We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greta is the sweetest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Wonderful B&B about 5-8 minute walk to the center of town. The B&B itself is on a quiet street.

B&B was clean. Greta was incredibly welcoming and warm; the breakfast was the best I've had at a B&B in Ireland so far.

There is a small fridge and electrical adaptors for guests to use.

Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauramanyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed at Algret House for 3 nights and I wish I would have stayed longer. Greta is incredible! Algret House is on a quiet street within easy walking distance of Killarney town. I had a lovely room at the top of the house. It was very quiet, clean, and comfortable with all the usual amenities. There is a small refrigerator in the foyer for guests to use which is great if you want to have a cold beverage. There are lots of breakfast options and plenty of toast and scones to set you up for the day. One morning I had asked for flavored yogurt and was apologetically told they only had plain and I could have some honey to sweeten it. This was just fine with me, but the next morning Greta had vanilla yogurt for me. I was really impressed that she would have gone to the shops to get me yogurt! That is A+ hospitality! I had a wonderful stay at Algret and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12thNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Algret House for three nights June 29 - July 2. The B&B is about 5 min walking distance from the town centre and even with my knee injury it was a pretty easy walk. It is so nice and quiet where the house is located. We had a nice size room with a twin and a double bed, room and bathroom was spotless! First day when we arrived we met Greta, a lovely lady and wonderful hostess. The breakfasts were delicious and huge! This B&B is an absolute 5 star! We would highly recommend it!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Swede80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My family absolutely loved Algret House!!!!! We stayed at Algret House from June 16-18.

There were 6 of us staying at Algret house and we booked 3 rooms. One room had a double bed, another room had a double bed and two single bed, and the last room had a double bed and a single bed....more than enough room for two people per room (we really could have shared a room since they were so spacious!). Greta told us the double room was one of the smallest and even that room was plently spacious. We also loved that two of our rooms were set in their own little "alcove" in the hallway. The rooms were VERY clean....you could smell how clean they were when you walked in!!!! The bathrooms were a bit small but very clean!!!

Greta was amazing....we all said we missed her after we left Algret house and traveled to Waterford/Dublin. She was a great hostess - so nice and friendly. Also very helpful with recommendations for food and places to listen to traditional irish music. She and her husband run a great B&B!!!

The breakfast at Algret House was also amazing!! I had the oatmeal with honey and cream both mornings of our stay and would love to eat it every morning. Everyone else in our group of 6 had different things - full Irish breakfast, toast with cheese/tomato/eggs, grapefrut, etc and it was all delicious. The scones and toast were also very tasty. We missed the breakfast after our stay as well!

Algret House is very close to downtown Killarney...easy walking distance. We really liked downtown Killarney, easy to navigate and felt like a very safe area. We used Algret House as our "base" and traveled the Ring of Kerry from here. Very easy driving distance!

We would all definitely recommend Algret House to all of our family and friends and would stay here again in a heartbeat if we are in Killarney again!!

A big thank you to Greta -- we loved our stay at Algret House!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms were great - quite spacious and VERY clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scripette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here June 9-12, 2013 with our 16 year old son and our 15 year old daughter. We stayed in a single room. The room was on the ground floor and was set up with a double bed in the middle and a single bed on either side. Between the double bed and each single bed there was a night stand. The room had a private bathroom with a shower. There was one sitting chair in the room right by the door. There was also a armoire for hanging clothing. We found the room plenty spacious for the four of us.

Algret house itself is close to the center of the city. We always walked into the center of Killarney. It took about 5 minutes, and we don't walk quickly.

Breakfast was exceptional. There was cereal and milk and grapefruit available that you could dish yourself. There were also several choices on the menu -- full Irish breakfast, toast with eggs on top, fruit and yogurt, oatmeal with cream and honey are the ones that I remember. There may have been others.

The star of Algret House is Greta. She is a wonderful person and a perfect hostess. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Greta couldn't be more friendly and creates a lovely atmosphere. Great location very easy to walk to the centre of Killarney. Comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast, don't miss out on the scones no matter how full you are.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeordieGirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I have been using Algret House for the last four years to go to the Killarney Bikefest , We always get a great welcome From Gretta and her husband , Her rooms are sparkling clean , Her breakfasts are big and cheerful and if something IS amiss , Gretta will fix it in no time. I always look forward to staying in Algret House and will NEVER change our accomodation plans.
Thanks Gretta , from Declan , Wacky and Clive , xxx

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cossy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,509 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.3 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 143 in Killarney
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 143 in Killarney
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 143 in Killarney
425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algret House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algret House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Algret House 80. Countess Grove | off Countess Rd., Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Algret House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm,friendly family run B&B in a quiet area yet only a 5 - minute walk from Killarney Town. All rooms are en-suite with Satellite TV, tea/ coffee facilities hairdryers and free Wifi internet access. We serve a varied breakfast menu with our delicious home baked scones. Private off- street parking is available at front of house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Algret House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing