We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent staff”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hey there,sorry only getting around to this now,been travelling..we attended the 10th anniversary of the brehon hotel on sunday 15th in killarney, the birthday reception was very well organised..it was well planned and layed out. me and my family had a wonderful day.the staff outside were very pleasant and helpful.Daniel was very polite and went out of his way bringing drinks to our table when we asked even tho we could see he was very busy serving others and clearing tables.our compliments to martin also.. daniel told us it was he that made the lemonade..very tastey all of the family enjoyed it.. thanks again for the lovely day..looking forward to our next visit..will be recommending the hotel to friends and family..thank you guys.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikesul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mikesul,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our wonderful 10th Anniversary celebrations. Thank you for your comments on Martins Homemade Lemonade which he is very proud of indeed.
We do hope to see you back again soon and we look forward to welcoming you.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,307 - 1,313 of 2,283 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Enjoyed our stay from beginning to end. The hotel was excellent staff could not do enough for us.
Stayed for three days we are definitely going to go back. The hotel is very good value off season. Could do with a cocktail menu in the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nora12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Nora,

Thank you for your lovely review and for your lovely comments on our staff. Everyone here were delighted to read you comments. It is a shame you didn't get to experience our extensive Cocktail Menu. I do hope you will be back to see us again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed recently at the Brehon which has an imposing entrance hall. The service at the reception was very good and efficient. The rooms were light and big with a spacious balcony and very big bathroom. I had a great night's sleep in spite of the Bike Fest next door. A surprise knocked on my door when an employee brought lovely truffles and a weclome letter.

I was really looking forward to having a classy afternoon tea at the hotel. But unfortunately, so I was told, the hotel is not catering for singles. It is only available for two people. Now, the money side of it wouldn't have been the problem as it is not pricey at all compared to other 4* hotels. It really blemished at least MY stay at the hotel. The fact that a guest who is obviously on his or her own (and presumably not by their own choice), was given this kind of information, does let the hotel down. On hearing that a single person doesn't qualify for a special treat, I was really heartbroken. Not only was I travelling on my own seeing all these couples miling around, but I was also refused my special treat.

Here my obvious suggestion: Offer afternoon teas for singles as not to make them feel bad. It can't be that difficult to divide the usual suspects on the tier cake stand. Same with the price.

Another suggestion heading the same way: offer rooms at single rates. Singles are always getting punished for travelling on their own. And singles are a growing market segment. There were quite a few of them at breakfast the next morning.

Oh, and some seats and a table on the balcony would be the cherry on the cake.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have a balcony, and the back of the hotel is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KathinkaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Kathinkas,

I want to thank you for giving us your feedback following your stay at The Brehon. Thank you for your lovely comments on our staff and bedrooms.
I was very disappointed to read your comments that you think we do not cater for solo traveling guest. It is our policy to offer Afternoon Tea for any number of people including one. I am at a loss at to why you were not served Afternoon Tea for one. I have passed your comments to our Bar Manager and she has taken action and retraining with all the staff to ensure that this error is not repeated.
We are in the process of replacing our balcony furniture at the moment and I do hope you will be back to experience what we have to offer.
I do hope you will be back to visit us again and I want to assure you a pleasant stay. Please contact me directly if you are visiting Killarney again.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
lorraines@thebrehon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent two nights here this week. Great rooms, windows open for a nice breeze. A short walk to town. We had breakfast and dinner here with our tour group from CIE. The food was very good. We had a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1315linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Linda,

It is great to hear you and the CIE group enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

Kindest regards,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the brehon for one night. The room was amazing so clean. The spa was great we went the day we checked in and the day we checked out. I couldn't say one bad thing about this hotel. Ill be staying there again for definite

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Kellie,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you will be back to visit us again soon and look forward to welcoming you.

Kindest regards,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in one of the spacious suites. The decor and ambience was superb. We enjoyed the calmness and tranquility in the spa and pool areas both early morning and early evening. The evening meal was delicious and breakfast was plentiful with good selection.
The location of the hotel was ideal, not to far out of town but with in easy distance of attractions.
Hotel staff were very courteous and friendly. Will definately return to The Brehon again.

Room Tip: Choose a corner suite, very roomy and sunny with excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Christine,

We are all delighted here at The Brehon with your wonderful review and that you had such an enjoyable stay. We do hope to see you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel in a good location just 1km from the town away from all the chaos of the city and still a short walk away!! easy to locate. The staff were so friendly an helpful any questions we ha we're answered and they always went the extra mile!! We had dinner on the first night and it was lovely And affordable we had a 3course meal each and just for €35 each!! The room was spacious and clean very modern and with great views, the bed was comfortable,the bathroom was a great size with separate shower and bath which u don't see much at hotels!! The outside grounds were beautiful!! The breakfast was brilliant great variety and quality!! On our last day we had afternoon tea before leaving it was a real treat the bar staff were brilliant and we had a great selection of cakes, sandwiches and scones we couldn't even finish it!! A great hotel for a couples weekend away it's a very romantic setting!! All staff were very accommodating to us from the reception, catering, domestic and bar staff :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Amy,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,365 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,372 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,448 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £100 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing