We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Stay”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at The Brehon for 3 nights and loved the hotel! The room had a great view of the hills - it was truly an Irish landscape. Every morning and evening we enjoyed the view and still have not forgotten how pretty it was to see the green hills with livestock grazing on the grass.

The food served in the hotel was fabulous at all their restaurants including the pub. The breakfast was a complete brunch menu and service was excellent - thoroughly enjoyed it.

The location of the hotel was good for us as well - one day we didn't feel like driving into the town center so we just walked from the hotel, It didn't take long at all and when it rained (what a surprise!) we had to duck into a pub until the rain stopped. Darn :)

The staff were very helpful, all the way from the reception. Highly recommend this hotel. The only shortcoming was that the shower in our room was a little small, even though the bathroom itself was very large. Not a big deal at all, would definitely stay here again, in fact can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Weevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear 2Weevils,

The entire team here at The Brehon are delighted with your review thank you. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your lovely feedback. We look forward to seeing you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,367 - 1,373 of 2,329 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had the most fabulous stay at the Brehon hotel on May 19th. First class service in every department. The staff are most efficent and courteous. Since my last visit, in 2013, the hotel has improved vastly.well done to all involved. I would highly recommend a visit. I look forward to going back as soon as possible. Sincere thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, but all views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Eleanor,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is great to hear our service described as first class. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope to see you back again.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel in May 2014 just for one night. imposing hotel with lovely reception area and on first impressions it looked very welcoming. The suite was nice although only one of the two TV's had the full array of satellite channels which was a minor annoyance. Ate in the main restaurant for the evening meal an breakfast, food was very good quality and standard, service was also professional and efficient. Only downside was that on our short break, between the front desk, waiters and waitresses, restaurant manager and the bell boys, we didn't meet a single Irish person on the staff. Considering that Killarney is the epitome of an Irish tourist town, only having all eastern European staff was a big negative for us (not a criticism of the staff as the service overall was good but management take note...) and would make us think twice about returning. Would have rated it 4 or 5 stars but for the lack of Irish staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilVerlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear SilVerlig,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Brehon and for your wonderfully positive feedback on our food, standard and service. Thank you also for considering rating your stay at The Brehon a wonderful five stars. We are however deeply disappointed with your comments on our staff. While we appreciate all feedback we are proud of our staff and that includes all nationalities who are a loyal hard working team committed to providing the highest possible standard to our guests. This is what they deliver irrespective of the country they were born in. It is disappointing that you choose to reduce our scoring purely based on staff nationality. The Brehon also employ a large number of Irish Staff, therefore I am at a loss that you did not meet them during your stay. For instance 60 % of our Front office Staff are Irish and almost 80% of our Bar Staff are Irish yet it seems odd that you did not meet any Irish Staff during your stay. However I am glad to hear that those staff you did meet regardless of their nationality provided you with a wonderful five star service.

Thank you again for you feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay hotel staff where friendly, welcoming. Food was lovely and atmosphere was great. Will definitely be back.

I did however find walking around from the back car park awkward in the rain on occasion the side door was open which was great.

Rooms where beautiful and we had a lovely view even if the weather wasn't :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Lisa,

It is great to read you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the weather. Thank you for your kind comments and we do hope you will be back to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you are ever in Killarney it would be well worth your while booking into The Brehon. I can't say a bad thing about it. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The food is fantastic. The rooms are so comfortable and the Spa is so relaxing. You can also book lots of different treatments to pamper yourself. The location is perfect just 5 minutes from the town and overlooking a huge park - plenty of free parking and watch out for weekend specials. I usually go with my daughter when we really want to treat ourselves - time for another visit coming up again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Trish,

We are delighted to hear you and your daughter enjoy your visits to The Brehon and thank you for your very kind words. We look forward to seeing you, our valued customers back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

After a good wander around the 144 restaurants so called available in Killarney.. Yup 144 restaurants..

ONE HUNDRED AND FORTY FOUR!!!

We got none.. None that we fancied eating in.. None that didn’t seem to feature anything that could be hotted up by chef ping, or drowned in hot oil..

Did we miss something? Maybe yet I tell ya we had a massive looksie around.. Massive indeed .. Like feet starting to hurt looking.. Did take in a couple of nice pints en-route though…

So ended up deciding on hotel food .. Was the easy opt out choice..

Mrs Fitz gone for the fish pie which said was excellent indeed , not heavy with the potatoes and sauce..

Me? Thai marinated ribs.. With a rice.. They were ok, am sure chef ping had a hand in making them..

We must say though that for a hotel bar snack this was of very good quality, and the cost reasonable.. The drink prices were also reasonable and actually cheaper than some if the other places we swung by .. Would recommended the bar food at the Brehon for sure .

Good one… Good

cookingwithmrfitz.com

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookingwithMrFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear CookingwithMrFitz,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted you and Mrs Fitz enjoyed your dining experience at The Brehon. We do hope you will be back to visit us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We recently stayed for one night on our Anniversary and a Concert at the INEC. We had a brilliant time and were given a lovely room with a large balcony ( Room 111). They also hand decorated a Plate for our Anniversary with chocolate icing and chocs, and left it in our room with a card. It was a lovely touch. Thanks to all the Staff. Also breakfast was excellent. We will be back....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear MJ,

It is great to read your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your anniversary celebrations. I do hope you will be back to see us in The Brehon again soon and we look forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,323 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,609 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#18 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £99 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing