We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the best, cleanest, friendliest hotel I stayed at during my Ireland trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
1 review
“Absolutely the best, cleanest, friendliest hotel I stayed at during my Ireland trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

My friends and I stayed at the Fairview for only one night during a 10 day whirlwind tour of Ireland in March 2011. It was hands-down the best hotel/guesthouse we stayed at during our trip!!! The staff was welcoming and kind, always offering a suggestion about good places to eat or see in Killarney. The rooms were gorgeous and very clean and the atmosphere at the Fairview was tranquil and quaint (it felt more like a 4 star hotel than a guesthouse). And, in terms of location, you couldn't find a more centrally located place to lay your head. We absolutely loved the experience (so much so that we recommended it to other travelers we met along the way) and I would highly recommend this hotel/guesthouse to anyone that is looking for great service, comfort, friendly staff, clean (and large) rooms, all at a very good/affordable price!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah55NewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    285
    66
    46
    48
See reviews for
295
668
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

I give the Fairview high marks. From the time we walked in to when we left. The room was clean. Shower was roomy with great water pressure. Breakfast area was a little tight but the food was good (it was a nice break from always eating continental breakfast). Staff was helpful. Great tour packages linked with the hotel at a good price.

The only downfall was that parking was down the street and the hotel only paid for over night parking. Daily parking was about 3EU.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reeni01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Stayed here for one night and found the hotel to be spotless, all staff we dealt with were friendly and efficient. Hotel is in a perfect location in centre of town and even though it was fully booked it was quiet at night so got a good sleep. Beds are so comfortable and we had everything we needed in our room. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indoorsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

Fab hotel right in the centre. Lovely & clean, great staff & fab breakfast. The rooms were lovely with everthing we needed. Will definately stay there our next stay in Killarney.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angie22Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

This was the best place we stayed at in Ireland during our two week road trip. Perfect location to walk around the charming town, Very nice and clean room. Friendly, helpful staff. Could not ask for more. The only negative would be the parking, There is a stop off in front of the guesthouse to unload and check in but you need to drive about 100 m to park in the council car park [but it ends up only costing 1 Euro]. Really not too inconvenient. Don't let it put you off staying here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johncog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

stayed here with my friend last night, we were in Killarney for a concert, the manager James was so helpful, arranged taxi's for us, our room was fabulous so comfortable, this hotel is situated in the heart of killarney, walking distance to all the shops and nightlife, the guest house is extremely clean and very well run, i would recommend it for a romantic break, trip with friends or family, ideal for all types. the guest house is very quiet we were not subjected to any noises. the breakfast was absolutely lovely, and the staff were so well presented and friendly. I would recommend this hotel highly and will most definitely be using it for all my future trips to Killarney

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamperlimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

We selected the Fairview for its location, amenities and discount off season price. I definitely feel like we got a bargain-- we stayed in a jr suite and paid a very reasonable price. The room was quite clean and attractive. It wasn't as charming as I would have hoped but the furnishings were nice and the bathroom was very luxurious.
In reading the other reviews we knew to expect a possible service problem, we can certainly see what the complaints were about with regard to the main front desk person. Each of our inquiries were met with very curt replies. It wasn't enough to bother us but if you are someone looking for a nice chat and lots of advice about what to see, the service may bother you.
The breakfasts were good, though I wouldn't consider them great. And a final nitpicky thing-- the "fireplace" in the jr suite is one of those electric flickering flame things that don't put out heat. Nice to look at but not the cozy fireplace we imagined.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rkf211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing