We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Just back from a night in the Brehon. Our stay was faultless!! Our accomodation was available on arrival. Check in was prompt and efficient. We enjoyed lunch in the bar and the service was excellent. Rooms were bright, clean and spacious. Breakfast was buffet with lots to choose from. Overall, an excellent stay and I would highly recommend. If only other Irish hotels could take a leaf out of the Brehon's book !!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Co.Corktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanKillarney, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The Bar staff will be delighted to get a mention, as Our Danu Restaurant is getting all the limelight at present!

I hope to have the opportunity of wel;coming you back to The Brehon in the future.


Best Wishes,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,186 - 2,192 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2010

Stayed on the 5th and 6th Jan. Arrived early but was able to check in immeadiately. The Gent on Reception was very welcoming and helpful. The few requests i had made during reservation stage had been organised and the room was lovely and spacious.
We ate in the bar as the weather was too bad to go out. The food was excellent however the service was just ok. The bar staff looked like they did not want to be there! Breakfast was lovely and the staff there were very friendly. Such a contrast to the bar staff! Overall i liked the hotel and will definately be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmcspill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanKillarney, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2010

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the accommodation & food here at The Brehon.

I have also duely noted your comment regarding the bar staff and have addressed it with my Bar Manager. They are normally a very enthusiastic team, but may not have been at their best after what was the end of our busiest period of the year. Thank you for letting us know.


Kind Regards,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

All the staff are wonderfully welcoming from the minute you arrive. We were travelling without the children for a change and so were really looking forward to a grown-up break and the Brehon was a marvellous choice. We'd stayed in the Gleneagle before with the kids and had always looked longingly at the Brehon so this time we decided we'd go for it.

The room was large, luxurious big bed, large bathroom with a separate shower stall and bath tub, large wardrobe area for your clothes, with an iron. The views out the bedroom window were beautiful I was entranced watching the red deer in the national park across the way.

I didn't have any of the spa treatments but felt as if I had because the Vitality suite was amazing. There was this kind of aromatherapy shower that you step into and it gently rains all this fragranced mist on you. The pool has those jets of water that give you a pounding massage. I stayed in here for ages while husband watched the telly.

The breakfast buffet has good selections and then you get menu options such as the full Irish or eggs benedict, I know there was other choices but these are the only two I can rememeber. I had the eggs benedict and it was excellent.

The only thing I'd say is that I'd have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room. But there was bottled water included.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sulabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Stayed in this hotel for the second time recently. On our first visit we had been given a gift of a suite so wondered what the 'regular' room would be like - it was gorgeous.
Enjoyed every aspect of our stay and can't wait for an excuse to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We stayed in the Brehon for 2 nights, and i can't wait to go back again.
The room was bright, clean, spacious and comfortable.
The staff very friendly, helpful and courteous.
The spa was the BEST EVER, excellent treatments, luxury surroundings, lovely staff.
The restaurant was gorgeous for evening dinner and breakfast, tasty menu and very well presented.
The bar was good fun, with live music the night we were there.
The hotel itself is a beautiful building with gorgeous surroundings, it's a real hide away, good for a get away, a real stress buster, and very good value also!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieWongCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

This is without doubt my favorite hotel in Ireland. everything you can want from a hotel is here in this hotel. Stay here and you wont be dissapointed I guarantee.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandGavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Stayed here for a night over Christmas to get away from it all and relax. Checking in was easy, and our room was ready for 3.30pm as per the hotel instructions, the room was lovely and quiet but could have done with a refresh - there were lots of marks and scratches on the wall, and while its nothing major, it did remind me of a hotel room that had seen a stag or two in its lifetime. I also thought the room could have done with a kettle - always nice to make your own cup of tea! We ate in the bar - food was fine. Breakfast was a nice buffet and there was plenty of everything. Only other comment was that it would have been nice if the hotel had had a warm fire or somewhere cosy to linger/read the the papers. After we checked out, we'd loved to have hung around but it wasn't really welcoming in that sense (the bar was really only for eating/drinking and not lounging around). All in all a nice stay but I think a few added extras could make this a great hotel, in a town that is flooded with accommodation.


Nice hotel but I wouldn't rave about it as others have.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubai_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanKillarney, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at The Brehon. We very much appreciate our guests taking the time to tell us about their stay.

Regarding the issues you addressed in your review:
1. We currently have a ongoing painting programme happening throughout the hotel over the winter months and have 70% of the rooms done at this stage. I assure you that all rooms will have been refreshed very shortly.

2. I note your comment regarding Tea/Coffee facilities and this is something we are reviewing for the year ahead.

3. I sincerely apologise that our 4 Flame fires in the lobby were not on over Christmas. We are awaiting parts for the fires, which were delayed getting here. We hope to have the fires back working very shortly, ensuring the lobby is cosy once again.

Thank you again for your comments and be assured of our commitment to addressing them.

Kind Regards,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
The Brehon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#18 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £96 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing