We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little B&B in the center of the city”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here with my wife for 3 nights in late March/early April 2014. The host (Anne?) was lovely welcoming us. Room spacious and super clean. Parking is within a stone's throw and there are plenty of choices in terms of restaurants, convenience stores. It is important because after spending a day driving (around Kerry or other areas) the last thing I wanted to do is to get behind the wheels. And the quality of the breakfast is just like the ones at Powerscourt Hotel (formerly Ritz Carlton) in Wicklow...we are spoiled.

I only have two concerns:
1) Internet is kinda slow in our room (3rd floor)
2) Limited TV channels

By the way there's a laundry place 50m from the B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lawrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were greeted immediately upon arrival and given our choice of room as they were not booked when we arrived. Very helpful on sites to see and restaurants/pubs advice. Added to our stay tremendously. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betrayed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here last Wednesday night and what a find.The guesthouse is a five star property.
Bang in the centre of the town with great car parking options beside the property.
Check in was quick and we were upgraded to a junior suite when we asked for a nice quiet room.
The rooms are of high quailty standard,lovely furniture,quirky linen cutains and cushions.
Flat screen tv with free movie channels,sky sports ect.
The bathrooms had a jacuzzie bath,power shower and was spotless.
The bed was great I thought I would never get out of it and I had one of the best nights sleeps ever(no alcohol involved)
Breakfast was super and a big thank you to all the staff who were very welcoming and professional.
The room rate was good and we never felt like we were getting ripped off in Killarney as the whole experience was positive well done to Killarney.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the fairview saturday with my boyfriend . The woman at the desk updated us to the junior suite which was kind of her. It is such a beautiful guest house . Stayed in lots of hotels in killarney and this place beats most of them . Staff are very friendly. Highly reccomend it. Would defiently return

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mackyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

This picturesque boutique hotel is excellently located to the city center and transportation. Our room had a stylishly modern decor. The beds in our room were comfortable and the ensuite bathrooms are modern. The staff are very friendly and helpful with ready recommendations for restaurant and touring ideas. Many thanks to Ann and the Fairview for the warm welcome and great hospitality!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LisaMarieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Can't rate this guest house high enough whenever we visit Killarney we stay here!! Arrived late on Saturday night to a great welcome! We were upgraded to the penthouse for a little extra!! Wow what an amazing experience a with a large four post bed, large jacuzzi. Great service the staff are really friendly and the breakfast was lovely!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eoin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Fairview for two nights at the end of March. We arrived to a lovely warm welcome from the owner of the hotel. We had booked a deluxe double bedroom but were offered a junior suite (with jacuzzi bath and king bed) for an extra 20 euros per person per night. We thought it was a bargain and went with the upgrade.

The junior suite was great, well decorated and furnished and very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and had a jacuzzi bath and large shower.

The breakfast was excellent, a good choice on the hot food menu. I can thoroughly recommend the full Irish breakfast.

All staff we spoke to were very pleasant and welcoming. Overall, we had a fantastic stay and would definitely return to The Fairview.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NN_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,355 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,447 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,589 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £68 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing