We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town”
Review of Oaklawn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oaklawn House
Ranked #90 of 141 Killarney B&B and Inns
Cambridge, VT
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Close to town”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent two nights at Oaklawn and couldn't have been more pleased. Rosemary is a wonderful host and made us feel at home and welcome. She was a delight to chat with. Our room was very comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent and well-prepared. The location was just about perfect. We were able to walk into town easily for dinner and evening activities, but the location just off the main road made it very quiet. This really is the perfect spot in Killarney. We will stay here when we return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clamdigger1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    12
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

5 of us stayed at Oaklawn for a wedding we were attending in Killarney. What a spot!! We rang ahead of arrival as we needed somewhere to get changed before the wedding. Sure enough the owner made a room up for us hours ahead of schedule to help us out. The b&b itself is in a perfect location, a 2 min walk to the town centre. The rooms couldn't have been cleaner and the owner was so friendly and helpful! I would definitely reccommend oaklawn and it will be my choice of b&b the next time I'm in Killarney!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Oaklawn is definitely a 4 star B&B and a perfect location to walk into town and enjoy the evening. Our group of 10 enjoyed the ambience and comfort of the B&B. IrishTourism, Tina O'Connor, booked this wonderful stay along with our 2 week whirlwind drive of Ireland. We also had IrishTourism book our driver and van. Wonderful stay at Oaklawn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickiehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

This B&B is a little difficult to find because it must be approached from what is more a private alley than a street. Once found it is worth the visit. The rooms are pristine, beds comfortable and service friendly and welcoming. The host offers free Wi Fi, but the plus on that is there is a reading room with big chairs by a picture window overlooking Killarney where one can read or check email! You can easily walk into town for fun or shopping. Great visit! We would go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mytyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Found the home to be very lovely. Our room was on the main floor and we found it to be quite spacious. Loved the litte area upstairs to relax and use the internet. Loved that we were able to walk into town, it was so close! Only downside was the access road to the house is off a VERY busy road and can be difficult to get out of. Otherwise, the breakfast was great and we found the owner to be quite friendly. She went out of her way to let us in earlier than we were expected as our rental car had been bumped and we needed to make some phone calls.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbiegirl_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Killarney has so many options.... this one should only be used if there is any other option. Very clean, but very minimal and much of the furniture broken and unkept. Breakfast was very minimal and burnt. The owner was very rude and abusive to such a degree that we had to change hotels... litterally running to get away. I have traveled all over the world in a variety of 5 star to hostel type lodging. I would have slept in my car the next night had we not been moved to a new hotel. I feel as a customer, there is never a reason to be abused by an operator in a high volume tourist area.

Room Tip: Our room was above the dining room.... be up very early or do not expect to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BroadwayBaby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rensselaer, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Shh! Be very quiet when you stay here. The walls are very thin. We could hear all the bathroom sounds from the room next door. Having said that, the room though was clean, comfortable, had extra blankets and pillows as needed and had plenty of shower space. No washcloths though. I prefer a washcloth when showering.

It is centrally located so it's easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants and the park.

The owner, Rosemary, can come across as being a bit harsh. However, get to know her a bit. She is a wealth of information and friendly. I give her credit for all the work she does to keep the house running as smooth as it does.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank DeborahL428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
The Gardens B&B
The Gardens B&B
#47 of 141 in Killarney
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castlelodge Guesthouse
Castlelodge Guesthouse
#71 of 141 in Killarney
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardree House
Ardree House
#46 of 141 in Killarney
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#33 of 141 in Killarney
205 reviews
5.9 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#8 of 47 in Killarney
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklawn House

Property: Oaklawn House
Address: Oaklawn House 4 Muckross Drive, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing