We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, pity about the owner” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, pity about the owner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Nice place but no allocated parking. Rooms nice. A lot of noise at night and early morning. Be sure and ask for a room not overlooking the nosiy street. Excellant breakfast. Owner seemed more interested in making money than tourist needs.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caterpillar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    285
    66
    47
    49
See reviews for
296
670
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding Ridge, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

This hotel truly is a gem! We loved every minute of our stay. The most fantastic breakfast!! A very special place.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

I recently stayed at The Fairview with my husband and 2 teenage children. The place is clean and a good location. The staff could have been more aware of little things to make the place look less neglected. Closet doors had been left open in the sitting area to expose many papers, books and stereo equipment that were stored. Also, there was a door in the main hallway which exposed a service refrigerator upon walking in to the main lobby. The music that was piped into the hallways was a bit too loud and blaring. Breakfast was time consuming as it appeared the only staff member was overwhelmed until the other 2 workers showed up for work, very obviously late. All in all it was a good price for the accomodations we received. I don't think I would return unless I couldn't find anything else in this price-range.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flybye0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Stayed at the fairview over Easter wknd, very nice and modern superior b&b, staff were lovely especially a nice gentleman serving breakfast, rooms are spacious & luxurious, but there is an aspect of noise in the building, Walls are not very thick and could hear crying children very early in the morning. Very central though and staff are very helpful, bit overpriced for b&b but overall I would recommend

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasperdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Very friendly and great beds. We were 3 couples, so in 3 rooms, all rooms were lovely (though the spa did not work in one of the rooms and was an additional fee to have this). Location was great, bar next door. car parking was not terrific but was no worse than other places that did not have on site parking. Breakfast was terrific and great service despite the obvious busy time staff were having.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbruce58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caseville, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

Everything you could want....great central location, luxury accommodations, scrumptous food, private/secure car park, elevator, WiFi, right price, friendly top notch hosts --James and Tommy!

Room Tip: our room 2nd floor, street view!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dalpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

Very affordable - very nice common areas and rooms. Very nicely decorated. Absolutely wonderful breakfast with a very dear man who really knows how provide service. Wonderful meal cooked to order and breakfast was included in the room. Great location - only a few blocks walk to all the action with the pubs, etc. We arrived around 6 pm or so - the staff at that time (think maybe the owner?) did seem tired and not too enthusiastic or talkative but maybe he had just had a long day. There are a few spaces in the front of the hotel to unload luggage and then after that there is free parking in a parking lot down the street about a block. While the parking lot was convenient, I had been told by the hotel personnel before our arrival that free parking was provided. After I parked the car, there were no parking attendants and I saw signs posted that no overnight parking was allowed. That concerned me as I didn't want my rental car towed away. When I expressed my concerns to the hotel personnel (owner?), he said that they have an arrangement with the parking lot. He said I would not be towed but that if I received a ticket on my car to present it to him and he would take care of it (ie I would not have to pay it). Everything turned out fine, my car was not towed and I didn't get a ticket but I think I would have felt better about it if the hotel provided some kind of parking pass to post in my car. In the morning when checking out, the same man who provided service for the breakfast also handled checking out guests. While he handled it efficiently and pleasantly, he did seem very rushed as he had many responsibilities with that and breakfast service. Other than that, no complaints. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcwoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing