We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Applecroft House”
Review of Applecroft House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Applecroft House
Ranked #23 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved Applecroft House”
Reviewed 25 May 2010

You will be disappointed in all future b&bs after you stay at Applecroft. When we asked Kather and Don for recommendations for dinner, they recommended a restaurant (Flesks) and we indicated we would be walking there. Upon arrival, we discovered that Kathy had made reservations for us. How delightful. They also arranged for a tour of Dingle penninsula at a discounted rate. We were happy for a break from driving and were happy with the tour. The breakfast is wonderful! Coffee from a French coffee press (not the usual instant that we recieved everyhwhere else.) The rooms have everything to make you comfortable. If you need anything further, Kathy is quick to accomodate. Can't praise them enought.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYWoman1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
72
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

applecroft house is the reason i have finally decided to start writing reviews for trip advisor. this is a wonderful guesthouse in killarney, which was one of many stops on my road trip through ireland. the guesthouse is about 15 min away from the city center by walking, and is located on a huge piece of property making you feel like you are in the middle of the country when you're really so close to the city center. kathy is a wonderful hostess and told me that her husband had grown up on the property when only three families lived on the entire street. now there are countless houses but thankfully it doesn't feel too crowded.

kathy is a total gem. she obviously cares so much for the house, but also has a balanced life -- when i showed up, she was on her way to go rowing on one of the nearby lakes. she didn't leave until i was settled in my room which was super nice. the room was spacious and warm with huge sliding glass windows.

there are also lots of animals here, but don't worry, you don't have to be exposed to them if you don't want to be. when i first drove up, the chickens (about 17 or 18 of them, i think) all ran up to the fence to greet me (or maybe they were hungry). it was the first time i have ever been greeted by chickens. there are also two dogs, a cat, a horse, donkey, and an awesome pig named alfie. kathy invited me to go out with her to feed him which was really nice.

the breakfast here was unbelievable. there was a huge selection of yogurt, cereal, freshly made date bars....and then at least five things to choose from on the hot menu. i had bacon and waffles which was awesome! it really felt like a restaurant.

i hesitate to say how much i paid to stay here....mainly because i think kathy should charge more. it was the cheapest place that i have stayed during my entire ireland road trip yet stands out at the most friendly, warm place. i paid less than 50 euros and seriously would have been happy to pay much more.

if you can't already tell, i really loved this place and would love to come back at some point. definitely consider staying here if your travels include killarney!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Very nice Bed and Breakfast. Tucked away location in a neighborhood that is convenient to town but situated in such a way that you feel you are further out in the country. Spacious comfortable rooms, ice machine, quiet area and friendly hosts. They also have chickens, pigs, dogs and a cat. Good breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vontom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We spent two nights at Applecroft House, and afterward, we wish we had spent most of our self-drive tour of Ireland in Kilkenny! Kathy was a wonderful hostess, and her daughters were equally helpful in finding places for us to spend our evenings. The breakfast was the best out of the six additional B&Bs/hotels we stayed on our trip. It is about a 10-minute walk into the downtown area, and we felt very safe walking back each night after sunset. Just a warning - make sure you have a detailed map getting to the B&B; we passed the driveway twice, and ended up in someone else's driveway once before finally taking the right turn! Overall, a wonderful find!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbgarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Karen and Eileen stayed there for 2 nites while on CIE tour - at first we thought the driveway kinda funny - because the home is set back - yet the home was beautiful with lovely decor and spacious landcaping - the hostess served delicious food and the location was just a short walk to town - where we had drinks at the O'Donoghue bar. Lots of fun. Our hostess was truly wonderful, a talented cook and the family pet is Alfie a pot bellied pig.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kareninphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville tn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2009

this was on of the best stays in Ireland. the food was amazing. the room was large and clean. they helped us with directions and places for traditional music.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Our experience at the Applecroft could not have been better. Kathy is delightful and made us all feel right at home. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast room is charming and the food is delicious and abundant. Kathy also took the time to map out directions to our next destination and provided tips on stops along the way. We all wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garden84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 139 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Robeen House
Robeen House
#13 of 139 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#11 of 139 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashville House
Ashville House
#17 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fuchsia Guest House
Fuchsia Guest House
#33 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applecroft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applecroft House

Property: Applecroft House
Address: Brosnan's Boreen Applecroft House Woodlawn Road, Killarney 32782, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Applecroft House bed & breakfast! Our family run business is situated 15mins walk from Killarney town centre, at the top of a laneway off Woodlawn Road, so our guests can enjoy some well deserved peace and quiet. The house is surrounded by lush landscaped gardens and our field to the back is home to the horses,Alfie the pot-bellied pig and our free range chickens. We are very proud of our fresh eggs and homebaking so expect a yummy breakfast! Free Wifi throught out the house. New at Applecroft, all new King size beds for your comfort.All our en-suites have been newly refurbished for 2017 Season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Applecroft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing