We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlawn House Killarney
Ranked #15 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb Stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I sometimes think I should be finding things to complain about ...or at least to be slightly negative, but I couldn't start here even if I chose to. This guest house was just fab. We had a lovely room at the front of the house with a view of the mountains of Kerry. Our room was a good size with a window seat. Everything in the room was as it should be, more than we expected, and we were comfortable for the three days we stayed while exploring the Ring of Kerry. Our hosts were incredibly helpful with great tips for making our trip around the Ring enjoyable. They also supplied a clearly marked map of all the establishments they recommend to guests, as well as how to reach them if we got lost.
Breakfast was in a large dining room, set for families at communal dining room tables, and it was pleasant to meet other guests. Those who didn't want to share didn't have to. The food was cooked to order and there was plenty of it. Service was efficient and the woman taking care of the guests at breakfast was funny, making for an enjoyable meal.
There is plenty of parking for guests, and the guest house is within walking distance of downtown Killarney. We also appreciated the location as runners - we were able to leave from the accommodation, run to, and around Ross Castle, and back to Woodlawn House for a fun run.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in the accommodation are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdninQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    84
    31
    5
    0
See reviews for
112
214
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We really liked this guest house. The proprietor, Wayne, gave us a friendly welcome and let us drop our bags off as we were a little too early. It is a lovely, big house. The room we had overlooked the front of the house and it was very quiet. The bathroom was very clean and we had lots of hot water. It is about a 10 minute walk into the centre of busy Killarney. Wayne gave us some tips on where to do some shopping. He was also keen to provide other information about the area. We liked the fact that we were in a quiet area. The street is easy to find as it is a main one. There was off street parking for our car, which is very important for us. The breakfast was served in a lovely dining room and we thought it was excellent. It was a very busy time for this guest house when we spent our night there, but we felt we were very well looked after. We would certainly recommend this place to travellers who don't particularly want to stay in a big hotel.

Room Tip: A room at the front gives a pretty outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We (3 adults) stayed at Woodlawn House for two nights at the beginning of July. Wayne was accommodating, friendly and really helpful. The house is about a 10-minute walk from the city centre so perfectly located and in a quiet area. Only minutes to Ross Castle, Killarney National Park (Torc Waterfall, Muckross House), and the Ring of Kerry. Wayne even arranged for us to go on a bus tour of the Ring of Kerry (not to be missed). Breakfasts were great, and the staff was extremely friendly. Our room was a triple (one double, one twin) and it was spacious, clean and comfortable. Out stay at Woodlawn House was a highlight of our trip and we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, FL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very conveniently located. Within walking distance of the town center but not so close that the nightlife will keep you awake all night. The B&B is under new management and the management lacks. Starting with the fact that we were in a room for three people and towels were only provided for two, as a previous reviewer mentions, there are only tiny bottles of a combined body wash/shampoo. We were allotted just three, so if we wanted to shower twice, as in before breakfast then after hiking, we'd have to ask for more. Hand-soap was also in a non-descript plastic dispenser, no real fragrance or any nicety. The beds were a bit uncomfortable but it wasn't the worst we've had and the simple room was clean. It had some nice touches like a standing mirror and a wardrobe.

Breakfast was simple, but the service really needs sorting out. With an open two hour window, diners can come at any time but are often challenged with incomplete place settings, tables that haven't yet been picked up. The diner initially helps himself to fruit, fruit juice, cereal, yogurt and can slice some fresh baked bread. You have to wait to ask for coffee and then wait to order a hot breakfast. In removing bowls for fruit, forks were also often removed and not replaced when the hot breakfast arrived, leaving the diner to scrounge from other place settings, lending insight into incomplete place settings upon your arrival. As a gluten free diner, it was obvious that the well-intended management had done little research into celiac disease, even though it was mentioned on the reservation made months ago. They had minimal insight into contamination issues and thought naively that they could serve gluten free bread on the same cutting board as gluten-containing bread. Still not clear whether they observed good gluten-free precautions in hot food preparation because I did feel ill during my stay in Killarney and had to pass on several outings the rest of the family took, and I skipped several meals. For diners with a regular diet, the place is just fine food-wise. The service just needs polish, better attention to detail, and better training. Given the size of this B&B, everyone would be better served by scheduling set breakfasts, say at 8 am, 9 am and so on, as many other successful B&Bs do in order to allow adequate time to prepare for their guests.

All of the foregoing is just due to lack of experience, and likely the high startup costs of mounting a new bed and breakfast. The new managers are very young and really tried to be engaging, informative and accommodating.

The building itself also seems to be having some issues, as our upper level room had a strong septic line odor that forced us to keep the bathroom closed as much as possible. We didn't hear anyone else mention problems so it may have been just a bad line in our bathroom.

The wifi in the hotel is rather sketchy, especially upstairs, WL1. It was frequently unavailable. The access was better downstairs. Common rooms were nice and comfortable, so working from them to gain better Internet access wasn't a big issue.

Room Tip: Based on our experience, I'd say avoid the triple room, until they've sourced the septic odo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobram, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I stayed and this charming B & B for two nights and could not fault the experience.From the moment we got inside we felt comfortable and welcome.Woodlawn house is a lovely old building and it's in a perfect location.You can comfortably walk into the town which is ideal and Wayne is only to happy to help you plan your days in the beautiful Killarney region.His advice led us to a sensational restaurant in the middle of town.The breakfasts are a treat and will set you up nicely for the busy day ahead.Our room was generous in size and looked out the front of the house.It offered a lovely view to the mountains.
Overall my wife and I can not find any fault with this B & B.Wayne is a charming host and his home baked bread is a taste sensation.do yourself a favor and come stay at Woodlawn House !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our experience at the Woodlawn House B&B was fantastic. The owner Wayne and his brother Allen made our stay very enjoyable, despite the fact that Wayne and his wife had a new baby just one day before our stay there, so I know they were busy! The food was great in the morning, and the service was excellent. The rooms were spacious, with plenty of space to hang clothes, etc. The walk to town is quick, maybe 5-6 minutes. We will definitely stay there again on a future trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBSurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Wayne, the owner, greeted us and gave recommendations about restaurants and places to visit. He could not have been more helpful. The hotel is large and spacious and 30 seconds from the road that is the Ring of Kerry and less than 10 minutes walk into the centre of town. Our room was at the front facing towards the mountains. There was traffic noise during the day but we were not disturbed at night despite the fact that all the windows were open as it was 27 degrees on the day we arrived. The room is very smart and clean, the shower very powerful and towels plus flannels were provided. The breakfast service is slick and professional with Wayne, and the others serving, doing so efficiently and cheerfully. Breakfast can be as big and filling as you want and there is even homemade soda bread fresh out of the oven. This is a wonderful place to stay

Room Tip: I think rooms at the front because, although there is some traffic noise, the view to the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#7 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn House Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn House Killarney

Property: Woodlawn House Killarney
Address: Woodlawn House Woodlawn Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlawn House Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management from March 2014. A 12 bedroom guesthouse in Killarney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodlawn House Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlawn House Killarney Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing