We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a disapointment!”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I selected this hotel -specialylinked to the number of 5 stars recomandations-, for my birthday.- a precision that I gave to the reception of course - 1/ According to this, the room had a beautiful view... on the parking lot!! It lasted 15 mn to get a very poor and dark room. After a reclamation, they changed it, for a better one, OK, but I was very angry. 2/ in this hotel, the fridge is only for decoration, because it is empty with a card inside "please call the 0..." 3/ in this hotel you have only one bathrobe for two. 4/ in this hotel, the chief makes a confusion between vegetarian burger and mineral burger, because the burger is so hard, so tough, that you simply cannot cut it And so and so... Complete deception

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCurran, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us at The Brehon. I am disappointed to hear your comments. I have investigated the points your raised in your review and am satisfied with how our receptionist dealt with your check in. When you were unsatisfied with your room we upgraded your to one of our Superior Deluxe rooms and as it was your birthday we sent some Wine and Butler Chocolates to your room. We are happy to stock our minibar fridges on request and the card as you pointed out is there to inform our guests of same.
I regret you felt your stay was a disappointment as our staff and management you spoke to during you stay did their utmost to ensure your needs were met. Thank you again for your feedback.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,716 - 1,722 of 2,283 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2012

spa break with daughter and sister.the spa is fab .loved every minute of it,we had a lovely room on the fourth floor.great food in bar .the breakfast was fab .my compliments too christine in the spa.will be back in jan with hubby.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Third time staying here. 3 nights. This time with a small baby. They just understand the needs of a family. Very courteous staff and personable. Lovely room and great food. Will be staying again. They just offer more than an average hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Altecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Spent 3 nights in this lovely hotel at the end of November/early December. The hotel was beautifully laid out with all its Christmas decorations and is really cosy, with all the comfy seats and the numerous fires. Had dinner on two nights in the hotel and the food was absolutely delicious. The hotel was buzzing when we were there, there was a wedding taking place on two of the days and there was a rally on in Killarney on the Saturday. The rooms were nice and spacious, the staff were lovely and the leisure/spa area is great to switch off. Both my wife and I had a back massage on one of the days and they were absolutely fabulous, I would highly recommend. All in all a great place to go for a few days and even if the weather isn't too good it is a perfect spot to chill out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petefitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Staying at the brehon hotel was a real treat, Everything about this hotel is great, the highlight for us was the spa, it is fantastic the thermal area is large and its never crowded. The food in the Danu resteraunt is excellent. cant wait to return

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robinhill69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I have just returned from a two night stay at the Brehon and we really enjoyed it. It is a really lovely hotel, spacious rooms, beautiful lobby, and lovely food.
We got a fantastic surpise when we were upgraded on arrival. Thank you!
The bar is also really nice, we had our meals there and they were very good.
The only area I think the hotel could improve on is breakfast. It was nice but I don't think a buffet breakfast can ever be that great.
I think what really made our stay was how friendly all the staff were. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they were all brilliant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kudzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed at The Brehon for three nights as part of one of there christmas offers. 3nights bnb and 2 evening meals for € 275 which was very good considering the hotel is normally expensive to stay in.
The reception area of the hotel is stunning with plenty of couches and lovely fireplaces. We ate in the bar prior to check in was lovely and the staff were excellent.
The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The evening meals were also gorgeous and once again staff were very good. Breakfast was also excellent with a wide variety of choices available.
The only little downside was we did not recieve the bottle of wine on arrival or the spa voucher included in the package, I actuallly forgot about it being included until I was home. All in all will be returning to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishGuy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,365 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,372 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,448 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £100 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing