We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too small”
Review of Oaklawn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oaklawn House
Ranked #89 of 141 Killarney B&B and Inns
Gilroy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“too small”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Rooms barely large enough to set luggage down and move about . Bathrooms extremely small.
Hauling luggage up flights of stairs is a big deal breaker.

Rosemary was welcoming and friendly:-) Delicious Irish breakfast. Close and convenient walking distance to town center.

Room Tip: Irish B&Bs are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    12
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

A place I'd be happy to return to. Our host was most helpful and very friendly, as they all seem to be in Ireland. I think as long as you stick w/ a B&B Ireland establishment, you'll be fine. Breakfast was good and the room was clean and warm.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dls304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galion, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Had a wonderful experience in Killarney at this B&B. Rosemary was great and breakfast was good. Our room was spacious and the house was decorated beautifully. Being on a cul de sack made it very private and quiet. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed one night with Rosemay O'Connell at Oaklawn. Very clean and comfortable, nice breakfast in the AM. Quiet location and short walk into town. Rosemary arranged for the Ring of Kerry tour bus to pick us up and drop us off at her door. We left our car with her which was a tremendous convenience all around.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Oaklawn House is situated in a quiet cul de sack just minutes walk from the town centre. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Rosemary was the perfect host and made us feel very welcome. No hesitation in recomending this B & B.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wobblyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirano, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed 2 nights. The B&B and the rooms are very nice and clean, in Victorian style, very charming. The B&B is central in the city of Killarney, but far from the noisy place, located in a side and quite cul-de-sac. The owners are friendly and ready to help you in case of need; especially Rosemary was very very kind and warm. The breakfast was not bad but I had the idea that it had been prepared 1 hour in advance (especially the sausages) and not when we arrived in the breakfast room. Killarney is a quite city, maybe not very suitable to young people, but it is beautiful and a strategic point for the ring of Kerry tour. In the city we had very very good dinners in the city.
I would recommend this B&B definitely.
Roberta (Italy)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here last summer on a trip through Ireland. Great food, GREAT location, and very nice proprietor. Ask her about her husband, Ronald Reagan, and the bald eagle.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
The Gardens B&B
The Gardens B&B
#50 of 141 in Killarney
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#9 of 47 in Killarney
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castlelodge Guesthouse
Castlelodge Guesthouse
#73 of 141 in Killarney
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Laune B&B
The Laune B&B
#129 of 141 in Killarney
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#30 of 141 in Killarney
205 reviews
5.9 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklawn House

Property: Oaklawn House
Address: Oaklawn House 4 Muckross Drive, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing