We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice! Recommend”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice! Recommend”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just recently spent 2 nights at the Fairview and we couldn't have picked a better spot. The staff was very friendly. Upon arrival the offered us an upgrade to our room at a cost. We decided against the upgrade, but they upgraded us anyway at no cost. The view from the hotel was nice in that you could see what was going on on the street downtown. The hotel location is perfect for a walk into town in the evening for dinner or shopping and the breakfast down in the small dining room was very good. I would certainly recommend The Fairview.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC_2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    291
    68
    47
    51
See reviews for
309
683
43
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Good basic 4 star hotel. Decor modern and mixed with some mock antique effect bits and in plenty but it works really well and is very interesting. Centrally based for the town. Rooms large & clean with usual toiletries in bathroom. Our shower though was either a fierce jet or a limp spray despite numerous attempts to get it right. Oh well! Tea, coffee facilities basic but fine for a couple of nights. Huge ice maker on landing but no mini bar in room!! Choice of breakfast foods is good but I think if u eat early your food is nicer. I felt mine ( apart from the eggs) had been hot holding for a while; likewise the toast! Lots of tea & coffee.
Very helpful staff but remember, as we were reminded , that this is Eire & hurrying is not on the agenda! We found that with timings, call backs & taxis in the area. Note to selves..... Must learn to relax or pre-empt my timings for 20 minutes earlier!
Look for deals as quite expensive otherwise. Popular hotel though & fully booked.
Good weekend fun !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginaandjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I just recently spent 2 nights at the Fairview and we couldn't have picked a better spot. The staff was so very friendly and they offered us an upgrade from our original booking and we took it and had a lovely corner room in the front of the hotel. I loved the view. The hotel location is perfect for a walk into town in the evening for dinner or shopping and the breakfast down in the small dining room was a mixture of Irish and English. I would certainly recommend The Fairview.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattylee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
277 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in the Fairview for one night (unfortunately - wished it had been more). The hotel was very clean with large beautifully furnished rooms. They had air conditioning, something not that common in Ireland, AND a top sheet to go along with the duvet. Most hotels today only give you a duvet so you're either too hot with it on, or too cool without any covers. The room included a great walk-in shower along with a Jacuzzi bathtub. There was a desk in the room, two chairs with a small table and nice size TV - perfect! The hotel is located close walking distance to city centre area with parking just up the street. The free breakfast offered some of the best selections we've had. We're use to staying at the Hilton, and the Fairview was just as nice if not better. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the street / intersection and we were not bothered by street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eatsleeptour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The staff was wonderful. Room was great and overlooked the front of the hotel. The bathtub was a jacuzzi. This was great after a long day of hiking in the Kilarney National Forest. Parking was relatively close and cheap at 3 Euro per day.

One issue would be is the matresses seemed bit old and used.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days as one of our stops during our honeymoon. We really loved our stay here. The staff was extremely friendly. Parking was free overnight if you park after 6 pm and leave before 9 am. Otherwise it was 3 euro per day, which was the most affordable parking situation in comparison to other hotels we stayed in during our trip. The room was a great size and very clean. Breakfast was delicious (especially the pancakes/crepes), however the breakfast room is small in space, so we recommend you arrive early so you don't have to wait. The location is great. We were provided with larger maps of both the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula which were very helpful as we did a self drive tour of both (highly recommend). The only dislike was that we placed the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door handle and the cleaning crew overlooked the sign and still made their way into our room each day. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckydean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had booked the Penthouse suite and were very pleased. Upon arrival the lady at the reception immediately recommended us some trips. The suite was really nice and very clean. I think it was the first hotel ever where the shower didn't leak at all and there were no dirty silicones. Plenty of towels, soap and shampoo. Wifi worked perfectly.
At breakfast you had to order what you wanted:omelette, bacon, fish, pancakes. There were also ceraels, toast and yoghurt.
Parking space was just nearby for only 3€ a day. But as we did a lot of daytrips, it was mostly a short period we had to pay for and we only paid 0,60€ a day.
City center and a small supermarket are just around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,109 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,353 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing