We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a warm welcome”
Review of Elyod House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elyod House
Ranked #10 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Ruby the dog greeted us warmly as we drove into Elyod House - Mary was even more open and welcoming. Really loved the breakfast area with its big windows, I had the fruit and yoghurt for breakfast and what a treat that was; fresh, sweet fruit platter and delicious yoghurt that I mixed with muesli...yummy. We had the front bedroom upsiats, the beds were very comfortable, and the ensuite a good size. Elyod is in a great location, we would hav eloved to stay longer and explore more of Killarney...perhaps next time. Mary's tip of where to eat and find entertainment was spot on - had a great night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for ELYOD HOUSE, i think that Ruby was delighted with the attention that you gave her, i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here in ELYOD HOUSE, Again many thanks, Mary Doyle, Elyod House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

The warm welcome we received was just the start of a very nice experience. The whole place was immaculate. Lovely big room with a nice rural view and very comfortable bed. The food was varied and of a good standard. There was ample parking and the location was good. We would gladly recommend Elyod House to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate your high praise for the standards that we have here in ELYOD HOUSE, again many thanks, Mary Doyle, Elyod House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Elyod House in September 2013, Mary and Derry were extremely friendly.(We found out that Mary likes Coronation Street as much as we do.) My husband thought Derry made the best coffee he drank while in Ireland.The breakfast was delicious. Our room was very clean and beautifully decorated. Within walking distance of Killarney , which is a great area to walk around, and had a great supper at Laurels, which Mary recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen_Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate your time and effort, i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us, Many thanks, Mary Doyle, Elyod House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were on the last leg of our cross country trip through Ireland and we were exhausted! We decided the next decent B&B would be our home base until our departure. There was no hesitation once we found Elyod House! We received a very warm greeting from Mary who was quite possibly the friendliest person we met during our trip (and considering Ireland that's saying a lot). Our room was spacious and clean. I loved Mary's pancakes so much, I ordered them every morning during our 5 day stay and the brewed coffee was an added bonus. Location was great -- I can't say enough nice things about Elyod House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for ELYOD HOUSE, i was glad to hear that you had a safe journey home, dont forget to send us some of that californian sunshine, Again many thanks for your kind words, Regards Mary Doyle, ELYOD HOUSE.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We knocked on Mary's door at around 7pm looking for a room for the night. What a lovely surprise when a beaming young girl and a bouncy golden Lab greeted us, followed by Mary with a welcoming greeting.
The room Mary offered us was quiet, large, meticulously clean, and had the best bed in Ireland.
A great nights sleep followed by the yummiest breakfast, made for a wonderful experience in Killarney. Thanks Mary for your wonderful hospitality. A big tickle for Ruby!!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear guests, what an absoutely lovely way to start my day, thank you for taking the time to write a review for ELYOD HOUSE, your kind words are very much appreciated, Again thank you for your time and kindness Regards Mary Doyle Elyod House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Mary is a wonderful hostess, and we enjoyed meeting Ruby, the friendly Labrador. The home is a convenient walk to downtown Killarney and the national park. We got back late from sightseeing and planned to walk to dinner. Mary called to see what time the restaurant closed and went out of her way to give us a ride so that we wouldn't miss our meal. My husband was leary of going to Killarney (read that it was too touristy) but was very happy we spent a night there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imasportsluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate your time and your kind words, again thank you, Regards Mary Doyle, Elyod House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Booked at the very helpful Tourist Office in Killarney
When Mary greeted us at the door we realised we had made the best choice in Kilarney ,A beautifully designed house spotlessly clean, light and spacious rooms exceptional dinning area a pleasure to eat in, and the freshly cooked breakfast fresh coffee and home made bread,sets you up for the day, very handy to leave the car in grounds and walk to Ross Castle,and to the centre of town for great evening meals and entertainment.
Well done Mary you should feel proud of your achievement at Elyod House.
From Alan and Lesley

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanPenhallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentry review for ELYOD HOUSE, comments like that make my day, i hope to see you again some day, Again a very big thank you,

Regards

Mary Doyle
Elyod House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3.3 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,351 reviews
0.5 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sika Lodge B & B
Sika Lodge B & B
#12 of 143 in Killarney
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#8 of 143 in Killarney
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elyod House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elyod House

Address: Elyod Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing