We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carriglea House
Nearby Hotels
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eviston House Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brehon(Killarney)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$446
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$377
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Innisfallen Hotel(Fossa)(Great Value!)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
113
17
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
17
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslough leanenational parkbucolic settingbreakfast was deliciousring of kerrymuckross house and gardenswill stay there againbeautiful killarneywonderful hospitalitymuckross roaddingle peninsulalocation was perfectkillarney areaour honeymoonstayed here for nightsfull irish breakfasteileen
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This historical family run B&B is well worth your time to stay for "at least" two nights. The views on the property are spectacular- it is a short drive to town or you can walk across the street to the Lake Hotel and have a walk around the property and see the view that you see from the Carriglea House. The Muckross are is divine- relaxing and peaceful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the breakfast is SUPERB!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Lovely and historical home in Killarney. We fell asleep to complete silence in a comfortable room, and woke up to a spectacular view of Killarney National Park. Just beyond the front door is a lawn with comfortable chairs, and paddock with donkey and horse. Wander out back and there are chickens and you can see the cows in the distance. 5 Stars for quiet, cleanliness, comfort, hospitality, and advice on how to maximize the short time we had in Killarney. Make your reservations via e-mail carrigleahouse@gmail.com

Breakfast is freshly made, served from 8:30 to 9:30. Eggs are from the farm chickens. Eileen makes sure you are fed and ready for the tours, which start at 10am. For those without cars, Eileen can arrange for some tours to pick you up directly from the B&B. For those with cars, Eileen helps you plan your day. I just don't think you can get this kind of individual treatment at a Hotel.

We didn't have a car. A bicycle rental location is a 10 minute walk down Muckross Road, which is lined with Hotels on the right, and Killarney National Park on your left. We rented bikes, and bicycled around Muckross Lake (which could be seen from our window at Carriglea House) and explored Torc Waterfall - 12 Kilometers. Highly recommend. The next day, Eileen arranged for the the Dunloe Gap tour to pick us up directly from the Carriglea House, store our luggage on the van during our hike, and drop us off at the train station. Very very helpful! Thank you, Eileen for your fantastic last minute logistical solutions!

We walked to the picturesque town center for dinner, which is about 30 minute stroll. You are passing fields of sheep, cows, and horses to your left and hotels to your right. It's very pleasant. Ireland is in the northern latitudes and it gets dark late, so we walked back to the house with no worries. It was nice to walk into town to build our appetite, and the walk off our giant dinner afterwards.

We were able to use the house WiFi in our room with good signal. There are two WiFi options and toggle around until you find which signal is stronger. TV comes with local RTE channels. There is soap from a pump and towels in your private bathroom. When visiting smaller family run B&B's in Ireland, be prepared to have your own shampoo, lotions, soaps. Bring bottled water if you do not want to drink from your bathroom tap. Bring food for late night snacking as there are no vending machines or snacks laid out in the evening.

Yes, Michael Collins was a guest at the house! A member of the family was in the first Daol (Irish Parliament) and wrote the definitive biography of his friend Michael Collins.

Room Tip: If you want a room that is like a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton, you should be looking for a place that costs 400 Euros a night instead of less than 40 Euros a person.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlissBunnyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

On the edge of town but wahat pretty place! Directly across from the park. Our hosts were warm and kind and made us accomodations for the Jaunting car with a family friend. Very short distance to town. Beautiful house and grounds with a view of the lake and park. Really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaha58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Better late than never! My husband and I truly loved our four-night stay in May of 2013 at this beautiful B&B right on the edge of Killarney National Park. Our spacious, comfortable room had a gorgeous lake view that you could enjoy even while taking a shower! Our hostess, Eileen, was so friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious, and we enjoyed visiting with the B & B animals. Our first night, on Eileen's recommendation, we went to Molly Darcy for a fabulous dinner and live Irish music/step dancing--fun!

We were thrilled to be staying so close to the park, and had great fun exploring this lovely haven on foot and by rented bicycle (we even saw red deer!). We also took in the Dingle Peninsula and hiked the Gap of Dunloe road. I think the highlight of our stay, however, was being treated to Eileen's young daughter practicing her concertina!

We were sad to leave--still so much to do and see--and hope to come back again!

Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were greeted by Eileen (a fellow Nurse!) and she made us feel like family right away! Our first night in Ireland was like all of our dreams of the Island! We could not of imagined anything better! We will certainly return and stay for much longer! Thank you for your gracious accommodations!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews