We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Redwood Country House
Ranked #39 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Easy to find, in a lovely peaceful park. Comfortable bed, spacious rooms, good wifi, excellent breakfast, personal service, all set in a beautiful home. Highly recommended. So far, this is the best stay of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great location to drive the Ring of Kerry. We also saw Bunratty Castle on our way here from Galway. It was about a 90 minute drive. Runners- You will love the park that is a 4 minute drive from here. We would recommend Mac's on Main Street for dinner and delicious coffee during the day. If you have dinner at Mac's- get the brie appetizer. I will be dreaming about it for weeks! The breakfast at Redwood was tasty and their French press coffee was a welcome surprise. The rooms were spacious, well planned and nicely decorated. The home itself is lovely and full of character, with large yards, common areas and strong wifi.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at Redwood for one night, and it was in a great location to see Killarney, Glangariff and the seals, and the Kerry and Dingle coasts. Evelyn was knowledgeable about the area, and was perfect help in planning our day. The room was very nice, with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious, the pancakes with fresh fruit were great!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaylyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Redwood won our "Most Comfy Bed" award on our recent trip. Evelyn also serves up a delicious breakfast, again rated best of all the places we stayed. We very much enjoyed our two-night stay there, and would recommend it highly. The property is nicely furnished with a very traditional country house feel, and our room was immaculately clean upon arrival. Evelyn is a wonderful hostess, and was very helpful with our planning each day's activities. It was a little tricky to find--our GPS mis-directed us, so be aware of that. It is on a busy road, and there was road noise when windows were open, but earplugs easily solve that issue. It is a short drive into downtown Killarney. Only for those last few things do I give it a 4. For comfort, service, and breakfast, it's a 5.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at Redwood Country House two nights when we did a day trip to the Dingle Peninsula. Our accommodations were excellent. We loved the fact they had sheets under the duvet since it was too hot for the comforter. Close to Killarney. Had a great pizza at The Med. Very friendly, accommodating hosts. We did not eat here.

Room Tip: Get the best rate by booking on-line directly with the B and B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CDS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed two nights with my family. The house and rooms were clean, bright and quiet. Our quadruple room was ample with nice views over the garden. In the cozy sitting room for the guests one could find Ireland guides and maps to better plan the visit. Killarney was a very short drive away plus the location provides an excellent start for touring the Ring of Kerry or the Dingle Peninsula. I would highlight the breakfast: bread, toasts, cereals, yoghourt, juices plus a cooked breakfast to be chosen from the menu. The pancakes with fresh fruits were simply delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Beautiful and elegant design. The most comfortable linen sheet!! Excellent location - two minutes drive from the city. Beautiful garden. Very nice and warm hostess, helped us a lot with planning for next day. The ONLY downside - a little bit noisy (from the main road) if you open the windows (didn't pose any problem even in August). Lovely stay.

Best value for money we've ever gotten!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psychedMux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
8.9 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,329 reviews
7.9 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
12.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Country House

Address: Tralee Road | Rockfield, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £69 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redwood is surrounded by 15 acres of gardens and pasture situated 2 miles north of Killarney town, positioned in a wonderful location between the Ring Kerry and Dingle Peninsula. 4**** Irish Tourist Board , Pat Preston recommended. Highly recommended luxury accommodation, noted for its inviting personal friendly atmosphere. Redwood is tastefully decorated throughout to a very high standard and features many antiques and interesting art. Collection each morning at 10.00am for tours of Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula and Gap of Dunloe. For cheapest rates book direct with Evelyn at Redwood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Redwood Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing