We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed. Lovely double room, jacuzzi bath and nice view of the street of Killarney.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Clarencefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very impressed. Lovely double room, jacuzzi bath and nice view of the street of Killarney.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Had a nice stay in this hotel recently. My girlfriend got an incredible deal and we took full advantage. Breakfast was lovely. Only negatives was that there is no parking in the hotel at all and there is no one on reception from 12am on. Overall very impressed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank himself88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    285
    66
    47
    48
See reviews for
295
669
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

On arrival to the GUEST HOUSE ( advertised on website as a hotel), the manager was rude to deal with. The room, while very nice had a terrible creaky, worn out bed that sagged at the sides and bed linen was worn. Non-inclusion of breakfast was only mentioned in the fine print of booking confirmation. Very expensive for quality received. Breakfast was below average- food was ok, very cramped dining area- uncomfortably quiet due to the close proximity of tables.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montytoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

Stayed at the fairview for two nights with a collegue.When we checked in to the hotel our room wasnt ready which is fair as it was still morning so we left our bags with the man at reception thinking when our room was ready they would take them up for us. On returning at five that evening we saw our bags still sitting at reception unsupervised which i thought abit careless as they have a storage room. Anyway got to the room which was cold but not as cold as our bathroom but we tucked ourselves up and tried to sleep away. Next morning we headed down for our breakfast and poured ourselves some cereal with milk which proceeded to come out in lumps, now im no farmer but i believe milk is best served lump free!! On checkout we werent asked how our stay was so we said nothing and paided the man inside reception who popped off to serve breakfast while we waited for our drive at the seats provided at reception. In the mean time a man who i believe to be the manager came in the front door and asked us were we waiting to checkout so we politely told him we had already checked out. He went on with his business and reappeared approx 5 mins later where he (not so friendly) asked us had we checked out again we told him we had and then he asked us to sit in the sitting room as we were in the way of 'traffic'!! We had at this stage been sitting their 5 mins and in this 5 mins two people had passed us with ease might i add. Why would you put seats at reception if people are not to sit there?? I found his attitude so rude after staying there for two nights and beening charged more than we were quoted on check in which we did not fuss about. When our drive finally arrived we picked up our bags and walked out with not even a thank you for staying or a goodbye. We were shocked by how rude someone who is suppose to be a manager of this establishment could be. I can put up with lumpy milk and cold rooms but i guess no amount of money can buy manors!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bella186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

customer service very friendly and helpful. rooms very clean. beds very comfortable

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrilkelly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

Dont be fooled by the title "guesthouse", this is more like a luxurious 4* hotel. The rooms are beautiful - for as little as 30euro per night with breakfast and the penthouse is amazing for as little as 65euro per night with breakfast. It is also within a few seconds walk of the town - just around the corner from it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Currany07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

This is classified as a guesthouse but is actually more luxurious than some hotels. Proprietor does not show the ususal Irish courtesy of acknowledging your presence when you arrive or leave during the duration of yourstay, preferring to pay his whole attention to the interminable telephone calls he is on. Small thing, but politeness and friendliness is a small courtesy that makes life more pleasant. Biggest issue was the heating in the room, it was freezing during the day, then during the night the air-conditioning so dehydrated the atmosphere I lost my voice(!) with no way to control it. Breakfast was good with friendly staff.

There is no shortage of accomodation in Killarney so we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knowledgeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

Four stars is not enough for this excellent guesthouse. We spend 2 weeks travelling throughout Ireland, and this accomodation is by far the best in the country. This accomodation is absolutely spotless. This is by far the cleanest place I have ever stayed in. Every single aspect of our stay was perfection. The service was extraordinary. Food delicious. Great location. Comfortable beds. Spotless rooms.
Great value. We would highly recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing