We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feast for the eyes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coolclogher House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coolclogher House
Redding, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A feast for the eyes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

My wife and I are regular travellers to Ireland. Coolclogher House is a commodious home on parkland acreage, with mountain views. Quiet, restful and relaxing, yet no more than 10 minutes from bustling Killarney center, it is "Hidden" Ireland at its finest.

Room Tip: Not to worry. All rooms are quiet and provide beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mullaneyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

14 of us stayed at Coolclogher House, and we had a wonderful time. The house was perfect, the surroundings were magnificent, and the hospitality made our Ireland trip memorable. It was very easy to get a taxi into town or to the races. I would highly recomment a stay in Killarney and particularly at Coolclogher House.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Our landlady, Mary, was warm and friendly and made us feel most welcome. Her suggestions of a guide and local restaurants were excellent. We had a very comfortable stay, with lashings of hot water. We had breakfast at a table in the bay window, looking across the parkland, with a roaring fire in the grate.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I could sit and write a novel about our week long stay at Coolclogher House. The pages would number in the many hundreds and be filled with words like "exquisite", "breathtaking" and "surreal".

My wife and I were so fortunate to have our wedding at Coolclogher House this past September. Our immediate family and some friends joined us in what was the most amazing week of our lives.

Leading up to our vacation Mary, the matriarch of the property, and I had many detailed email exchanges. She informed me that I shouldn't worry about anything at all and that she'd have everything in order by the time our family had arrived. She's wasn't kidding. Every detail had been buttoned up from fireplaces being staged some peat heat to the bottle of Jameson's waiting eagerly on the kitchen table (as requested).

Mary masterfully runs the home, crossing all t's and dotting all i's, as her husband Morris tends to the extensive grounds. Together with the help of Lisa and their daughter Katie, the entire property seems to take on a life of it's own. It truly is a world class experience.

Then there is the property itself. Again, in lieu of drafting a novel, there are so many words that could be configured in brilliant assembly that would never do the place justice. It's just that good.

The home, each bedroom, the kitchen, the reading room, the dining room, the great hall, each fireplace, the old stable houses, the backyard, the backyard's backyard, each so unique and offering a place to create memories and realize dreams.

These people and this property have allowed my family, my wife and I to create irreplaceable memories that will be with us forever. We are truly grateful to Coolclogher House and we plan on visiting many times again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Myself and my husband John needed break and my son booked us in to this beautiful house as a get away.... It took us to another place and time.... We loved every minute .....

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looney37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We consider our stay at Coolclogher to be one of the most special experiences of our pretty extensive travel life. Completely elegant yet completely relaxing. We have never stayed in a more beautiful house, or in more beautiful surroundings. Upon arriving, we immediately wished we could stay longer, as it was clear we would be wanting not only to see the local sights, but also to spend several days just around the house, enjoying each room and every conceivable view. Spring is a fantastic time of year to visit.
AND, it's literally a 25-minute walk to downtown Killarney, with its shopping, pubs, music and sights. Also, our several bike rides on the trails through Killarney National Park were the most gorgeous we've done. You can also bike from downtown to Muckross House and Lake, and the 12th Century Ross Castle. There is a good reason this is considered the most beautiful part of Ireland.
The owners are sweet and generous people who now feel like friends, and can arrange day tours to the Ring of Kerry, Great Blaskett Islands, the Gap of Dunloe, and other fabulous destinations, and the bus will come right to the house to pick you up and drop you off. Believe me, the other passengers will be impressed with you when they see where you're staying! A picture of the house is now my wife's screensaver!
In sum, a place to dream about long after you've left, and to dream about returning to.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tonysalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

Our group included four families with six children and a nanny. The bedroom were most comfortable an the living area quite spacious. The fifteen of us ate in 3 nights with plenty of room. If you ask her, Mary will give you ideas to keep you busy. The huge property allows the children to run until they can no more. Hint: have Claude prepare some Irish stew for your first night.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abulfrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
4.3 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#26 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolclogher House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolclogher House

Property: Coolclogher House
Address: Coolclogher, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coolclogher House is a striking, historic house situated on a secluded 68-acre walled estate on the outskirts of Killarney. It has been lovingly restored by Mary and Maurice Harnett. The house has spacious reception rooms and large, Large bedrooms all with own bathrooms with amazing views over the gardens and fields to the spectacular mountains of the Killarney National Park. The conservatory houses a huge 200 year-old camellia tree that is covered with beautiful pink flowers each spring. It is right on the Ring of Kerry, Ross Castle and Muckross House are within walking distance while the Gap of Dunloe, Dingle, Blarney Castle/Blarney stone, Cliffs of Mohar are ideal for day trips within easy reach. Irish Tourist Board approved under Historic Houses. The House is ideal for long stays or groups celebrating a special occasion. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing