We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”
Review of Carriglea House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carriglea House
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Carriglea House is located in a beautiful quiet setting. Unfortunately, we were quite disappointed with our stay and checked out after one night. Carriglea House needs a major upfit. When we entered the home we immediately noticed that the entry "welcome mat" was worn out and the walls were cracked and scuffed.The wallpaper and paint are peeling and the carpeting is threadbare. The guestrooms are no longer tastefully decorated but a collection of mix-matched furnishings. Our bathroom was quite moldy and the plumbing needed constant attention.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tpcotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boz4477, Owner at Carriglea House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear TPCotter,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and you are correct when you state that Carriglea is in a beautifull setting, indeed, one very successful travel writer once described it thus 'For sheer fantasy of setting nothing compares to Carriglea'. Carriglea is an authentic Victorian historic house at B&B prices, it is over 150 years old, we state this fact in all our promotions, web sites etc. As you were booked by a third party you may have been unaware of this important fact.

I have noted your comment about the welcome mat and it has been replaced. The carpet in your room was new and only fitted 4 months prior to your stay and is a quaility Irish wool carpet and could not have been tread bare.The mix matched furniture confuses me and I can only presume you are refering to the antiques, which are scattered throughout the house.We are the oldest B&B in Killarney, established in 1932 encompasing 4 generations of our family and have many repeat guests. Also new guests love its old world charm, the view and the huge grounds, the horse, donkey and wild rabbits on the lawn etc.The room you had is a much requested room with a beautifull view of the Lake and mountains, a unique room, a very romantic room.

You mention you had to leave a day early, when questioned at the time, was there a problem, I was told by your partner that you had to be in Cork and all was ok, therefore I am surprised at your review and why you choose not to voice your concerns at the time. Eileen, my wife checked you in and gave you some wonderfull advise about what to do and see, which you availed of, I note from your reviews of other premises that this was a big plus for them, but did not count at all with us, The reason you had to be in Cork did not surprise me as I had mentioned earlier that you had been booked by a third party and I had got the impression that your itinerary was messed up, You may be unaware that The Ring of Kerry tour which was prebooked for you by your agent, arrived a day before you did. I convinced the driver to return the next morning, which he did and you got to enjoy the tour unaware of the mix up. We care about our guests and are very approachable. Carriglea closes each Winter for maintainence work and reopens in late Spring. We work very hard to preserve this house which is considered by the Killarney locals as one of its treasures.

Kind regards,

John and Eileen Beazley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

This B &B was definately the pick of our 22 days in Ireland. Just 2Klm from town but set back off the road (about 80 mts) on a slight hill with great views over the lake if you get one of the rooms overlooking the front of the property like we did.
Every thing about this place was excellent . Room, ensuite, breakfast,location (it overlooks the national park where Muckross house and gardens are located) and the hosts

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake ."Awesome"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greytravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The B&B is situated just about 1.5-2 miles outside of Killarney on a good sized parcel of land. It is on Muckross Road but set back, so it is quiet - we never noticed any traffic noise at night (we were there in last week of May). The B&B overlooks the park and has a beautiful view of the lakes and mountains. I just can't imagine a better location or setting. The B&B is loving cared for and maintained, and the owners are incredibly helpful and welcoming. I would definitely recommend staying here and would do so again on a return trip.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hgill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed here after many hostels - felt like luxury! The house is huge and quite grand feeling, although we stayed in a sort of annex to the side which was lovely. We had two rooms between the four of us, the one upstairs even had a little sitting room and even a bath in the bathroom!!! Plenty of space and comfort. The lounge room in the main house is very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was ok, but I have had better. The house is situated not far from the Muckross Estate so is ideal for an evening walk around. It is a little out of Killarney town - we never ventured to the town so I don't know how far exactly but it was basically on the edge of town. The house seems to have lots of grounds, loads of space and very beautiful. We really liked it here and would recommend it - we loved the booklet in the rooms that gave a history of the place and the area, and loads of interesting and useful info - a lovely touch. Good value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Such a nice place an house. Never found it again in ireland. We come back! Great Breakfast, everything made with love... Thank you Eileen, Eva & Harry

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank strohpferd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The history to this B&B was very interesting and the house and farm are very eco-friendly. The welcoming was warm and our room was very big with a sittng room and great views. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was very filling and delicious. Great place to stay, very quiet and great location to attractions in the park. If you are in the area you would be silly not to stay at this B&B! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DINKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

So enjoyed Carriglea House. Loveliest B&B we stayed in in nearly 3 weeks of travel. Large, well kept rooms, good breakfast, convenient location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evelyn213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,590 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#11 of 38 in Killarney
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#29 of 38 in Killarney
429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#18 of 38 in Killarney
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriglea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriglea House

Address: Carriglea House Muckross Road | N71, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: £75 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Carriglea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing