We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Wonderful Hotel”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Truly Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Stayed here for one night with Kids while going to see Fame the Musical.
Got a beautiful room, really spacious with real beds- not like some camp beds you often get for kids! Every single member of staff in this hotel are just so polite, and actually seem very happy in their jobs. We ate in the bar on our first night and food was delicious and good value, while service was excellent. Kids even met stars of the musical which was a real highlight! Overall a really relaxing enjoyable experience and we are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,650
    397
    100
    29
    23
See reviews for
408
1,166
34
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Stayed in the Brehon for the first time this weekend. Only one disabled space at the front of the hotel, had to be dropped and wait for OH in reception. Check-in speedy and room was as requested, near to lift, yet quiet.

Room was somewhat smaller than I expected and the bed was very close to the wall on one side. Clean and a good comfy bed. Nice to see a seperate shower and bath.

The big down-side was having to queue for breakfast. It was the bank holiday weekendmand perhaps busier than usual, but having to sit in reception and wait for a table was not a good start to the day. No mushrooms in the self-service buffet either ;)

All in all, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarveyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, N. Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2010. Superior room was lovely, quiet and very comfortable, great bathroom so spacious. Booked a meal in the restaurant on the first night, it was so good decided to dine there the other two nights. Breakfasts excellent. Great friendly staff. Pool, Steam Room and Sauna very relaxing, excellent facilitites, again very friendly staff. Really pleased with our visit and would not hesitate to recommend this to our friends. One of the restaurant staff - Carmel - just could not believe her speed and professionalism, perfection in action, such attention to detail, friendly and someone who takes such pride in her work. Had a great stay - many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Travelled to Gleneagle to play with a pitch and putt group. Some of us were upgraded to the Brehon due to large numbers staying at Gleneagle Hotel. Stayed at Gleneagle in April and loved it, but the Brehon is out of this world!! Food, comfort, service-couldn't ask for better, and all difficulties attended to immediately, even though we were only paying for Gleneagle rate! Loved it so much I will be returning soon. Thank you Brehon.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Food was good in the bar and restaurant in the afternoon and evening. Breakfast was not so impressive.
Spa hours a little restrictive, closing at 1900, and fitness area in hotel consists of 1 treadmill and four dumbbells. You can use the leisure centre in the adjacent hotel though.
The pool and spa area were lovely though. Expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Had a really great time such a fab hotel highly reccomend it .Comfortable relaxing you could be anywhere staff were excellent especialy Sebastian on reception such a good manor very helpfull .I hope to be returning soon. Thanks again for everything Susan Corcoran

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexonleggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munster
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2010

My husband and myself stayed here fo the weekend and had a very enjoyable time.The hotel is very welcoming and the staff do all in their power to make our stay a memoable one,The decor is very nice and the rooms are well laid out in so far as there is no noise from the adjoining rooms or corridor traffic ,The well lined curtains make the room cosy and" " black-out" if that is what is required for a good night sleep
We ate in the restaurant each evening and the food and service first class
An all round thumbs up or this hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offalywinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,168 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,304 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing