We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
336
45
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
45
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade scones her husband a quiet residential area short walk porridge single room ring of kerry close to town perfect place to stay downtown killarney front of the house plenty of hot water off street parking wonderful hosts b and b wonderful stay room was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here June 9-12, 2013 with our 16 year old son and our 15 year old daughter. We stayed in a single room. The room was on the ground floor and was set up with a double bed in the middle and a single bed on either side. Between the double bed and each single bed there was a night stand. The room had a private bathroom with a shower. There was one sitting chair in the room right by the door. There was also a armoire for hanging clothing. We found the room plenty spacious for the four of us.

Algret house itself is close to the center of the city. We always walked into the center of Killarney. It took about 5 minutes, and we don't walk quickly.

Breakfast was exceptional. There was cereal and milk and grapefruit available that you could dish yourself. There were also several choices on the menu -- full Irish breakfast, toast with eggs on top, fruit and yogurt, oatmeal with cream and honey are the ones that I remember. There may have been others.

The star of Algret House is Greta. She is a wonderful person and a perfect hostess. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Absolutely fantastic.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Greta couldn't be more friendly and creates a lovely atmosphere. Great location very easy to walk to the centre of Killarney. Comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast, don't miss out on the scones no matter how full you are.

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeordieGirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I have been using Algret House for the last four years to go to the Killarney Bikefest , We always get a great welcome From Gretta and her husband , Her rooms are sparkling clean , Her breakfasts are big and cheerful and if something IS amiss , Gretta will fix it in no time. I always look forward to staying in Algret House and will NEVER change our accomodation plans.
Thanks Gretta , from Declan , Wacky and Clive , xxx

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cossy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My sister and I traveled to Ireland with our 4 young adult children. We all loved Algret House. Greta was a wonderful host and made us feel so welcome and gave excellent advice. The rooms were so comfortable and lovely. Great location with a short walk to town. The breakfast was amazing and what GREAT service. I will stay there again!! Our kids loved it too!!

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmcneely53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect as it is only a few minutes away from the center. We've stayed in a 2beds room, 1single and one double. The room was amazingly cosy, clean, and well heated. You have everything in the room (tea,coffee, sugar, kettle). Breakfast in the morning is very good! Home made scones are incredible!! Will definitly go back if i have the occasion!

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indimadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews