We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable boutique guesthouse”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable boutique guesthouse”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The Fairview is a boutique hotel in the heart of Killarney which is moderately priced. The rooms are comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was terrific and there was free parking and wifi. Centrally located. Would stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    293
    70
    47
    52
See reviews for
318
689
43
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Quaint hotel just off the main drag. Quality decor, beautiful old world style. Easy to navigate stairwell, with center lift as well. Family room slept all 4 of us comfortably, our girls 6,8 each had their own bed. Comfortable beds soft linens, and a comfy couch. No AC, but it's Ireland, open windows was fine. But close it around midnight as at 3am when the bars close folks voices carry on the street below, but by no means a rowdy crowd. Breakfast was good, but that area was a bit cramped when full. However the town is full of places to eat.
The bathroom was plenty big, ours had the jacuzzi tub. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. One if a few hotels where you can pull your car up to unload, parking is off site but very close. We actually walked from the train station, with luggage, about a 5 min walk, very close.

They even had a nice machine, something we usually don't see in Europe. Only thing my wife suggest to the management is a mini fridge for the family rooms to keep milk or some small bits fir the kids. Overall amazing stay, would stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was part of our Irish tour from O'Sheas of Kerry. It is located close to the heart of Killarney. Staff is friendly, place is clean and quaint. My wife and I had stayed here in 2006 and now we were here with four nieces. Both times were excellent visits. We had wine in the afternoon in the front meeting room before dinner. Breakfast was included in our stay. Good selection of fruit, juice and breakfast items. I recommend this place highly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank flsurfbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okatie, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay. Warm, professional staff. Huge room. Full length mirror. Bathroom with jacuzzi tub and shower with great water pressure. Blow dryer in drawer overheated but manager brought me a much better one to use! Huge breakfast with eggs to order and gluten free bread. Walk to adorable town with great pubs and shopping. Great stay!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank navigators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 1 night here during what was considered a heat wave. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated but without air conditioning were stifling hot. The windows hardly opened at all so we could not get any air flow. Our bed was small with a footboard so anyone 6 ft or taller could not fit. Location was good, not great. Parking was confusing to find since it was a few blocks away. Breakfast was good and the staff was all helpful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 6inourfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I booked this hotel since it has some of the most consistently positive reviews of any Killarney property, but was shocked to find a functional but ordinary property. No fridge, poor wifi, no AC. Loud, hotter in rooms than outside, no views - situated next to the historic liquor store of Killarney, perhaps that was best. I will grant that it is close to Killarney's lively if kitschy pub scene. If you want to see the real Ireland, go literally anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Evan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just returned from our first visit to Ireland. This hotel is a jewel - the location is terrific and the rooms are beautiful.The breakfast is fantastic, and the staff was accommodating as my husband made multiple changes to the listed breakfast options. Lovely hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,165 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,387 reviews
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,528 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing