We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Elyod House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elyod House
Ranked #10 of 141 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was a wonderful B&B, not only was it very close to the town center and only a mile from a castle (with a lake/mountain back-drop), but it was clean, breakfast was amazing, and the family that runs the B&B was wonderful. If you are staying in Killarney, Elyod house is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate your kind words and i hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday, Regards, Mary ELYOD HOUSE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    28
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
136
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This B&B is in a great location - very handy to town, yet quiet. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The showers work well and it is great to be provided with a flannel. There is a lovely lounge with a nice warm fire. Breakfast was great -good choice and lovely freshly baked bread. Mary made the time to chat and her knowledge and advice was greatly appreciated. We love Mary.
Pip and John, New Zealand.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Pip and John, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate your time and your kind words, i hope that you enjoyed the ring of kerry and Dingle. I hope that you enjoy the wedding, Regards Mary Doyle Elyod House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is the cleanest, warmest, most welcoming B&B my family has ever stayed in. Mary Doyle is without a doubt one of the kindest hostess' we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. We woke up every morning to sweet Irish music, hot coffee and tea, wonderful warm breakfasts and friendly conversation. Truly a Home-Away-From-Home. My 11 year old fell in love with Ruby, the un-official mascot of the Elyod House. Mary was so kind to my family and daughter. We were traveling and missed Easter, and one morning my family came down to breakfast and there at my daughters breakfast place was a lovely Cadbury chocolate egg. We had all we could do to leave Elyod House and move on with our travels. She also took the time to inquire about our plans and made suggestions, and made the arrangements for trips and excursions. Thanks for making our stay in Ireland so extra special. We loved being with you Mary. We look forward to seeing you again. God Bless! Carey, Mary Beth, Don and Ellie Adams

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate your kind words and attention to detail. Please tell Ellie that Ruby and I are missing her, I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your vacation, Again thank you, Regards Mary Doyle, ELYOD HOUSE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at Elyod House for 5 nights during the Easter holidays. We only chose EH by chance this time, but if we ever go back to Killarney, we would definitely choose this fantastic place again. Mary is a hostess who makes you feel truly welcome, her breakfasts are to die for (heavenly pancakes!!) and the location is ideal both for visiting the National Park and Killarney. Thank you so much for these 5 days -

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate your kindness, and i also hope that you will return to Ireland and stay in ELYOD HOUSE some day, and bring the good weather with you. Thank you, Regards Mary Doyle ELYOD HOUSE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

A B&B as it should be. Clean rooms, very friendly owners and a great dining room with no curtains blockig the view. It's located in a quiet area close to the town centre and Ross Castle. The place is protected by also friendly labrador lady Ruby.
Thanks for a nice stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Willyminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for writing a review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate your kind words and attention to detail. I hope that you enjoyed your trip around the Ring Of Kerry and that you had a safe journey home.Lady Ruby is well and enjoying the new title of Lady that you have given to her.
Again thank you, Regards Mary Doyle ELYOD HOUSE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Mary Doyle, owner of this B&B, truly has the gift of hospitality. We stayed 2 nights with our 3 children ages 17-26. It's situated just on the edge of town in a very peaceful setting away from the hustle and bustle of the main thoroughfare. Mary made us feel welcome and made herself available anytime. It was so nice to spend time talking to her and learn about life in Ireland- truly a highlight of our 9 day trip around Ireland and the U.K.. The breakfast was delicious and the house was immaculate- the accommodations were the nicest of our whole trip! I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate it, i was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us in ELYOD HOUSE. I hope that you had a good time at Harry Potter in LONDON, I know that you were all fans and really looking forward to it, Again many thanks, Regards Mary Doyle Elyod House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Eloyd House was recommended to us by a local tourist center in Kilarney. Inexperienced with bed and breakfasts, I was a bit apprehensive when pulling into the Eloyd House driveway. However, we were immediately greeted with a big smile and welcomed with open arms by the wonderful hostess, Mary.

Mary was pleasant, personable and professional from the minute we met her. She was everything you would want in having an Irish hostess for the weekend! She was so delightful and lovely - welcoming us to her home and asking where we were in our travels. After a bit of small talk, Mary immediately informed us that she had an early meeting the next day and would have to serve breakfast a bit earlier than usual. This was quite contrary to the usual experience, but given that we were traveling during the off season and her home 'technically' wasn't available, Mary did not want to put us out and still welcomed us. We appreciated her honesty and managing expectations upfront and decided to stay.

I am big on attention to details and the 'little things'...and Mary is too :) Her house is neat, clean and well-organized. The decor is modern and fresh with everything you need - hairdryer, wash cloths, shampoo in the shower, etc. She even includes a nicely organized and laid out binder in the room with recommendations on where to eat, what to see and where to go. Prior to breakfast the next morning, Mary offers a detailed menu that she will have prepared for you the next morning. Her sun room/breakfast room is very welcoming and cozy - complete with Irish music and a buffet of food.

Though our time at the Eloyd House was short, we would recommend it to anyone considering staying.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for writing such a detailed and glowing review for ELYOD HOUSE, i appreciate your time and exceptionally kind words, it was our pleasure having you stay here with us in ELYOD HOUSE,

Regards

Mary Doyle
Elyod House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.9 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,223 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#22 of 38 in Killarney
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elyod House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elyod House

Property: Elyod House
Address: Elyod Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing