We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 2013 Break”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin City, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“October 2013 Break”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Hi

We returned to Killarney, We had a superb time as always the staff are great, We are ging to miss Bart, A big thank you for going beyond your duties to make our stay memorable, We kept on missing each other to say see you soon rather than goodbye so we caught up with you by phone to wish him all the best. Bart is a kind person gentle , and his experience is fab we have no doubt your new employer will be very delighted to have you just as James has been James & Les & all the staff like us feel sad you had to look after life abroad.

Our stay in the Fairview and we had researched other accomadation and felt the Fairview guest house is still the best value in town,

As we have mentioned in previous reviews full marks & thank you all for your time and service.

See you soon

Ma T

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the Fairview are quiet if that is what you like, Rooms in the front you have lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinangela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    291
    68
    47
    51
See reviews for
309
685
43
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel was so warm, comfortable and luxurious. We opted to upgrade our room to a suite and we were delighted with our stay. The ice machine on the floor was a lovely addition. The central location of the hotel was second to none and the staff were more than helpful in terms of help with restaurant recommendations and touristing around the countryside.
I cannot speak highly enough of this accommodation. Will definitely be returning soon!
Lovely breakfast and homely feel to the place . We didn't want to leave! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimear D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My children and I recently stayed at the Fairview for three nights and had such a lovely time. The staff were so friendly, welcoming, and accommodating and we will hopefully be back again soon. Thanks for a great vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay, sampled a few in Killarney over the years, all been good but this one was extra special even though no parking facilities on site. Good breakfast and room was 5 star!! We will be back that's for sure. Diols hymn fair I chi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Planned on staying four nights as I was in the area for a running competition and it's much easier to stay in one place than move from hotel to hotel. The evening I arrived the wireless internet would not work in my room and had to sit in the lobby area while trying to communicate with those back home via video chat, not very private to say the least. Room was not swept as previous guests receipts and wrappers were laying on floor near bed. Bathroom counters were not wiped down and very dusty on shelf behind toilet, spots of mildew in tub along with other guests hair that I wiped away before using. Bed not so comfortable. Room was a bit stuffy so left a window open overnight (as happens very often in Ireland) only to be awoke at 5 a.m. by the staff preparing breakfast in the kitchen below me. They too must have had their window open ...loud voices and presumably every pot and pan in the kitchen was clanked. Could hear even with it closed. As I mentioned, was in the area for a race and this was unacceptable as that and my jet lag required good sleep. When I attempted to check out I was advised that the cancellation policy was one of 72 hours and I would be responsible for the rest of the charges of my reservation. While I was retrieving my bags to leave I attempted to make a few phones calls only to find that there was no service in my room. As I officially checked out, bags packed and by my side, only then was I offered a different room. Rather last minute but I guess I should lower my expectation to at least they tried. I was refunded two of my nights charges but not the third which I still do not agree with and have had to pursue through my credit card company. As I mentioned in the title, disappointed to say the least as I have had many other lovely stays in Ireland and intend to have many more, just not here.

Room Tip: Ask and avoid the rooms above the kitchen/dining area...bring a dust cloth and a sponge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e_gal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doolin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My family and I have just returned from a truly wonderful stay at this hotel, so centrally located, extremely comfortable and wonderful staff to take care of your every need,

We brought our dog along with us and it was so nice to have him stay with us at the hotel,

I highly recommend the Fairview for a family break in Killarney,
Thank you so much,
Susan and Paul and Family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockchic049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just back from an eight night stay at the FAIRVIEW, KILLARNEY. What a superb boutique bed and breakfast, its more like a five star Hotel. James, Shelley and their wonderful staff cant do enough for you. Rooms are superb and breakfast to die for. The Fairview is close to all amenities. I cannot wait to return next year.

Room Tip: Choose corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilamarydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,356 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing