We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spent a week in Ireland and chose the Fairview for our nights stay in Killarney. The accomadations were perfect along with the freindly faces.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acekabase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    291
    68
    47
    51
See reviews for
309
683
43
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. We spent one night in the Fairview building and one night a few yards up the road in their "extension" - the Copper Kettle. The staff was extremely helpful throughout our stay and the breakfast each morning was great. We had booked two nights in the Townhouse Superior, but when we arrived we found out they had a maintenance issue with the jacuazzi and wouldn't be able to stay in the room the first night - not to worry, they had moved us to one of the nicer rooms in the main hotel (would have been twice as much as the Townhouse Superior) which also include a jacuzzi tub. The next day, after a great day of driving the Ring of Kerry, they moved us to the Townhouse Superior room and everything was great there as well. The location is great - within a few minutes walk of some great pubs and restaurants - but the locaation is removed just enough from the city centre to feel a little slower paced.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Hi hugginsw,

It seems like you experienced all the positive aspects of a stay in both the Fairview and the Copper Kettle. We were pleased to be able to offer you an executive room in the Fairview when we had the problem with the Jacuzzi in the Copper Kettle and thank you for being so understanding. We pride ourselves on offering our guests a very caring personal experience and your comments have certainly endorsed that our staff are achieving that.

If you are in Killarney again, we would be delighted to welcome you to either of our properties.

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed it. Great location just off the main street, able to walk to everything from pubs (which you have many to choose from), shops and great restaurants. Even though its listed as a B&B it felt more like a nice cosy feel. Clean, good bathrooms, large rooms and helpful staff. Beds extremely comfortable.
Cons: flat hard pillows and thin walls. The restaurant in the B&B was not open (only open in high season) which was not advertised on the website. If we visited Killarney again would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room we stayed in was on Level 1 near the lift had a birds nest outside with the birds 'chirping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleymarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Hi harleymarg,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Fairview in Killarney. We are delighted to know that you would stay with us again when next in Killarney. As you rightly point out our location is perfect - town center, just a short walk from pubs, shops and restaurants. Our Fifth Season Restaurant is open for Breakfast on a daily basis and we won the AA Breakfast Award in 2011. We are very pleased that you found the Fairview comfy as we try to give a home from home feel to our guests.

Thanks again,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

WOW what a stunning little gem in the heart of Killarney. We visited for our honeymoon in May 2012, where we arrived to a warm welcome, excellent guest services, and a breakfast fit for a king.
we stayed in a selection of rooms durning our stay and heres the verdict!.....
The penthouse suite is excellent with its extra large double jaccuzi tub and four poster bed!
The Mini suite is just as tastfully decorated and the double executive room also boasting pure luxury.
This Guesthouse is a must for anybody who wants to have a luxury expierience. All staff showing a real team effort in making every aspect of your stay truely exceptional. A huge thank you to all.
This guesthouse is certainly far more luxurious than any hotel I have every worked or stayed in, which would be a lot!
Very Highly recommended!!!!!!

Room Tip: Penthouse is a must for at least one night, but every room is uniquely decorated that adds character...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Hi Nicola R

Your endorsement of your stay at the Fairview was superb and you outlined the many reasons why people choose the Fairview for their stay in Killarney. It is indeed a gem in the heart of Killarney and we offer our guests a luxury experience. Our Penthouse and the double jacuzzi bath is one of the most requested rooms in the house. Each room in the property is individually designed and decorated to offer a different experience. We won the 2011 AA Breakfast Award and are delighted that you enjoyed our menu options.

Be assured that if you are back in Killarney again we would be delighted to welcome you to the Fairview.

best regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We enjoyed this hotel so much! We were upgraded to a beautiful room, spacious and immaculate.
The location is ideal, a short walk from the train station. The proprietor arranged our tours of Ring of Kerry and Dingle; we were picked up at the hotel. I was concerned about the heat being insufficient, but this was taken care of immediately. The owner even asked the next day if we were warm enough. Breakfast was ample and good. I hope to stay at The Fairview again in the near future. Killarney has great music, and it is a friendly community.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkcofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Hi nkcofam

Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay in Killarney. We try to make our guests lives simple by undertaking the booking of local tours on their behalf. As the tours pick you up at the Fairview it really makes touring easy. You mention our location and this is really our greatest asset - we are the best located property in town, close to bus and rail stations and a short stroll to shops, pubs and restaurants. There are Irish music evenings each night and you can walk to the venues from the Fairview.

When you are next back in Killarney we would be delighted to welcome you again to the Fairview.

with best regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We are not 5 star hotel people, preferring the intimacy of smaller establishments. The Fairview was the perfect place for us. We liked the cozy feel and warm atmosphere, yet there was an elegance to it. The location was in the heart of town. The rooms were well appointed with nice touches. It had a wide breakfast selection for a guesthouse and the staff was incredibly attentive. I felt the owner went the "extra mile" to make us feel comfortable. We have been to Ireland several times and in my estimation few places measure up to the Fairview. I have a new "go to" place while visiting Killarney.

Kathy W

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Hi Kathy,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Killarney and the Fairview. The Fairview is a family run property and we pride ourselves on providing a warm intimate atmosphere for our guests. We have invested heavily in giving each bedroom its own unique qualities and are pleased you found these to your liking. Our breakfast has won the AA Breakfast Award in 2011 and we are continuously working on creating new and innovative menu options to tempt our guests. Thank you for recognising that we try to go that extra mile for our guests and know that if your are back in Killarney a warm welcome awaits at the Fairview.

regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2012

On our honeymoon, we stayed in the penthouse for two nights and it was grand! Living space was luxurious and plush - fireplace, TV, sofa, balcony with great view of the city and stunning sunset (see pic). The bathroom was awesome! Jacuzzi tub for two was just what we needed after round of golf, TV, rain shower head, plush robes. Very convenient location within the city, we were able to unload luggage at entrance, park the car just up the street, and walk anywhere in the city from the hotel. It was also handy having a cleaners two doors down the street. The staff were lovely, and the breakfast was delightful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Hi Karen,

Thank you so much for writing such a positive review of your honeymoon stay in the Penthouse. The Penthouse is our most sought after suite in the Fairview and for all the reasons you outline. The location of the Fairview is wonderful and allows guests to explore the town on foot. Our parking is the most reasonable in town at just 3euro per 24 hours and just 50 yards from the front door. We know you had a great time and enjoyed having you stay with us. We wish you both well in your life together and hope we can welcome you back to Killarney in the not too distant future.

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,109 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,353 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing