We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights mid week and had a fabulous time. The hotel is gorgeous .. Very luxurious. Staff very friendly and breakfast was very tasty as was the bar food... Best Thai green curry I have had outside of Thailand. Bar staff were very also very welcoming. We had spa treatments and the spa is pure luxury.. The Thai girls are amazing at what they do and also very friendly. All in all we had a great experience in the hotel and will defiantly be back. Kerry is such a beautiful place to visit.. There is no place like it in Ireland.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dalyemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Emma,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Thank you especially for your comments on our Bar Food, Breakfast and Staff. We are delighted you enjoyed our Thai Green Curry which is part of our 'Journey to Angsana' menu in The Brehon Bar. We have some wonderful Thai dishes which are so popular with our guests.
We may be bias but we agree, there really is no place in Ireland like Kerry!
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kingdom again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,665
    404
    101
    31
    23
See reviews for
417
1,179
34
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Ate here for Mother's Day with all the family. Fabulous meal from start to finish and great service. Very accommodating for children also. For the quality of food it was very reasonably priced. I will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Clodagh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Clodagh,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Mothers Day Lunch at The Brehon. It is great to get the opportunity to celebrate such an important day for mothers and we are delighted you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed in the Brehon in Killarney for 3 nights. We got a really reasonable b&b rate.
The hotel itself is lovely, loads of nice areas to relax and very calming. The location is perfect for a base to go sight seeing around Kerry.
Has lunch in the bar one day, wasn't bad but not great. Seafood chowder was a disappointment. Cocktails in the bar however made up for it.
Breakfast was excellent, great selection and very fresh.
We'll be back for sure

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakestrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Jake,

Thank you for taking the time to write you review. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your over all stay. It was great to read your comments on our breakfast. I am sorry to hear your feedback in relation to your dining experience in the bar and I have passed your comments to our Head Chef.
I do hope you will be back to see us again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed a night here and the hotel is beautiful the rooms all had flat screen tvs dressing gowns and slippers and huge bathrooms the bed was huge real luxery the staff where really freindly and helpful and the rooms and hotel was spotless great upstairs lobby aswell that provides board games for kids which is a nice touch unfortunatly i didnt get to eat in the resteraunt but the breakfast was a buffet and the food was lovely f=great for a couples getaway :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caoimhe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Caoimhe,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Brehon and thank you for your very kind comments.
We do hope to see you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prenton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here for three nights as part of a holiday. First, the bad points - there weren't any! The good points too numerous to mention. All the staff we met were very good and gave excellent customer service. The room was well furnished and kept clean with toiletries replenished daily. I had a small problem with the television, which I went down to reception to ask for assistance. The repair man arrived outside the room just as I did. We ate each night in the bar, where the food was excellent. Breakfast in the restaurant was extensive and well cooked with daily cooked alternatives on request. Overall, this hotel was magnificent, and I cannot praise the staff sufficiently highly.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel gives very good views of the surrounding scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaspydog322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Jaspydog322,

Thank you for your review. Its is great to hear your feedback and that you had such a good stay with us. Thank you in particular for your feedback on the staff in the hotel, everyone here is thrilled to read your comments. We do hope to see you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

From the very first day we walked into the Brehon we were welcomed by the extremely friendly staff and the journey began there. We knew as soon as we were shown around the hotel and they explained the details of the wedding package that this was the perfect place to have out wedding. As we are living in Cork and the reception was to be in Killarney i wanted a hotel that i could place all my trust in for them to organise everything with just a few phonecalls back and forth and the staff at the Brehon did this with ease. They were extrememly accomodating and a real pleasure to deal with from beginning to end. They contacted us when we were due to have our meal tasting and although we selected a few items from each course which we would like to try when we arrived our wedding co-ordinator had added in a few extra items for us to try which we ended up choosing. On our wedding day everything was as i imagined and more it really was perfect, the drinks reception, the room, the food and the general service was top class. We all enjoyed an amazing weekend and our family and friends are still talking about how amazing the meal was!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Claire,

Thank you for your wonderful review and congratulations again on your marriage. It is important when planning one of the most important days of your life that you trust that you will be looked after, I am delighted this was your experience from start to finish. It is great to hear that all your guests had such a good time. We do hope you will be back to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Best hotel break we have had for years. The hotel and staff were a1 at all times.
It was our wedding anniversary and they went out of their way to make our stay great. Looking forward to to going back later this year.
Thanks to everyone in the Brehon. I do not normally write reviews (in fact this is my first one) but i felt that i had to share my thoughts on how good this hotel is.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patmkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Pat,

It is great to read your review and that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. All of us here at The Brehon were delighted to read your comments. We do hope you will be back to see us again soon and thank you again.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,229 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,182 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing