We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand”
Review of Elyod House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elyod House
Ranked #12 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aurich, Germany
1 review
“Grand”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

A B&B as it should be. Clean rooms, very friendly owners and a great dining room with no curtains blockig the view. It's located in a quiet area close to the town centre and Ross Castle. The place is protected by also friendly labrador lady Ruby.
Thanks for a nice stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Willyminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for writing a review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate your kind words and attention to detail. I hope that you enjoyed your trip around the Ring Of Kerry and that you had a safe journey home.Lady Ruby is well and enjoying the new title of Lady that you have given to her.
Again thank you, Regards Mary Doyle ELYOD HOUSE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    27
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
127
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Mary Doyle, owner of this B&B, truly has the gift of hospitality. We stayed 2 nights with our 3 children ages 17-26. It's situated just on the edge of town in a very peaceful setting away from the hustle and bustle of the main thoroughfare. Mary made us feel welcome and made herself available anytime. It was so nice to spend time talking to her and learn about life in Ireland- truly a highlight of our 9 day trip around Ireland and the U.K.. The breakfast was delicious and the house was immaculate- the accommodations were the nicest of our whole trip! I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate it, i was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us in ELYOD HOUSE. I hope that you had a good time at Harry Potter in LONDON, I know that you were all fans and really looking forward to it, Again many thanks, Regards Mary Doyle Elyod House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Eloyd House was recommended to us by a local tourist center in Kilarney. Inexperienced with bed and breakfasts, I was a bit apprehensive when pulling into the Eloyd House driveway. However, we were immediately greeted with a big smile and welcomed with open arms by the wonderful hostess, Mary.

Mary was pleasant, personable and professional from the minute we met her. She was everything you would want in having an Irish hostess for the weekend! She was so delightful and lovely - welcoming us to her home and asking where we were in our travels. After a bit of small talk, Mary immediately informed us that she had an early meeting the next day and would have to serve breakfast a bit earlier than usual. This was quite contrary to the usual experience, but given that we were traveling during the off season and her home 'technically' wasn't available, Mary did not want to put us out and still welcomed us. We appreciated her honesty and managing expectations upfront and decided to stay.

I am big on attention to details and the 'little things'...and Mary is too :) Her house is neat, clean and well-organized. The decor is modern and fresh with everything you need - hairdryer, wash cloths, shampoo in the shower, etc. She even includes a nicely organized and laid out binder in the room with recommendations on where to eat, what to see and where to go. Prior to breakfast the next morning, Mary offers a detailed menu that she will have prepared for you the next morning. Her sun room/breakfast room is very welcoming and cozy - complete with Irish music and a buffet of food.

Though our time at the Eloyd House was short, we would recommend it to anyone considering staying.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for writing such a detailed and glowing review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate your time and exceptionally kind words, it was our pleasure having you stay here with us in ELYOD HOUSE,

Regards

Mary Doyle
Elyod House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Elyod house. Their hospitality was just great. Great breakfast, rooms, nice and kind family including the playful and friendly Ruby. Was surprised we were the first Japanese travellers to stay there. The location is great and we would recommend anyone searching for a nice B&B to stay here. Maybe it needs to be promoted in other sites such as hotel.com or expedia etc... Sorry it took so long to comment. Misplaced the paper you gave us. Hope everyone is doing fine. Take care! Hope we would be able to visit you again one of these days. Will sure to visit if we are in Killarney.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haseyu19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guests, Happy New Year, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate your kind words and i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us in ELYOD HOUSE, Thank you, Regards Mary Doyle Elyod House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were so glad that our friend recommended this place to stay. Mary Doyle is a warm, welcoming bundle of energy. Our room was homey and always clean, with a wonderful view. Breakfasts were excellent, no matter what I ordered. Between the windows and the skylights, it was always warm and cheery. It is close to downtown Killarney, and it is close to the wonderful sights in County Kerry. We spent five nights there. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hi, thank you for taking the time to wirte a review for ELYOD HOUSE, on trip advisor, i appreciate your kindness and your time, i hope everyone is well in wisconsin and that you enjoy the up coming festivities, Regards Mary Doyle, Elyod House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We couldn't have had a warmer welcome anywhere in Ireland. Mary took such good care of us during our five nights at Elyod House: the place is immaculate, yet homey -- and chatting with her was always a bright spot in our day. The breakfast room is absolutely gorgeous (rain or shine, it has great light and beautiful views), and the food was outstanding. Elyod House is the perfect place to stay in Co. Kerry. We miss you, Mary -- and Ruby, too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anellocello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time to write a review for ELYOD HOUSE, what a lovely way to start my day by reading your very kind words, Regards Mary Doyle, Elyod House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

This was something like my 7th stay at Elyod House. It's the perfect base of operations for anyone exploring Co. Kerry, and is a quick walk to Killarney city center. The house is immaculate, the rooms are super comfortable, and you won't find a kinder, more accommodating host than Mary Doyle. There are many B&Bs in the Killarney area. For me, the ONLY choice is Elyod House!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate your time and your kind words, Regards Mary Doyle Elyod House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.4 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elyod House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elyod House

Property: Elyod House
Address: Elyod Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing