We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid Stay, Horrid Staff”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

When we checked in we were shown an executive room in an effort to entice us to upgrade our superior room which we declined. We had been traveling all day and left right after check in to get dinner. Upon return we noticed that our room smelled of cigarette smoke and asked to change rooms. We were told that there were none available and the night manager argued with us stating that it was impossible that we smelled smoke as the hotel had a no smoking policy. She offered to come up to check it herself but also said she was a smoker so that was a ridiculous offer. And it makes me wonder where she smokes while on duty at night if their non-smoking policy is so strict? It was late at that point so we stayed the night here anyway with the window open which was a disaster as the hotel faces a busy street so we got no sleep. Breakfast was a fiasco. The dining room is far too small to accommodate the guests who literally bump chairs and elbows The dining room attendant was very kind but she was the only one to take all the orders and bring coffee and food. I would suggest hiring another person to help but there literally would not have been enough room for one more person to work. When we checked out the day manager inquired about our early checkout. He offered several reasons why the room may have smelled like smoke and said that the hotel had been fully booked the night before but gave some strange nonsensical story about how their website shows they have rooms available even when they are fully booked in case someone wants to change their room category. The only good thing I can say is that the location of the hotel is excellent and our handicapped (not requested and not user friendly for tall people) bathroom seemed to have a heated floor. We went to the International Hotel and had a wonderful stay. I would recommend booking there over the Fairview as the accommodation and staff were far better for the same rate.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WorldTravelers003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,491)
There are newer reviews for The Fairview
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

A friend of mine booked this hotel for me. It was an excellent joice. The hotel is very central. The double room on the second floor was perfect and had a very nice bathroom. I loved the cosy ambience of the hotel in particular the breakfast room. The breakfast they served was just perfect. I would stay there anytime again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend booked a night in the excellent Fairview as a Christmas get away for a night and it was brilliant. Great value for money and the staff couldn't do enough for us. I will definitely stay here again. Right in the heart of Killarney, all the main pubs and shops are just 2-5 min walk away.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ccouni01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed in the penthouse for a special treat for our anniversary. The room was huge with a romantic four-poster bed and a fireplace. The jacuzzi bath was fabulous. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. We felt it was great value and the location was so central.

Room Tip: The penthouse is amazing for a special occasion.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueOM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed in the Fairview hotel a couple of weeks ago. And wow the hotel is beautiful and a brilliant location also all the staff are very friendly and so accommodating.I myself booked the hotel and on the week of going to the fairview my partner changed our room and order champagne and strawberries the staff were so accommodating toward the change especially at their busy time of the year. The Fairview made my engagement weekend special and I would highly recommend the hotel for anyone to stay. The value for money is brilliant also

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blaurenhcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A very kind welcome, everything well organized, a pleasant bar and restaurant. The Room are large and comfortable, and overall a very calm place to have a rest. Well suited in the town, allowing for a walk through the city center.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Francois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This was the worst hotel experience we had while traveling Ireland.

When we checked into the hotel, we were very excited. Our room was spacious and clean and the hotel was in a perfect location. At check in they told us that we needed our key cards to get into the hotel at night because no one was at the front desk. They did not mention that in case we needed anything there was a night porter on duty.

The first night we were there was beyond awful. We got back to our room around 11:30 or 12am and could hear the people next door. At first we didn't mind as we figured they were winding down as well. Then as we prepared to go to bed they started getting louder and we could tell at this point that it was about 3 or 4 teens in the room. We knocked on the wall and they grew quiet. Cut to 2 hours later and we were woken to loud voices in the room next to us. Then to make matters worse they were so drunk we could hear them repeatedly throwing up and to top it off we could smell cigarette smoke even though the rooms were non-smoking. This continued for THREE HOURS and we could not get ANY sleep. We were literally zombies the next day.

So of course, we complain the next day when there is a manager back at the front desk. All they say to us is "it's a shame you didn't call the night porter. We told you about him at check in. It's really a shame" Um, no you didn't. In fact, we heard someone else complaining about the same room so how is it that neither of us knew about said "night porter?" They then tell us that those people in that room are checking out that day so it will be better. We feel a little better but make it through the day in a zombie like state since we had no sleep.

Cut to night time number 2.

We are in bed about to fall asleep. My husband has a really early tee time the next day so he really needed to get some rest so he could get up and make it to the course on time. At about midnight we hear a family lugging all of their kids and stuff up the stairs to the penthouse. Which of course, is right above our room. We proceed to hear them ALL NIGHT LONG. Babies crying, mom soothing them, parents walking back and forth, back and forth. So once again, a very poor night's sleep.

It's such a bummer because I really wanted to like this place, but when we left Killarney feeling horrible from lack of sleep I knew I would never go back. This bad experience not only made Killarney less enjoyable but we felt like for the rest of our time in Ireland we couldn't catch up on the sleep we had lost there.

Room Tip: Stay away from the one below the penthouse!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,428 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,569 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,236 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £73 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing