We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great!!!!!”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Having had 3 fabulous nights here last August we decided to treat ourselves for one night on good friday. Everything was great apart from 2 things. First was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. Even the cheapest b&bs have this and it is nice to make yourself a coffee after driving a long way to get to hotel and lay back on the bed before getting ready for the evening. The second thing wasmore annoying. My partner is a vegetarian and unfortunately thereisn't much she ill eat. So when we went into the restaurant the only thing she would have was the chickpea cake, b ut she didn't like what accomanied it so she asked if she could have it with poatoo and vegetables instead. This was done with no trouble. But when we got the bill we were charged extra for both the potato and the vegatable, even though she had them INSTEAD of what was with the chickpea cake. We did complain but was told it was hotel policy. My partner was very annoyed as this has never happened to us before. Apart from that I must say thatthe hotel is lovely and the staff are always politeand helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,154 - 2,160 of 2,347 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

Stayed in the Brehon for a two night midweek break at end of March '10 with my spouse for a super midweek offer rate of only 50 euro per room. Hotel met all of our expectations and more. Couldn't complement the hotel staff highly enough for their profesionalism and forward vision , for eg. from the moment we arrived (in a heavy downpour I might add), we were facilitated a quick entrance, by a watchful member of staff throuh a back door to avoid getting saturated, well done.
Hotel interior is beautiful, has lucious decor, scent and tasteful design features. Food was lovely and had descent breakfast options and good bar food available
Service was excellent and any requests we made were met in a timely manner.

We enjoyed the vitality suite and a treatment in the angsana spa comes highly recommended, staff are professional here and therapists are excellent at their job .

In our opinion, this hotel comes highly recommended , from its location, to service, to food to its luxurious interior, it cannot be faulted. We will be returning again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tippcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanKillarney, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2010

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to hear our porters were alert in assisting you on arrival and that you enjoyed the service throughout your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Wishes,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Well I'm just back from a break in the Brehon and it was amazing. 2 nights B+B and 1evening meal 150 and that was a room to myself as there was 3 of us there and we all had beautiful appointed rooms. The spa is amazing and the rate above also included a €25 voucher off the spa but had to be used off a massage but that's fine as we were told before booking. The meal was amazing and we went the second night also. You can have a 4 course meal ie starter mains desert and tea/ coffee for €59 for 2 sunday - thursday and you have to try it fantastic. We had a complaint the second night that one of the items on our plate was over seasoned and they dealt with so brillantly and the guy in the the restaurant I think is Andres is worth his weight in gold to the hotel so well handled. I came back refreshed relaxed and satisfied and will be going back. Try the dinner menu you will be happy :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuffyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanKillarney, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2010

I am delighted to read you enjoyed Dinner in our Danu Restaurant. We strived to create a menu that reflected what our guests wanted from a dining experience and thankfully we seemed to have got it right.

We hope to welcome you back again shortly

Best Wishes,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We stayed in the brehon at christmas this year and could not have been more disappoint!it was a gift from our work collegues as we had just got engaged.On entering the second floor we were met with bags of laundery just left in the hall which given it was late in the afternoon we thought a little strange. We then got to our room door to find a tray of dirty glasses obviously from the last occupants.At this point we were just tired and hungry so we went to the bar to eat only to be told they were too busy and it would be over and hour and a half to get food.My boyfriend then mentioned we were guest and was cut off mid sentance by a snappy waiter who told us that would not help us get food quicker...what he wanted to ask was as guests would room service be a better option! That is what we ended up eating in the end.Later that evening we attended a show in the nearby Gleneagle and went into town for drinks,on arriving back to the hotel after 2am we were left outside in the snow for over 20 mins hammering on the door as we were freezing! The next morning when we opened up the curtains we found that the wall above and around the window was completely falling off and had mould growing on it! At checkout we mentioned this to reception who merely said that's always happening!! We were so dissappointed by this hotel and I don't write this review lightly as we now live in the Killarney area but I just felt it did not live up to it's reputation.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sylvye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanKillarney, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2010

Dear Sylvye,

I regret you didn't enjoy your stay with us over Christmas. I would like to address some of the points you raised in your review.

Firstly our Housekeeping porters do constant checks of our bedroom corridors and clear our laundry and room service trays on a very regular basis. We have an extremely diligent Housekeeping management team who ensure that corridors are cleared as swiftly as possible.

The week after Christmas is indeed our busiest week of the year, as there are concerts on each night in the adjacent INEC. Before these concerts our Bar does get very busy as our bar food menu is very popular. Therefore between 6-8pm, a waiting list for tables does become necessary. However we do reserve tables in our restaurant for our residents and also have the full bar menu available for In-room dining.

I am puzzled that you were left waiting outside on returning back to the hotel, as on busy nights we do not lock the door before 3am and even when we do, we only lock the inside door, so that guests can access our large porch. Our door bell was working and connected to the night porter phone, therefore you should not have been kept waiting. I sincerely regret that you were.

We did have a leak from a room that affected 2 rooms underneath that room during that particular week. We got the repairs carried out as swiftly as possible and I thought I had made contact with the guests that had stayed in these rooms, but I regret that I seem not to have spoken with you.

We are very focused on addressing any guest issues and work extremely hard to ensure they do not reoccur. I regret that I did not have the opportunity to speak with you and address the issues you outline above. If you do wish to contact me to discuss these issues, I would be happy to speak with you.

Kind Regards,


Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

This hotel is a true gem, Having stayed before, but only for one night stays, stayed here for three nights for a break away with my partner. Hotel is faultless, on arrival we were upgraded to a superior room, that had two huge windows with beautiful views into Kilarney National Park. Rooms are very well laid out, with seperate dressing area which is great. Big bathroom with seperate bath & shower. Robes & slippers provided what more could one want. oh and not to forget the wifi in the room!! We dined in the hotel restaurant on our first night, food fantastic right through from starters, mains dessert, everything was delicious. (So good that we had to eat here again on our third night). Wine menu also very extent, something for everyone. And the restaurant manger on hand for any help required to chose a wine. Staff excellent so friendly and efficient. Big Choice available for breakfast and very efficiently ran, this can so often be an area hotels fall on but not at the Brehon. We also dined in the bar, which again was fantastic, huge selection and food delicious.
Hotel is in great location, short walk into town and perfectly situated to visit the Kilarney National Park, Torc Waterfall and to tour the Ring of Kerry.
We also visited the Angsana Spa, just the vitality suite, also fabulous, however some of the facilities were closed for maintanence, which is understandable.
Overall I cannot rate this Hotel highly enough, location, amenities, staff, service, food everything was absolutely fantastic. And Kilarney is a great place to visit! Can't wait to return, we are already planning it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanKillarney, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2010

Again I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the food served in both the Bar & Restaurant. Your comments provide great encouragement to our team.


Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.


Kind Regards,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Went to a Gilbert O' Sullivan concert at the Inec and The Brehon is the next Hotel to it.
Could not fault this hotel we have stayed in some good hotels on our travels,but the Brehon is everything you could ask for. Will stay at this hotel again, from arrival to leaving a truly wonderful time was had definitely a memorable stay

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanKillarney, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I hope you enjoyed the show also. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back shortly.

Best Wishes,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the brehon on 24th and 25th of March. It was absolutley beautiful, very clean and comfortable. The staff were very professional but also extremely nice and helpfull. The girls in the restaurant were very good and cheerful, (a nice change from a lot of hotels) and the food was excellent! The bar was good too with friendly barstaff. The rooms were fantastic and upon arrival we were given an upgrade to a superior room with 2 big windows, huge bathroom with a big bath and separate shower. There was a separate dressing area too! A special mention must go to Jill, a great receptionist, very friendly and helpful, she booked us a table at a lovely italian restaurant in town and a taxi to get us there. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Killarney

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KilkennyPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanKillarney, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2010

Thank you for posting a review of your experience at The Brehon. We take great pride in our team here at The Brehon and I am delighted to hear you found our service to be cheerful and friendly.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Brehon in the future.

Best Wishes,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,392 reviews
0.8 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#18 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £98 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing