We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Three of us stayed three nights at Algret House with the lovely Greta. Though it was a little warm for us the first night, Greta helped us get the heaters turned off and provided a fan after that. The room was perfectly furnished and sized - modest and room enough to move around each other and our luggage. Convenient walk to Killarney city center and all the shopping and dining one could want.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    38
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
137
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Location: easy 5 minute walk to town, close access to everything you want to do in town and if you plan on driving the Ring of Kerry it's a great place to stay.

Parking: free parking at the front of the B&B.

Accommodation overall: family owned and operated, it was evident that they take pride in what they offer. Extremely well kept house with clean rooms. Guest fridge if needed.

Reception: friendly welcoming and helpful. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and given a full run down of the house and what to do locally.

Room: comfortable with enough space for three adults, comfortable size bathroom with shower. Clean and comfortable room with all you need, tea and coffee making facilities.

Bed: comfortable and a good nights sleep.

Breakfast: included in our booking, continental or hot. Home cooked, great quality, good selection.

Internet: free wifi and very fast!

Would I stay again: Yes. Definitely recommend staying here if you call through Killarney.

Room Tip: Rooms on bottom floor are easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was my second stay at Algret House and it did not disapoint. Even though we turned up way to early to book in to our room due to flight times, Greta kindly allowed my girlfriend the use of a room to get changed and freshen up before we headed into town. When we returned in the afternoon, our cases had been placed into the room for us, the room itself was very clean and a decent size.
We asked her about breakfast times and she said that they normally started around 08.30 am, unfortunately our flight back on the Sunday was very early so she quite happily agreed to give us breakfast at 7am. The breakfast itself is very nice, it was certainly enough to see us through until our evening meal.

Greta is very welcoming and nothing seems to be too much bother, the B&B is clean and close enough to town for most people to walk there in 5 minutes.

I would most definitley stay here again!!

Room Tip: room 5 which is a double with en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinny068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We loved Algret House and Greta's warm hospitality. Our room was comfortable and bright, with all the facilities you could want. Breakfast was scrumptious. The location was quiet and peaceful, while being only a short walk to the centre of town. Ample car parking was available too. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dldmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The owner was very friendly. Room was comfortable. Breakfast was great. We enjoyed the home made scones. Location was perfect, walking distance to the town. Really was a perfect stay. Killarney is a unique little town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Travellers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linthicum, MD
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My daughter and I arrived after our transatlantic flight and a train ride from Dublin. When we saw the "no vacancy" sign and the front door locked, we were hoping that everything was in order with our reservation. We had no reason to worry. Greta answered the door with a big smile, calling me by name. I guess we were the last of the registered guests to check in. She gave us our keys and info about breakfast hours, then left us to our much-needed rest. Our room was perfectly clean and comfortable. The bathroom was compact but spotless. My daughter loved the free wi-fi. We had a kettle for our afternoon tea, a hair drier, and a flat-screen tv. We noticed thoughtful touches, such as the fridge in the lobby for the guests' use, and even electrical plug adaptors to borrow. It was a treat to chat with the ever-cheerful Greta as she served us our breakfast. There are six hot dishes to choose from, as well as toast and scones. She offers to add bacon if you wish. I had the waffles twice, and tried the porridge once for the sake of variety. Breakfast was generous and delicious. The location is perfect- a short walk to town in a quiet residential area. We loved the Algret house and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonesieLinthicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This has to be the place to stay in Killarney !! The location cannot be faulted being so close to the town centre yet is in a quiet residential area. Greeta must be the perfect hostess doing everything she can to make your stay as perfect as possible. I only recommend this place as highly as possible.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
899 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,386 reviews
3.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,194 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 140 in Killarney
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algret House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algret House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Algret House 80. Countess Grove | off Countess Rd., Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Algret House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm,friendly family run B&B in a quiet area yet only a 5 - minute walk from Killarney Town. All rooms are en-suite with Satellite TV, tea/ coffee facilities hairdryers and free Wifi internet access. We serve a varied breakfast menu with our delicious home baked scones. Private off- street parking is available at front of house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Algret House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing