We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the center of town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in the center of town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very nice experience, beautiful room, nice reception, OK breakfast, excellent location, nice decor. Very helpful stuff, small breakfast area. Close to town center but not too close. Our best experience in Ireland.

Room Tip: If possible ask for "upgraded" room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moomav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    286
    66
    47
    49
See reviews for
298
675
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great location and fabulous room with big bathroom. It is in the same center of the city, but also close to the railways station which makes easier the traveling from town to town. I have to mention the staff, and especially the lady that works at the reception, which were great, always taking care of our needs. Thanx so much for that. For instance, we needed an adapter for our phone, camera and tablet chargers and the gave it to us without any problem. Also, as we had to check out very early, the lady has packed for us some food and sweets :) It was so considerate gesture with the guests! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Didn't know what to expect as booked hotel on line through Booking.com. Wasn't overly concerned at time of booking because price was good and we were just passing through. Our room was very nice. Large size, wooden floors and nicely decorated. Great breakfast in the morning. Our only regret was that we didn't plan to spend more nights at this hotel and in Killarney.

Would highly recommend this hotel and would plan to spend 2 or 3 nights next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pashita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Britain, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently booked 2 rooms at the Fairview for a two night stay. The location was perfect: it is within walking distance to the train & center of Killarney, but away from the noise of the pubs. Our rooms were on the first floor in the back and we each had a private seating area outside. I was leery about not staying upstairs, but we felt like we had our own little wing in the hotel. I did upgrade one of the rooms to a jacuzzi bath. Looking back, I don't think I would opt for this as we were enjoying Killarney too much to make use of it, so we did not get our money's worth with that. The one issue that did arise with staying on the 1st floor is that you can hear the doorbell & it is VERY loud! Our first night there I thought it was a fire alarm. They lock the front doors after a certain time (10pm or 11pm, I think). After that, guests must use their room card to get enter. I do like that because it is more secure & they do explain this at check-in. Apparently, on our first night's stay, there were several people who could not find the slot for the card & they needed to ring the doorbell. When this continued to happen a few more times, I went to the front desk to complain (we had a very early wake-up for a previously booked tour), and the man told me the people were coming home from the pubs. (too intoxicated to read perhaps?) After that, no one rang the bell; perhaps he was watching the door? The next day we were offered to have our rooms moved to an upper floor, but decided against it (my husband did not want to hear the doors banging of those coming in late). Thankfully this did not happen the second night. The other issue we encountered was on check-in. My credit card was charged in US dollars as opposed to euros, which cost me more money (tip: always opt to charge in euros, it is usually cheaper). The person who ran the card did not realize this, and therefore did not ask how I wanted it charged. When I brought it to their attention, they were kind enough to refund the difference to me even though they were not the ones to receive the extra conversion fee. I must say their customer service is excellent. While there were two issues we encountered, they were prompt in offering a solution to keep their guests happy! The breakfast offered a great selection & was delicious. They also made arrangements to have it open a little early so we would be able to eat before our early tour. Again, excellent customer service! The hotel itself is very quaint & beautifully appointed. Our rooms were a nice size, very clean and the beds were comfortable.The bathrooms were also very clean, and we were provided with plenty of towels. The dining area & lobby were also lovely. I would definitely stay at the Fairview if we are lucky enough to return to Killarney. I only wrote about our two issues to provide tips when travelling. I researched many of the hotels in Killarney center. The Fairview offered the best price and the best location!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Fairview has been highly recommended on Tripadvisor and it did not disappoint. The location is convenient for all the amenities of the town and has the advantage of free overnight parking. All the staff were very welcoming. Our room was clean, had a huge comfy bed and everything you needed in a bathroom with fresh towels supplied each day. The free wifi and room safe were much appreciated. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were replenished daily. Breakfast consisted of a buffet for cereals, fruit, fruit juices and yoghurt and then a wide menu to choose from to suit all residents requirements. We managed to cover 750 miles of fantastic scenery and sights and could not think of anywhere else that we would have preferred to stay than The Fairview.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieMinshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our group just left the Fairview, what lovely rooms, beautiful food and super friendly service, couldn't recommend this accomodation enough! Really helpful travel advice provided by hospitality staff. This hotel was excellent value for money, we experienced excellent service, highly recommended! Room 207 is super value

Room Tip: Suite at 207 was luxury at the price, ask for deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriam154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just recently spent 2 nights at the Fairview and we couldn't have picked a better spot. The staff was very friendly. Upon arrival the offered us an upgrade to our room at a cost. We decided against the upgrade, but they upgraded us anyway at no cost. The view from the hotel was nice in that you could see what was going on on the street downtown. The hotel location is perfect for a walk into town in the evening for dinner or shopping and the breakfast down in the small dining room was very good. I would certainly recommend The Fairview.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC_2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing