We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Algret House - Fun Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Algret House - Fun Place!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A really great B & B. Greta is such a perfect host. This place is only a 5 minute walk to the shopping and dining area. We rented a car and drove the "Ring of Kerry". The "Ring of Kerry" was right around the corner. Other really nice tourist spots are nearby. Very nice views. Breakfast was super good! Greta will cook just about anything and the coffee is super rich!

Room Tip: You do want to be close to the downtown area. Also near the National Park and "The Ring of Kerr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    37
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
129
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed with Greta for a night early December and must say our reception on arrival was very welcoming. Room very cosy clean and warm and great nights sleep. Breakfast was just perfect. Will return again as location is ideal and close to town centre

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pspell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We are here at the moment- it is lovely! Greta is such a sweet lady, the place is spotless, warm and cosy. Quiet, as just outside town- by a 5min walk. Soft fluffy towels, complimentary toiletries, and the most delicious and generous breakfast! All set for a day of walking :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chloers29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here while visiting Killarney for a weekend recently. We were arriving at separate times but this was no problem for the owner, Gretta. I was really impressed by the warm welcome I received on my arrival. I was shown to a nice, warm comfortable room while I waited for my partner to arrive. The bed was very comfortable, with plenty of pillows. There were tea making facilities in the room, which was great (given the Irish late autumn weather). There was also a fine en suite bathroom with clean towels.

The breakfast was superb. A wide variety of cereals, followed by a hearty Irish breakfast with toast and homemade scones.

Gretta was a very convivial host and really looked after us. We felt so welcome and were really happy with our stay.

Maurice from Cork

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scituate
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Greta was a wonderful hostess. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. It is only a 10 min. walk from train station. (we traveled exclusively by train and it was one of the best decisions we have ever made....trains are comfortable, clean, and on time. highly recommended). It was only a 10 min walk to the town center of Killarney, where we were able to book a bus tour of the Ring of Kerry and do lots of shopping and dining! Great town! Also took the jaunting car ride (horse & buggy) into Killarney National Park where you stop at Ross Castle overlooking a beautiful lake! A must do! Algret House was the perfect location!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I loved the Algret House from the moment of arrival when Greta greeted us at the door with a warm welcome and lots of helpful information.
Our room was spacious, warm, quiet, and absolutely spotless; it even smelled great. The WIFI reception was good. We found useful information in our room as well as nice little amenities. The Algret is located in a quiet, nice, residential area and we enjoyed the short 5 minute walk into town. When we told Greta we were interested in booking a tour for The Ring of Kerry she had information available and the tour bus picked us up at the door. The breakfast choices are quite extensive and the food delicious. Greta found out that I wanted to try black pudding and she provided it the following morning (delicious). On our last day we had to leave early before breakfast hours and Greta insisted that she provide us with breakfast to go. She very thoughtfully packed us each a breakfast and had it ready and waiting in the downstairs communal refrigerator.
We highly recommend a stay with Greta at the Algret House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

No complaints whatsoever - under 5 minutes stroll from town. Greta was lovely host. Very friendly and helpful to all guests. Very clean and tidy. Great choice for breakfast. Highly recommended
as place to stay. John and Catherine from Cork.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
3.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.3 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algret House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algret House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Algret House 80. Countess Grove | off Countess Rd., Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Algret House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm,friendly family run B&B in a quiet area yet only a 5 - minute walk from Killarney Town. All rooms are en-suite with Satellite TV, tea/ coffee facilities hairdryers and free Wifi internet access. We serve a varied breakfast menu with our delicious home baked scones. Private off- street parking is available at front of house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Algret House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing