We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be better!”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Used to be better!”
Reviewed 31 December 2010

I stayed in the Brehon 2-3 years ago and was overwhelmed with the hotel. Returned again last week for one night and was so excited but unfortunately my expectations were disappointing! Water in bathroom sink wasn't working, bed wasn't comfortable and TV in bedroom did not fit with the 'grandure' of the hotel. All in all, disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marriedmidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,647
    396
    100
    29
    22
See reviews for
406
1,164
34
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

One of the most beautiful and wonderful hotels I have ever stayed in. We enjoyed our experience from the moment we entered the building. The staff are second to none. The food is beautiful. The rooms are unreal. The spa is fantastic. I haven't a bad word to say about this place. Its a must see

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Averagejoseph1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanKillarney, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Dear Past Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blarney, Co.Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Had a meal in the restaurant to celebrate my birthday.... The staff were very attentive but not overly so.. The food was absolutely delicious...I had the beef and I almost died and went to heaven upon tasting the first bite.. The decor and ambience of the restaurant is luxurious -contemporary in it's style - very bright and neutral decor .
I would definately go back again and maybe stay next time because when we stayed in the hotel a couple of years ago, we found the rooms to be extremely comfortable and still haven't found a bed to match their beds for comfort...
Only reason we have not returned again is because I find the hotel to be a little more expensive than the Cahernane Hotel across the road which is really nice too.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riffraff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanKillarney, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Dear Past Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Danu Restaurant on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your dining experience with us and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Stayed in the hotel on a deal that gave free dinner with B &B. Firstly the room was not ready when we arrived after 4pm.
While waiting for the room to be prepared we went to the bar, where a member of the bar staff used the brush he was using to sweep the floor to clean down a table.
When we did get our room the TV didn't work and we had to chase the front desk personnel to find out whether we were to change room or get it fixed. In the end the TV did work but no movies were available.
The Dinner was the final straw - the food was terrible and the service appaling, the waitor got the meal wrong and managed to have his thumb stuck in the vegetables!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank opela_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanKillarney, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, 15 December 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. I firstly sincerely apologise that your room wasn't ready on arrival. You should not have been kept waiting and I sincerely regret that you were.

I am concerned regarding your comments on The Brehon Bar. The Brehon Bar consistantly recieves excellent feedback from our guests. Therefore I am extremely concerned regarding your claim that you were served in such a manner. I would be very grateful if you would contact me directly or anonymously through Tripadvisor messaging to discuss your experience further.

I assure you that we at The Brehon are committed to providing the highest standard of service to our guests. Therefore we very much appreciate receiving guest feedback, if our service has fallen anything short of excellent.

Looking forward to hearing from you.


Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
The Brehon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

I travelled to Killarney last Saturday with two friends to go to a Mick Flannery gig in the INEC Acoustic Room. The weather conditions were so bad we got the train down instead of driving, all very relaxing. Arrived at the hotel, we had booked a triple room and were given a Family Suite which was comfortable and spacious with a very nice bathroom. We had lunch in the bar which was very nice and our package also included a two course meal in the bar which we had later on. The food was fine and at the price of €69 B&B including that meal it was excellent value for money. Everyone from the receptionist to the bar staff and waiters could not have been nicer. The gig was excellent next door and after a few drinks and a few dances in the Backstage Bar in the INEC we wandered across the car park to the Brehon and had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent next morning, couldn't have asked for more. All in all it was a great trip and the excellent comfort and hospitality and in these times "value for money" at the Brehon certainly contributed to that! We will be back.......

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelotsCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Myself and my boyfriend availed of a last minute midweek deal in this fabulous hotel. Our room was extremely spacious with a massive bed. The bathroom was so big and luxurious with a lovely round bath in the corner and also a seperate shower too. We booked into the spa in the hotel and used the pool and relaxation facilities. The facial was amazing it started by changing into robes and slippers and then a few mins to relax in the relaxation room (a lowly lit room with comfy chairs,magazines while sipping herbal tea) our therapists then brought us to our rooms and began relaxing us with a lovely facial,neck,arm massage and a full body massage for my boyfriend. Both marked 10/10. The staff were so attentive throughout the hotel and their warm manner really made us feel at home. In particular the bar man in the lounge Arek(polish) was very pleasat despite us keeping him up quite late midweek!! We will definitely be returning to this beautiful hotel sooner rather than later in the new year!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolamarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

There is not much to say, every part of this hotel is a dream! This hotel has been awarded as best 4* Hotel in Ireland and truly is. We loved this place from day one and since then we are visiting Brehon every year. So if you are looking for a fab room, great food, fantastic grounds, first class leisure centre & excellent service - visit Brehon! Well done to excellent management & whole team!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GM1Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,162 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,146 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing