We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay - probably wouldn't stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Muckross Riding Stables B&B
Ranked #82 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Okay - probably wouldn't stay here again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed here in early September for 3 nights. It is a beautiful location, as others have mentioned, but one needs to realize that it is pretty far outside city center. Don't go to the Pub, have a few beers and expect as easy drive back - it is very dark, no street lights, etc.

When one arrives, the view of the house across the lush green pasture is idyllic. Check-in was handled by owner's daughter and went smoothly.

Room was comfortable and we woke each morning to a view of the horses grazing in the pasture. However, we couldn't use the shower because the water came out at a trickle. When we mentioned this to the owner, she proceeded to comment about how another visitor had turned a faucet too far and it cost 250 euros to have it fixed. I also heard her talking to a frequent guest about other "issues" and expenses of running a B&B...not something we should have been privy to. If it's costly them too much to run a B&B and provide good service...than they should quit in my opinion.

You have to be sitting at one particular table in the dining room to use their Wi-Fi.

They operate somewhat of a petting farm on grounds - supposedly for local families to visit. Although I doubt if it is much of a money maker for them. I disliked the fact that they had purchased an entire litter of puppies from someone, had them in a pen in the barn, and expected to sell them to any visitor who desired to take one home. The animals seemed to be well cared for, however there was a Shetland pony in a very small stall that was a mess and the stall hadn't been mucked for awhile. They claimed they couldn't let the pony out in the pasture, because the other horses and donkey would pick on it! No excuse for not cleaning the stall and letting it out for exercise!

In addition, my dream had always been to ride while in Ireland. I've been riding my entire life and I booked our stay at Muckross specifically for this purpose. Upon seeing their horses, I decided they were for beginners...some actually looked like cart horses, not riding horses.

In closing, I think this is a nice family who has experience some serious health issues recently, perhaps even fallen on hard times financially. Perhaps they are now realizing what a chore it is to run a B&B...especially when there are probably a hundred or more B&Bs, and several large hotels in Killarney.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    37
    10
    11
    18
See reviews for
64
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a beautiful location, with great access to Killarney National Park and to the town center, and the animals and setting is gorgeous. We loved the animals and being able to enjoy pretty views.
Unfortunately, the service was average at best. Compared to other B&Bs we stayed in Ireland, their service was lackluster. I had to wake up the owner when we got there at 3 in the afternoon, and she never told us anything about where to go, where to eat, there was no information about Killarney anywhere. The food was fine, but she seemed borderline annoyed that we were in her house, and annoyed anytime we knocked on the door. The room was fine, but they keep the front door open constantly which led to flies all over the house, including the room where you eat your breakfast. We loved the location and LOVED Killarney, but this just didn't meet our expectations. We also asked to go horseback riding and they told us we couldn't.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannahKillarney, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Riding Stables B&B, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest.
I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy you stay at Muckross Riding Stables.We pride ourselves on offering a warm welcome to all our guests. On the day you arrived I was taking a rest after a busy morning and as you did not ring the bell at the front door I did not hear you enter the kitchen. I am more than willing to offer information and recommendations to guests for things to do and see as well as some excellent restaurants however not all guests like to be bombarded with information immediately on arrival. In relation to the horse riding I am sorry that the time you wanted to ride was not available. We run a very busy guesthouse and we pay extreme attention to cleanliness and although if the weather is nice we do leave the door open I am confident that the house was not full of flies. If you encountered a few of the little critters I can only apologise sincerely to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alto, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was our least favorite place of accommodation during our 13 day vacation. VERY basic for the money spent when compared to other places we stayed. We had read reviews stating that the owners were rude and unaccommodating. Our impression was more that they were in a constant state of "rush", hence had no time to provide quality service. We were never even given the names of our hosts at any point. Our room had one towel, so we had to take additional from one of the vacant rooms. Even on the morning of departure, we had to knock on the door that the hosts were always behind (which was marked "Only ring bell in case of emergency") just to pay them, as they immediately disappeared again right after breakfast was served. Being in the heart of Killarney National Park, there are tons of B&B's to choose from. We will be staying elsewhere the next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannahKillarney, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Riding Stables B&B, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest. We are very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We run a very busy guest house in Muckross, Killarney and admittedly there are times when we do not have alot of time to spend with our guests at breakfast as this is a particularly demanding time and we can only apologise if you did not receive much interaction with us. We are sorry that you misunderstood the situation with the emergency bell which is on the wall and not on our kitchen door. The bell is for fire or other emergencies at night and only rings in our own accommodation or living quarters and cannot in fact be heard in the kitchen. We are available at all times and are very happy to help our guests with problems and queries and we are upset that you did not receive the time you needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Muckross for a night on our trip around Ireland. It was just beautiful. The drive in to the b&b is fab, green rolling land and animals everywhere. So very beautiful! We booked a triple room, but we were given a double room and a single room which was fine for us. We went out for dinner to a local pub/restaurant called 'Molly Darcy's' which was fabulous. It was only a 2 min drive back down the road and been tourist season, there was live music and Irish dancing. We had a fabulous night here!!! The accommodation was comfy and relatively quiet. Breakfast was lovely, continental and a cooked brekky if you wanted it. You are free to roam the yard and look at the animals too. They had some puppies when we stayed and they were just gorgeous. We didn't go horse riding, but they have plenty of horses there,and the surrounding area is beautiful to ride in! I definitely recommend Muckross if you need to stay in Killarney.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyboo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was my third time staying here and I always feel welcome. The rooms are great! The owners are wonderful and very helpful. The setting is just stunning! The B&B is surrounded by Killarney National park. Breakfast was fantastic! After awhile you get tired of the full irish breakfast and you need a break. They have pancakes! Which were devine! But best of all are all the animals! The horses are freindly, the Jordan sheep are wild with their 4 horns. The deer, pot belly pigs, rabbits and goats were great. Best of all was the Jack Russell puppies! We even went horse back riding! So what's not to love! Animals lovers paradise! I always hate leaving this B&B but don't worry I'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Myself and my boyfriend decided to try horse riding for the 1st time whilst on a week long holiday in killarney. Neither of us had ever been on a horse in our lives and were looking to go somewhere who were comfortable with 2 complete novices!

Paudy was absolutely brilliant-he looked after us extremely well,was very informative and was without a doubt the best price in the killarney area. We were given two very placid horses, named Bill and Mossie-both were beautiful horses and clearly well loved and cared for,as were all of the animals in both the stables and the pet farm

Really loved this place,the owners were really friendly and clearly took pride in their farm and b&b. Definitely would visit again and will recommend to others!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidgeIreland87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Myself and 2 nieces (6+7 years old) enjoyed a fabulous 2 night stay couple of weeks ago.. The room was lovely and comfortable, with comfy bed (always a plus -helps with a good nights sleep). fabulous breakfast each morning (cooked to order) - the girls loved the stack of pancakes... The B+B has gorgeous grounds - huge in fact, which lends to a very peaceful and quiet environment. The grounds are so big that it is more like something you would find on a 5 star estate. No traffic sounds or noise to disturb your stay.
But probably best of all (for children & big kids at heart) is the selection of animals in the pet farm, which children will just love - especially the cute puppies. There are other animals too- lots of horses (of course with the riding stables), rabbits (also a big hit as they can be picked up if you can catch one!). goats, ducks, pigs, emus and even a wallaby! The weather was glorious too during our visit, which added to the enjoyment.
B+B has a very convenient location just off the Muckross Road - well signposted, if you're driving out from Killarney Town - take the left turn at the Muckross Park Hotel. Approx 5min drive to the Killarney National Park and approx 10mins or so back to Killarney town centre.
Just be advised the B+B does not accept credit cards - not a big deal, but it's helpful to know these things in advance..
Nearly forgot - children's onsite playground also great - includes 2 zipwires, which all the kids seems to love.. free to guests.
Couldn't recommend it more and very nice family running the place (and staff), who were very accommodating when we turned up earlier than expected.. We would definitely return! (-:

Room Tip: The room we had was great - couldn't comment on other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzi_1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#26 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.3 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#12 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shepherds Lodge
Shepherds Lodge
#88 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Riding Stables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Riding Stables B&B

Property: Muckross Riding Stables B&B
Address: Mangerton Road | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmhouse set in a peaceful valley. Large warm comfortable rooms with panoramic views of the mountains, oak forest with red deer. Our area is considered a walkers paradise and of course perfect for riding. Short stroll to Muckross House and the Killarney Lakes.Pet farm avaible to gusts staying and pony rides avaible for small children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Muckross Riding Stables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Riding Stables Bed And Breakfast
Muckross Riding Stables Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing