We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely b & b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

stayed at this b & b in early july and would definately recommend to others, greta is lovely!! and she had a fridge and glasses for our wine!! breakfast was very nice, everything you need to set you up for the day!! relatively close to town, beautifull clean rooms and great wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbunny75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at Algret House for two nights and then returned, several weeks later, for another two nights. We would highly recommend Algret House. The house is very pleasant and the hosts, Greta and Alfie Doyle, are very nice and extremely helpful. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the house. The beds and the bedding were of good quality and allowed for a good night's sleep. The breakfasts were excellent and Greta could not have been more friendly or helpful.

The location is excellent in that it is only a five minute walk from town and a five minute taxi ride from the train station.

We would be happy to return to Algret House and would recommend it highly for visitors to Killarney who are looking for a quiet and comfortable Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyAboutWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Hosts very welcoming and assisted us with information on city and regional attractions and services. Encouraged us to even try some of the more traditional breakfast options. Very appreciative of Greta's efforts where nothing seemed too much trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveChrisP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Let me start by saying that this was my first solo trip, so I was a little bit wary - about everything basically. One thing i neednt have worried about was my accomodation.
The location of Algret House is perfect, only 5 minutes walk from Killarney centre its quiet enough for you to get an uninterrupted nights sleep, but close enough to the action that there is no need for taxi’s, or overly long walks.
The rooms are simple but efficient, and cleaned thoroughly everyday , including fresh towels supplied.
Breakfast is cereal, fruit, and toast aswell as a choice of cooked options, along with Greta’s gorgeous homemade scones its more than enough to set you up for the day.
The Highlight of Algret house however, is Greta. She is a fantastic host, friendly without being overbearing. She knows the area very well and will go out of her way to help, she made my trip to Ireland all the more special, and if I’m ever back in the area I wont hesitate to be booking Algret House

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is clearly the best B&B we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in lots over the years in Canada, Ireland, Scotland and England. The location was perfect, easy to find in a quiet street within walking distance from Killarney's main street. The hostess, Greta, made us feel at home as soon as we arrived, she is extremely friendly and eager to please. The entire house was spotless and the rooms were very nice. Breakfast was also very good and her home made scones were a scrumptious addition. Greta was very helpful in suggesting routes and sites to see which were "off the beaten track" while we drove around the Ring of Kerry. One final note we appreciated the work husband Alf does in preparing all the food and doing all the heavy work behind the scenes.
We would absolutely recommend this B&B to all who plan a stay in beautiful Killarney.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

So we traveled from Tramore to Killarney on our driving vacation. We had a 3 nights reservation and honestly after staying at a wonderful B&B in Tramore, our expectations were quite high. The benchmark was set quite high by the Tramore place and in a few mins at Algret, we knew we are in for a treat. First, about the host "Greta"....she is such a warm person....and she genuinely tries to make everybody as comfortable as possible. Since we were staying for 3 nights she gave us a big room. It was very much appreciated by us. The room was really nice, clean, spacious and comfortable. The next morning came the breakfast time and again we were comparing with our earlier B&B in Tramore. And again we were not disappointed. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. So in all, our 3 nights just disappeared in this beautiful place. I am so glad that we chose Algret to stay at Killarney. Just try this place out if not for anything else but to try out the Irish hospitality and warmth at its best!!! Really awesome....thanks Greta for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayendra00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Really friendly and helpful owner. Clean, great location, lovely breakfasts. Excellent.

Room Tip: The room upstairs facing the mountains was lovely. Nice view in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LP5411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,492 reviews
3.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
0.3 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#7 of 143 in Killarney
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#8 of 143 in Killarney
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algret House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algret House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Algret House 80. Countess Grove | off Countess Rd., Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £59 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Algret House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm,friendly family run B&B in a quiet area yet only a 5 - minute walk from Killarney Town. All rooms are en-suite with Satellite TV, tea/ coffee facilities hairdryers and free Wifi internet access. We serve a varied breakfast menu with our delicious home baked scones. Private off- street parking is available at front of house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Algret House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing