We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2011

It's a wonderful place, The Fairview is more like a 5 Star hotel than a guest house. The rooms are beautiful and the food is excellent. Central location.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Averagejoseph1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,491)
There are newer reviews for The Fairview
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

Upon checking in we were offered a room upgrade at no extra cost. We booked for two nights as the hotel had no availability for the 3rd night (hardly surprising for a Friday night and when the annual Rally of the Lakes was in town).
The owner informed us that they had a cancellation on our room and we could extend our stay for a third night at the same rate and without having to move rooms, which we promptly did.
The room had a huge bed and a single plus a jacuzzi bath, furnished to a very high standard.
The breakfast is exceptional value.
The only critcism is not that of the hotel but that of other guests who were outside in the corridor smoking and shouting at 4.30am!!! We couldn't complain as hardly the hotels fault and we needed to checkout at 6.30am.

Would certainly stay there again.

Make sure you eat at The Vanilla Pod, the best meal in town but beware restaurants cose at 9pm strangely enough...

Room Tip: Ask for the Penthouse or one with a jacuzzi bath
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorgeousgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We were looking for a B & B when we were told of this price, had first driven past it cos it 'looked' too expensive!! In reality, probably the same price or maybe a few euros dearer than B & B's in the area, but we were so impressed with the price and location we decided to stay 2 nights.
Loved the fact that it was so central. The room was gorgeous, loved overlooking the street as I'm used to street noise.
Could not fault it. The owner was very polite and helpful, and the staff especially in the dining room were VERY professional.
Thankyou so much for an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank 60_elcamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Nice place but no allocated parking. Rooms nice. A lot of noise at night and early morning. Be sure and ask for a room not overlooking the nosiy street. Excellant breakfast. Owner seemed more interested in making money than tourist needs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caterpillar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

This hotel truly is a gem! We loved every minute of our stay. The most fantastic breakfast!! A very special place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I recently stayed at The Fairview with my husband and 2 teenage children. The place is clean and a good location. The staff could have been more aware of little things to make the place look less neglected. Closet doors had been left open in the sitting area to expose many papers, books and stereo equipment that were stored. Also, there was a door in the main hallway which exposed a service refrigerator upon walking in to the main lobby. The music that was piped into the hallways was a bit too loud and blaring. Breakfast was time consuming as it appeared the only staff member was overwhelmed until the other 2 workers showed up for work, very obviously late. All in all it was a good price for the accomodations we received. I don't think I would return unless I couldn't find anything else in this price-range.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flybye0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Stayed at the fairview over Easter wknd, very nice and modern superior b&b, staff were lovely especially a nice gentleman serving breakfast, rooms are spacious & luxurious, but there is an aspect of noise in the building, Walls are not very thick and could hear crying children very early in the morning. Very central though and staff are very helpful, bit overpriced for b&b but overall I would recommend

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasperdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,428 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,569 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,237 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £73 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing