We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pub in Ireland”
Review of The Laurels

The Laurels
Ranked #3 of 21 Nightlife in Killarney
Attraction details
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Pub in Ireland”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just had dinner at the Laurels Pub . Food was best by far we've had in the country!!! Bartenders were wonderful and being able to spend time with Con the owner was nothing short of wonderful!!!!! Would highly recommend a visit and wish we has more nights to go back!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank capecodder58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A True Pub Experience”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

If you don't talk to the locals and get to know them at least a little bit, you won't appreciate the full experience of this place. The owner, Con O'Leary, is one of the nicest people you'll ever meet. Ask about the history of the pub, and how it because "The Laurels." It's worth the time to hear the story.

The food was very good, with large portions. My wife and I ate there twice and both times were happy with our meals. They also are happy to recommend some Irish Whiskey's that you might not get to sip outside Ireland. I certainly enjoyed the experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kemoszabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Overpriced for traditional irish food. The fish and chips were the worst. Wait staff was friendly. Much better food in Killarney than this


Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Inconsistant”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Having eaten at The Laurels before, we chose here for our recent trip to Killarney. The last time the steaks were almost hanging off the plate so we were really looking forward to it. This time the steak was much smaller although the fish portion in the fish and chips was huge - if a little oily. Two of the 3 people had chips - one portion hot and crispy, the second soggy and greasy. It was almost like they came from two seperate kitchens.
In fairness the staff behind the bar were professional and friendly and despite initial gruffness from the waiter who brought the wrong mains for one person and told me to take the plate off his arm as he thrust it at me, we did get an apology when he returned with the correct main course saying he had no read the docket correctly. It is godd for pub-grub fayre but we will will probably try somewhere else the next time we are in Killarney.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dr0ginexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best food we had!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My son and I traveled around Ireland and spent 2 nights in Killarney. The Laurels was recommended by our hotel staff and we were pleasantly surprised! The food was excellent - we even planned to go back the next night! Get the Potato Cakes!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hac19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Laurels also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Laurels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing