We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carriglea House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carriglea House
Certificate of Excellence
Collingwood, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

What a beautiful old manor house. It needs a bit of attention but still beautiful as it is. Great location for visiting Killarney and the Park. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macmaster111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    15
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

Friendly B&B in an ideal location, within walking distance from either the town centre or the Kerry way and National Park. Easy to find, just of the main road, but set well back and you don't hear the traffic. Comfortable, oldy worldy room, stuffed with interesting antiques, as is the whole house. Beautifully polished and dusted everywhere. The lady owner was very welcoming and does a grand job between all her family and work obligations.
I would recommend this location to anyone touring the ring of Kerry.

  • Liked — The welcome and the location
  • Disliked — We could not fault it at all
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranceMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2008

After a stressfully driving around Ireland, Carriglea was a haven. The views were beautiful (see photo), and all the staff was extremely friendly. We have to leave extra early one morning to catch a ferry, and a tray of cheese, breads, fruits, and tea/coffee were brought up the night before, so we could have something to eat before we leave.

The proprietors were really friendly. They had a slew of suggestions of things to do, and even told us the best way to get to Shannon. They arranged for the gap of dunloe tour to pick us up at their door.

The house is older, but clean and in a nice, private location.

This B&B is extremely easy to find. It's well sign posted and on a a good straight road. It's down the street from the Muckross House/Farms which I would highly recommend going to. It's is also very close to town, which was nice to go into to eat. Both within a 10 minute drive.

  • Liked — Views and friendly proprietors
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank altsavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2007

We stayed three nights in Carriglea House in September 2007 and had room in the annex on the side of the main house. We were emailed wonderful directions before our visit and all communication was cordial and welcoming. Our room was really a sort of suite with a small sitting room in addtion to the sleeping area and, of course, the bath (shower) room. The view of the lake and hills from our windows was so lovely that we'd jump out of bed first thing in the morning just to see how it changed with the light and the early mist. The breakfast room and the common sitting room in the main house are prettily decorated. Tea making things are available on request (though not cleared and cleaned the following day). Housekeeping could use a little more attention, but on the whole everything is well kept. A handy notebook full of information is placed in every room and the owners and staff are helpful about booking tours and giving local information. Killarney National Park is directly across the road and there are a few walkable options for a drink or some food in the evening. Yet beware--or bring a flashlight! We silly city dwellers forgot how dark the night can be without street lamps and neon. The location is great for touring the area as well as the Dingle peninsula. Killarney town is a short drive or long walk up the road. Be sure to go across the road to behind the Lake hotel where some castle ruins on the water are dramtically lit up in the evening. I would stay there again and recommend Carriglea House to my friends.

  • Liked — The location was breathtaking.
  • Disliked — Cobwebs and a few dead spiders in the corners. At least they were DEAD spiders....
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElyseAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriottsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2007

We began our 10 day self-drive tour with 3 nights in Killarney staying at Carriglea House. I agree with all of the superlatives written about its quiet setting, view of the lake and spacious surroundings. Of the 3 places we stayed, it is definitely an old, gracious lady showing signs of age and tiredness...pealing wallpaper, adequate but amusing plumbing--toilet tank refills so slowly and noisily that it tempts you to be sparing with the flush. The drinking water from the room's bathroom sink makes you feel confident that you are getting a good supply of dietary iron from what tastes like water from old, old pipes (not a plus if you're confused). The small allotment of ice for the cocktail hour became a source of amusement and careful division to assure a fair-share. The biggest disappointment is the noticeable lack of owners' presence and welcome on site. The staff was dutiful, attentive and responsive...but it was obvious that they were doing a "job." If I had to do it over again, while a bargain at the price, I'd look for cheerier alternative.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guinness-Lives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boz4477, Owner at Carriglea House, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you Guinness-Lives for your review. I note you enjoyed the view and peaceful surrounds and felt what we offer is at a bargain price and were the 2nd best of you 10 day trip. I note from your review that you had a few issues that you didn't highlight at the time which was a shame because they could have been resolved easily. The slow filling toilet, our toilets are full flush but your one had a problem, however I fixed quicker than it took for you to write your review. If you wanted more ice, again all you had to do was mention it. Irish people are not big users of ice so we don't really know how much is enough, but at least you got a laugh out of it. The drinking water issue I reported to the local council, as it is the same water for all of Killarney, they promptly tested it here, and the result showed it was perfect.

Carriglea is a family run B&B, I cooked your breakfast each morning as I always do, Eileen, met you and made arrangements for your dinner reservations, Marie supplied you with ice each evening, maybe we should have introduced ourselves as the owners and you would not have confused us as staff. We try not to impose on your holiday, but if you need us we are always at hand.
Regards
John and Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

We (party of 7) enjoyed our stay at Carriglea House on the last night of our touring trip around South West Ireland. The house is in a beautiful and tranquil location away from the busy town centre of Killarney, yet it is only 2k from the town's amenities. Only minutes away on foot, after carefully crossing the main road we found beautiful woodland paths by the shores of the lake where you can walk or take a jaunting car - horse drawn carriage - to Muckross House and gardens. Carriglea is an old house with character but it is not 'musty' - the large bedrooms are nicely decorated. Our rooms were in the lodge at the side of the main house and were spacious with their own small sittings rooms or small conservatory. Breakfast was very good. The house grounds are peaceful and relaxing with a lovely view of the lake. Only about 1 and half hours drive from Shannon airport (with a stop), and good value.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — The shower and bathrooms weren't the very best but adequate
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Beach, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2007

We stayed three nights in Carriglea House in Killarney, which is located on the southeastern periphery of Killarney, between the town and Muckross House. It’s perhaps a mile from the center of town and half a mile from Muckross (which is worth a visit).
There are two entrances from the main road, with two signs. One sign says Carriglea Farmhouse, the other sign says Carriglea Manor House (the Manor House entrance is more direct). Carriglea is made up of a 4 room, 200-year-old manor house, with 4 more rooms in the attached carriage house. We had 3 of the 4 rooms in the carriage house, one downstairs and two upstairs. The upstairs rooms were suites, with adjoining sitting rooms, and showers in the modern bathrooms. The downstairs room did not have a sitting room, but it did have a huge bathroom with a shower/bath combo (all rooms are “ensuite,” i.e. with bathroom). All of our rooms had a view of the lake. The stairway in the carriage house showed some wear and tear of luggage scraped against the wall, but the rooms themselves were ship shape.
It’s been run by the Beazley family since 1920, and though proprietor John Beazley lives there with his mother, his wife and two small daughters, this B & B has more of a feeling of a small inn than of a family home, perhaps because it has staff. John was unobtrusive, but pleasant, and very helpful with maps and suggestions on local sightseeing.
As you enter the old manor house, you’ll see the drawing room on the right and the breakfast room on the left, both furnished with beautiful antiques. I can’t speak about the rooms in the manor house, as I didn’t see any, but the public rooms were nicely furnished and perfectly maintained.
There are something like 30 acres around Carriglea, with cows out back and Prince, a horse, in the fenced area on the south side of the carriage house. My kids enjoyed feeding him apples and toast.
The house sits uphill from the road, which is out of sight, so the view of the lake is unobstructed by traffic. And running along side the road, separated by a grassy median, a walking/bicycling path runs from the town to Muckross.
This was my family’s vote for their favorite stay on our two weeks in Ireland. A veritable bargain at 36 Euros per person per night, bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — The large rooms and the location.
  • Disliked — Carrying our heavy bags upstairs.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mossbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
1.2 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#12 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#27 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriglea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriglea House

Property: Carriglea House
Address: Carriglea House Muckross Road | N71, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carriglea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing