast was outstanding. Never had the opportunity to try the restaurant, bar had excellent choices for lunch and dinner. We were unfortunately stranded 2 days in England coming back and the staff were king enough to send us a message asking if we got home OK-UNHEARD OF!!!! This is the hotel for us if we ever have the opportunity to go back-Very beautiful area in Kerry.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Mick,
We are all delighted here at The Brehon to be described as 'The Best in the Killarney Area'. We work hard at ensuring we provide the highest level of standard to our guests and we are glad this was your experience. We hope to see you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
0.8 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing