We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive room with jacuzzi”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Torfaen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Executive room with jacuzzi”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We were a late arrival and directed here by the Tourist Office. Lovely place to stay-we were quoted 45 Euros per person for a standard room but were talked into the Executive suite with jacuzzi for 50 Euros each. This also included the full Irish breakfast . The room was large with full tea and coffee making facilities and ice bucket. The bathroom with jacuzzi was a great experiece-it'll soon sort out any aches and pains. Location is fine -plenty of shops and pubs within a stone's throw. No parking but there is a public card park 2 minutes up the road wih low charges.
We did eat in the restaurant but their interpretation of a 4 course meal is not mine-the 4th course was tea or coffee !!! Still the food was fine.
I am mindful to say that Ireland is very expensive-we went last year and all B&Bs seemed to be 35 Euros a piece now everything is 45 Euros each and eating out is very expensive too.
Staff in the hotel were very pleasant and there was an abundance of tourist information-leaflets, brochures etc available.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretPonthir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    294
    71
    47
    52
See reviews for
321
690
43
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We only stayed 2 nights but would have loved to stay longer. Beautiful hotel and beautiful room. Didn't have a view of any sort but the decor was lovely. It was quiet which was great for us. Also a fantastic location, right in the centre of town - close to everything. The dining room for breakfast was also lovely and the breakfast was more than adequate. Can't understand how anyone could complain about this place at all. We paid 80 euros per night for a family room which was a walk-in rate. Definitely good value at that price.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deemarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2009

The place was very nice but as we did not feel welcome at all, we never got a friendly smile and felt we were being watch the entire time since we were under the age of 30!!!! The owner was specially rude he never smiled or asked us if we had enjoyed our stayed. The hotel is suitable for people over 40!! Parkind is NOT included!! Breakfast was burned!!! Pretty place but not worth it and DONT GET UP GRADE! JACUZZI NOT WORTH IT!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicfairyburst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

My partner and I booked into this establishment for one night after a long early morning flight from Germany. All we were looking forward to was a nice shower and a cup of tea in a comfy room.
How dissapointed we were ! The room overlooked the roof of an annex and was bare in the extreme. There was a funny smell and the television didnt work and were greeted by a posse of blue flys .
I went downstairs to enquire as to loaning an extension power lead and the Maitre D offered me a fine selection of phone chargers obviously left behind by other guests.
She claimed not to know what an extension lead was, but also claimed that there were sockets beside the bed if needs be. There werent.
When I returned to the room my partner and I decided that the best course of action was to leave.
When we attempted to alight the establishment we were accosted by what can only be described as a hostile dragon who set about to condescend and verbally abuse my partner.
Basil Fawlty wouldnt get a look in !
To make matters worse she had the audacity to charge us despite our misgivings and her coarse behaviour.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ROGMUNSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2009

This was the nicest hotel we stayed at in Ireland. The room was spotless and the staff was great. Room rate also included a great breakfast in the morning. James at the hotel even made sight seeing recommendations which were wonderful as well. Free parking was included as well about 100 meters from the hotel.

Ken
California

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

The Fairview Guesthouse was recommended to us as having a boutique feel to the place and we weren't disappointed. We stayed in an Executive Room which cost €89 B&B, €10 more than a standard room. The room is very nicely decorated and had a jacuzzi bath. The whole guesthouse has a very modern feel and the decor is very tasteful. The location is also great being in the heart of the town. Overall, we had a very pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeclanKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy in Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Stayed there in late March 2009. Can not speak highly enough of this hotel. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left, we were made feel most welcome. The hotel is spotless. Rooms are spacious considering the size of the hotel. Very central location. Free parking beside hotel. Great breakfast the following morning. One gentleman lookign after a busy breakfast room "Tommy" was his name i think. Its a shame other hotels dont have staff members like him. He was obviuosly a busy gentleman but very pleasant and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,228 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,182 reviews
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,549 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing